We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First rate gite in beautiful surroundings.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fig Cottage

Fig Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fig Cottage
kitchen living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Fig Cottage
kitchen
living room
bedroom
bedroom
bathroom
View From Courtyard
Garden area beside pool
Pool area 1
Pool area 2
Pool area secured fence
Baby pool
Sunset
Bikes for our guests to ride
Mini golf at the lake in Sauze Vaussais
Playpark at lake in Sauze Vaussais
Lake at Sauze Vaussais great for fishing
Nearby forest good for walks
View of Fig Cottage
View across the fields from our property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sauze-Vaussais, Deux-Sevres, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Anya522
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First rate gite in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Really comfortable gite finished to a very high standard and very clean. Although our stay was at the end of October the gite was warm in the evening, thanks to the efficient heating. The gite was roomy enough for the both of us and is in an excellent location - in beautiful countryside, yet close to amenities and shops. Wifi was excellent. Agnes and Cyril are lovely hosts, friendly and helpful, yet also discreet. They keep the grounds very neat and tidy. A lovely place to stay. Highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, high standard of cleanliness in gite and grounds, and finish of decor.
Liked least: Lack of cleaning materials.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas...
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I stayed in Fig Cottage with my husband, daughter and her boyfriend for a week mid September. The cottage itself was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated with every convenience you could need. The hosts Agnes and Cyril were very welcoming and friendly and even though we had arrived several hours early it seemed to be no problem. There was a beutiful fig tree with plenty of ripe figs Agnes said we could help ourselves to right. outside the gate and a lovely decked area with sun loungers by the pool. Ideally situated just five minutes from Sauze yet still very much in the country, it was the perfect holiday. Even the little 'door ice' in the attic made very entertaining listening. Thank you Agnes and Cyril. We can't wait til our next visit. Nick, Julie, Lydia and Josh xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great hosts. Great position. Great door mice. Fantastic holiday
Liked least: Deposit very late being returned
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly110
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in a beautiful rural setting”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in the fig tree cottage for six nights and it was fantastic. It's the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed at and Agnes and Cyril are very welcoming and friendly. The lovely pools out the back were perfect for cooling down on a hot day. A car is a must here, but you are within an hours drive of lots of interesting places and villages. We really enjoyed a day at the gardens in magne, another in La Rochelle and afternoons visiting the chateaux nearby. On the grounds itself it's great for children as they can run around safely and play with games provided such as table tennis, pool and tennis. I would recommend a stay here if you want to relax and get away from it all on a holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Dalgety Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

After a long drive we were warmly welcomed by Agnes who showed us to the cottage and let us settle in.

Fig Cottage is spotlessly clean, well equipped, very comfortable and has 2 spacious double bedroom. Agnes very kindly provided us with a travel cot for our baby and a pull down single bed so our older son and daughter didn’t have to share a double bed.

The patio area was lovely with plenty of garden furniture including a table, chairs, sun loungers, parasols and a BBQ. We happily sat out here every evening enjoying the local produce and wine.

The pool area was spotless and Katie and Sean spent most of their time here hanging out with Tamela. There was also a small baby pool which Agnes filled for us and Harry had a super time splashing around in it.



There is a "Super U" supermarket 10 minutes away in Sauze Vaussais which stocks everything you need at very reasonable prices.

We had a few days out and visited La Rochelle, Melle and our favourite Coulon. Coulon is known as the Green Venice and we had great fun on the canal and then lunch at one of the local restaurants. It was extremely hot but a beautiful village and I would highly recommend a visit.

We also visited Lezay on market day which was great. The local fresh produce was super and there was a great vibe around the market area.

Agnes, Cyril and Tamela are the perfect hosts, always available for any questions and we cant thank Agnes enough for the delicious cakes that found their way over to us :-)

I would highly recommend Fig Cottage - Andrew, Katie, Sean, Harry and I can’t wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrydoub...
Sothwest UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rural France at its best”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Fig Cottage, with our two young daughters, age 5 and 3. Our sister and brother in law stayed in the larger gite (petite maison) with their family, two 6 yrs olds and two teenagers, so we had the whole age spectrum to keep happy, and that we did!
Agnes, Cyril and Tamala made us very welcome upon our arrival, and made sure we had everything we needed. Agnes provided a generous welcome pack, and was always on hand if we needed any info on local markets, bakeries, places to visit etc. Tamala was also very helpful in giving us a guided tour on the bicycles, she also showed us where the play park was, although there was plenty for the children to do around the gites. The were lots of different routes you could take on the bikes that wouldn't be too far, or too hilly, taking in the lovely French countryside and enjoying the fields of sunflowers. Fig Cottage was equipped with everything we needed on our holiday. The beds were very comfortable, and in the heat of the summer, the bedrooms cool. There was a TV with satellite TV and a DVD player for wet days (luckily we had none!!). The kitchen was well equipped with utensils and bowls, serving dishes etc and the fridge had a small freezer compartment to keep a bit of ice cream & ice cubes!! outside the cottage is a lawn with a beautiful tree which provided welcome shade over lunchtime. Because the two families had taken both cottages, every meal was on the garden tables put together under the tree. Something like that is quite a treat, when life is so busy, to have the time to sit as a whole family and enjoy a meal together. The pool area was around the back of the property, but was safely fenced off. There were plenty of sunloungers and parasols, and Agnes filled the toddler pool for our youngest daughter. There was a paddock at the back of the pool, where the children could run, play, race. Very idyllic. Although the fence is not completely secure, and would not stop 'escapees' it was never a problem, as there was always someone around in that area with the children as it is out of view of the cottages.
We did have plans to visit 'green Venice' (Coulons) approx an hour away, but as the weather, cottage and surroundings were so lovely, we couldn't tear ourselves away, so spent the whole week enjoying doing absolutely nothing. The grown-up 'boys' loved spending time in the games barn, table tennis was THE game to play the whole week!!
I would have no hesitations in recommending fig cottage for your holiday, if you want complete peace, quiet, tranquility, yet space and freedom for the children to play and not worry about disturbing neighbours. (Sorry Agnes - hope we weren't too noisy!!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area for the children, the lawn 'dining' area for the adults
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the holiday
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing