We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for Mom and her three middle-aged "kids"”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Royle Roost

Your view of Witless Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your view of Witless Bay
Living Room with Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Your view of Witless Bay
Living Room with Fireplace
Elegant relaxing living room
Fully appointed kitchen
The Mother Nature Room
The Mother Nature Room
Bathroom and Laundry facilities
Sunset from you door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Goulds, St. John's, Newfoundland, Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maryland...
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for Mom and her three middle-aged "kids"”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We are so glad we chose the Royle Roost for our weeklong stay in Newfoundland. The apartment was comfortable and spacious, and the location in the country, at waters edge, was perfect. Just a quick 30 minutes from St Johns it was easy to experience the bustle of the city of 200,000. At days end we enjoyed the quiet landscape of so much of Newfoundland in our corner on Witless Bay. A real grocery store is conveniently located just ten minutes away. Though we could hear footsteps above, they were not bothersome. And the space of the apartment gave the four of us room to spread out and be really comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare breakfast and supper. Great wifi, and we were able to connect OUR roku box to use OUR Netflix for Mom's rest days at 'home'. Comfortable, inviting, lovely place to stay. Absolutely would stay again. Side Note: The O'Brien's Whale & Bird Tour just up the road was great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Spaciousness of the apartment right at waters edge with adirondack chairs to enjoy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. I have become a master at tiptoeing around the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mcjoch
1 review
“Great place to stay!!!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Charming and welcoming from the very first step inside. Quiet location. Near the water, with a sitting area outside to enjoy the sound of the water.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review. You are welcome anytime. Guests get free hugs here too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CanadaJoh...
CANADA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great deal”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for ten days.

Its a beautiful place right in Witless Bay over looking the Atlantic Ocean.
The place is roomy and cosy.The kitchen is well stocked with utensils.
Bedrooms are comfortable. This is a very good deal.

Judy the owner is very gracious and also very knowledgeable of the area.

A great place to stay if one is looking to travel around the "Irish Loop"

Look forward to seeing you just before Xmas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scrosby78...
Alliston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found it a good size space. It is a basement apartment and the owner lives upstairs. You can hear fairly good so I would keep that in mind when booking. About a 1/2 hour drive into St. John's which is fairly convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large space
Liked least: Kitchen wasn't very clean
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing