We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
A must when in SMA

I love to go through the mercado and talk to the vendors. There are many different items her... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
DeLora F
Go here to feel like a local

This market has everything you can dream of and more! It's full of life, energy, color, and food... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
chachalarena
,
Los Angeles, California
Read all 129 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around San Miguel de Allende
from USD 79.00
More Info
from USD 100.00
More Info
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 59.00
More Info
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
31
33
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
33
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver jewelry artisan market main market leather goods market runs pillow covers herbal remedies similar items corn on the cob visiting sma for sale san miguel few hours folk art artesanias stalls souvenirs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love to go through the mercado and talk to the vendors. There are many different items her - pottery, jewelery, some clothes, 'folk art' ie...catrinas, friedas, herbal remedies, embroidered throw pillow covers, shawls, food - cooked and veggie stands, plastic stuff, leather goods, masks, bound journals, mirrors and hanging light fixtures, pewter ware.

Thank DeLora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This market has everything you can dream of and more! It's full of life, energy, color, and food. Be sure to keep walking and exploring every nook and cranny because the market goes on and on into the streets once you have exited the main building.

3  Thank chachalarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

The place is a fun place to visit and the atmosphere and ambiance reminds me of the indoor market in Guadalajara. Lots of merchandise available but after a while you notice that it is almost all the same. I was really disappointed when I turned over what I thought was a locally made item and saw a made in china sticker on it! Good bargains are available but you stand a better chance of finding something original in the smaller shops away from the market.
About the 5 pesos, that is the price of admission to the restrooms. Having the 5 pesos makes life a lot easier than trying to get change for larger denominations of currency. Have fun.

Thank umpa49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

I had wanted to go to this market forever. This last trip (August) I went to it. Honestly, I was disappointed. I figured I'd see many artisans and some different things that wouldn't be found in the regular tourist shops around the main square... not so.

Aside from a couple of different shops, this was one giant tourist shop...nearly every stall had exactly the same silver jewelry, tops, other tourist stuff.

There's nothing special you'll see here. There are way better shops in and around the main town square that offer different things.

worth the time: Nope.

Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Being that this is SMA, I had high expectations for this place. It is basically one long street. The artesanías themselves are beautiful, by i found a lot of the stalls had similar items for sale. It was still a good, quick time filler. You can probably see all there is to see here in about an hour or less.

Thank soyalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Yes, we found lots of handicrafts at reasonable prices at this open air mercado. Don't miss it! A fun place to look for embroidered items, silver jewelry, pottery, rugs, clothes, etc.

Thank texascinzia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

We enjoyed spending a few hours at the artisans' market and were able to get a lot of our Christmas shopping done for many friends ... at bargain prices. Be aware that some shops/stalls are cheap goods but others have good quality products at really good pricing. The market runs outside for about 4-5 blocks, so plan to spend a couple of hours so you can find the better quality bargains.

Thank HRIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Enjoyed the different vendors, eat RED corn on the cob, fresh watermelon, picked up a few things. A great leisure was to spend a few hours.

Thank tommyhJ8415SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Easy to get to, just a few blocks from the Jardin. It's an uphill walk, sometimes steep, but worth every step. Lots of Mexican artesanias (art & craft). The prices are great. I didn't find better places elsewhere. Many items I found no where else. Between this and the weekend artesania market in front of the Atotonilco church I found wonderful gifts!

1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Glad I discovered this Artist Market, that is open daily, compared to others. Huge selection of folk crafts and much less expensive than stores around the Jardin.

1  Thank sfwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews