We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
85
71
23
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
71
23
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club checking out small resort time share timeshare week beach access food and drinks weather was perfect rooms were very clean diamond resort timeshare free dvds full size fridge resort fee nice restaurant onsite restaurant hotel amenities nice pool
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We find this hotel great value when working on our boat when it is out of the water. The standard is well up to the best US, good quiet aircon and clean new rooms. Every room has a balcony with outstanding views over the ocean for the spectacular sunsets. The kitchenette with huge fridge, dishwasher, microwave, 2 burner electric stove and pans crockery etc. makes it easy to cook in comfort, which saves money. Huge double bed. Staff are friendly and helpful. Pool is good with jacuzzi and paddling pool. Barbecue area is nice, they provide tools. Beach here is rock / sand mix, watch for sting rays in season. Bar and restaurant are good, menu a bit limited but room service good. Good wifi. The only drawback is that you need a car here, no bus service nearby. Taxi to San Carlos proper about MX$100 then there's a bus to Guaymas MX$14. The airfield where they filmed Catch 22 is just down the road, buildings still standing but overgrown and hard to find. Soggy Peso bar down the road is a must, Bonifacio's next door to it for dining in style.

Room Tip: Season is summer as this area is popular with Mexicans, best time to go is winter when it's much warmer than Europe/US
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LordBrackenrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, General Manager at Sea of Cortez Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Priceless Memories, and we hope we were successful. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Sea of Cortez Beach Club in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Have booked two nights at this hotel for the mexican holiday this week. One day before my trip, the hotel have contacted me saying that my reservation already confirmed and guaranteed was cancelled. This due to the effects of the hurricane that have hit that area in the past days. What I can not accept is the fact of cancelling within the short time, not allowing me reaction to book somewhere else in that area.

This is the first time this happens to me and this is why I will never recommend this hotel. This can happen to anyone and the customer is not covered. Finally, the hotel mentioned it was going to be closed in this period and I have passed in front of it and you can see activities with cars in the parking lot.

Im a very dissapointed!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Tania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond R, Manager at Sea of Cortez Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

When any natural disaster hits our resort locations and the safety of our guests and staff are threatened, we take whatever means necessary to assist with a flexible and reliable transition into another accommodation. We make every effort to assist you with cancelling and recouping funds if the situation is

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located in an upscale area of San Carlos. The hotel itself is in very good condition. There were people working cleaning many areas of the property during our stay. You can tell the management cares about keeping the property in good shape. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with a small kitchen. It was perfect for our needs. Separate living area and bedroom. Cable TV and wifi were great amenities! The restaurant was really good. We ate there 3 or 4 times for breakfast and dinner. Very attentive staff and a good selection of Mexican and American dishes. One really nice surprise for us was the awesome snorkeling out in front of the hotel. The best stuff is just south toward Soggy Peso direction. Lots of fish, an eel, a sting ray and cool shell formations! We had great weather and water visibility this trip so we feel lucky! When we come back to san carlos again we will stay here. The value and quality are hard to beat. Oh, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. DVD rentals at the front desk were a nice ammenity!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Scubaloversaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, General Manager at Sea of Cortez Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Priceless Memories, and we hope we were successful. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Sea of Cortez Beach Club in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Having stayed her with the family back in 2007, we were keen to return as a couple for a diving holiday.
Great location situated between the port (for diving) and several beach bars (with live entertainment at the weekends).
Resort itself is small so does not have a gym - but the pool is clean, warm and in use for most of the day (and evening).
Staff are all really helpful, and the restaurant is very quiet.
Good wifi connection through out the hotel enabled social media updates with friends and family.
Good selection of DVDs for the occasional quiet night in!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Mal_Tracy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Gerente at Sea of Cortez Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Priceless Memories, and we hope we were successful. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Sea of Cortez Beach Club in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

This place was built as a time share but they now rent units like a hotel. Rooms are great with kitchenettes. The rooms are well furnished, clean and perfectly maintained. Service at front desk and restaurant/ bar/ pool side were really first class and personal. I should mention that this is a small property with a small private beach that is sand and rock. San Carlos is really breath taking and the views from the beach are very nice. The pool is also nice and very well maintained. Nice cabana and a small bar by the pool. This is NOT a large resort! It seems to be a good match San Carlos, if you want the big resort experience San Carlos is probably not the destination for you. This is a small place with very personal service. We were there mid week and while the hotel had other guests it felt like we were there by ourselves and the staff was just there to take care of us. San Carlos is nice to visit but you might want to eat at the hotel because it can be tricky to find food off the property. Restaurants off property seemed to close early and can be packed during peak hours. Food at the hotel was good quality and price was fair. They supplied beach towels at the hotel and let us use the towels and enjoy the property the entire day after check out. Since I am in Hermosillo visiting family on a regular basis I will be back to this place for sure.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank RobertWMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldo D, Gerente at Sea of Cortez Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback! At Diamond Resorts International®, it is our goal to provide you with Priceless Memories, and we hope we were successful. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to the Sea of Cortez Beach Club in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews