We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
113
28
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
28
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracepersonal attentionthe ground floorair conditioningroom was cleancharming hotelsitting areasan miguelleonardocarmencathedralweddingessencearchitectureaccommodationsgueststown
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a week in late February. We stayed on the top floor (room 7) which has direct access to the terrace. The hotel is beautifully designed, truly a work of art with the mixture of stone, cement and wood. The room was great, very clean and had plenty of space for us. Being able to walk out directly onto the terrace was fantastic. It was like having our own beautiful perch from which to view the city, relax, read, and soak in the peaceful ambiance of San Miguel. The location is nice, not too far a walk to the main plaza and just around the corner is a great little jewel of a park (take a right coming out of the hotel and then take the first left and go just past the Rosewood). Several good restaurants are very near the hotel, the Thai place next door is great. One improvement could be the WiFi, we had very slow and very spotty access in our room. Access from the terrace was fine.

I hate to have to write the last part because I really loved this hotel. The day before we left an expensive full bottle of my wife’s perfume disappeared from our bathroom. It was very disappointing and tainted what was otherwise a wonderful stay. I did notify the management.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Propietario at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Charles,

We are glad you liked Casa Tierra Negra so much, but we’re also deeply concerned that you went through an unpleasant situation during part of your stay.

We want to sincerely apologize for any wrongdoing and inconvenience. Not only had this never happened before, being a small hotel, the whole staff is shocked, hurt and shaken by these circumstances.

We appreciate your comment and will take the proper actions (disciplinarily and otherwise) in order to improve our service.

Casa Tierra Negra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We stayed in a room that had a queen bed downstairs and 2 single beds in the loft. The sitting area was spacious and included a kitchenette with a coffee maker and a small refrigerator. All the beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom even had heated tiles in the floor. The hotel was small, charming and located in the heart of one of the most interesting and lovely historical towns in Mexico. We went to a great little spot for breakfast and lunch called "Chicago"-excellent food and fun people! Talk to Marianna-one of the owners who is bilingual and will give you lots of tips on the town.
Carmen and Katia at the hotel provided information, assistance and even a light breakfast one morning!
The soft lighting was the only drawback in the room when we were trying to get ready for a wedding we were attending!
This town is an artist colony complete with people from all over the world! Go to 'Magenta' across from 'Chicago' to see some exceptional art by Kathy Taylor then go to the Fabrica La Aurora and spend some time soaking in all the different mediums-there's a lunch place on the premises!
Other restaurants: La Parada- so good arroz con pollo; The Restaurant for tapas and tequila!
We LOVED the hotel, the food, the town and the people! A destination wedding that will be talked about for years to come!

Room Tip: Look on the website of the hotel to see the rooms. They are exactly like the pictures.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Gerente at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Jody D,

We are truly delighted to read that you enjoyed San Miguel de Allende, its vibrant cultural landscape and our hotel, as much as we love being part of it.

Your comments are truly appreciated and will be taken into account in order to improve the service we offer to our guests.

We hope to see you soon again!

Sincerely,

Hotel Casa Tierra Negra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel was clean, small, Very convenient location. Very basic rooms and the shower some times the water was cold.
A lot of option for breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
Many little shops surround the city. Very safe zone.
And the manager was a little rude

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Gerente at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Erika,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Our aim at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra is to offer an impeccable service and personalized attention to all of our guests. We really appreciate your observations. You can rest assured that we'll take them into account in order to improve our standards and the quality of our daily work.

Sincerely,
Hotel Casa Tierra Negra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We stayed three nights, and couldn't have been more satisfied. This is a beautiful, newer hotel, that manages to convey with authenticity San Miguel with its beautiful light and artistic essence. Our large room had a comfortable, firm bed with the most comfortable bedding, and a sitting area. Some might say the rooms are dark, but I just loved the soft, reflected light. The easily accessable rooftop terrace was a beautiful, comfortable place to relax. The two front desk gentlemen (proprietors?) were the kindest, most welcoming and helpful staff I think we've ever been received by. I've stayed a lot of places, and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Director General at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello Dear Mr. John,

Thank you very much for choosing your Casa Tierra Negra to stay in your visit to this beautiful town as it is San Miguel de Allende

As you experience, we are pleased to make our guests feel welcome and at home at all times.

Thank you very much for mentioning the architectural beauty of our facilities that contrast with the beauty of San Miguel de Allende.

We hope that each of the memories you take with you is a pleasant reason to contemplate us in your next visit to this beautiful tourist destination.

Sincerely

Staff Casa Tierra Negra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My wife and I returned from our trip to San Miguel and our stay at Case Tierra Negra last night. We both really liked this hotel and would definitely stay again. First, Leonardo was readily available, super friendly and extremely helpful with language, accommodations, recommendations, transportation, information. Second, hotel location is just about perfect. We stayed in the Avellano room, the only room on floor 3, which has direct access to rooftop terrace. Great view of town, architecture and Parroquia (Cathedral St. Michael Archangel). Within 15 minutes we walked to plaza, where cathedral is located. Lots of activity there with shops, restaurants nearby and all along the way. We felt safe walking in the area day and night. Third, hotel staff is very friendly and polite, room was clean when we arrived and housekeeping kept it that way the 6 nights we stayed. It is a small hotel - 7 rooms on 3 floors, which we felt added to the charm. The front door of the hotel on Zacateros is locked in evening. We had keys to that door, our room, and the safe in the room. We felt quite secure. All in all, staying at Casa Tierra Negra made for a great trip to San Miguel de Allende.
P.S. re:shuttle bus service. We flew into Queretaro and had made arrangements to be driven to hotel. The service is operated independently from hotel. Later, we found out from Leonardo that he could have arranged ground service for us, but we have a friend who lives there do it for us. Also, there is an option to fly into Leon.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms all good depends what you want to spend Room #7 has best view & door that opens to rooftop terrace but terrace available to all
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johneX9595VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Director General at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello dear Mr. Jhone,

It is very pleasing for us to know that at all times of their stay with us they felt really valued and well taken care of with our services.

Thank you for making such a distinguished mention of our facilities and our work team that motivates us to strive and improve day by day.

We hope to see you in this Casa Tierra Negra the next time you visit this beautiful town of San Miguel de Allende

Sincerely

Staff Casa Tierra Negra



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews