We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
The front of the Shell Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the Shell Castle
A wall of shells in the main bathroom Looking out the front window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The front of the Shell Castle
A wall of shells in the main bathroom
Looking out the front window
Outside on the second level, a great view of the surrounding area
Third bathroom in bodega
Fountain in center of house
Entrance to main bathroom
TV in living room
Free standing winding staircase to the outside second level
Center of house looking at the fountain
Lots of shells
Looking down from the staircase
Back of the Shell Castle
Side of Shell Castle
View of high ceiling from the top of staircase
View of Tetakawas from upstairs patio
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Trees in the yard
Side entrance to the Shell Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
San Carlos, Northern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather S
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in August 2015

this was such a mazing place must go to believe it food fantastic shell musem took us a while to find but was gobsmacked to see all the shells millons millons the whoe pace was fill of shells very steep steps to walk round beach was fab go visit this place you will see what i mean margate town was nice to put prefore ramsgate more so another nice pace went on the train nice day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyle r
Queen Creek, Arizona
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The home was clean and secure. We were, I believe only a mile or so to the docks for SCUBA diving. The caretaker set up areas for us to rinse off our equipment. It was a very enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warchild5...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday getaway to remember”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The shell castle is by far the best deal in san carlos. I stayed with my girlfriend for three nights at $89 a night!!! this is a big beautiful home with all the bells and whistles. who cares that its not on the beach when you have MITCH who lives on property and helps keep this shell castle beautiful. Mitch knows everything and everyplace to go while youre in San Carlos.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I couldnt stay for the rest of my life.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma M
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you'd want in a vacation home & more.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family & I stayed for the weekend & didn't want to leave. This Shell Castle is equipped with everything a person would need & things you may not have thought of or forgotten. The care taker Mitch is a great guy & very helpful. The decor was extremely unique & the house was very clean. Overall we were very comfortable & will definitely come back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREEN VALLEY AZ
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing