We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa Mia Suites Apartments(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
USD 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hacienda El Santuario(San Miguel de Allende)
USD 215
USD 137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Mirasol Hotel(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
USD 114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hacienda Taboada(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa Primavera(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
USD 90
USD 87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de la Noche(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
USD 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Calderoni Bed and Breakfast(San Miguel de Allende)(Great Value!)
USD 130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Casa de Sierra Nevada(San Miguel de Allende)
USD 378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Matilda(San Miguel de Allende)
USD 737
USD 419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood San Miguel de Allende(San Miguel de Allende)
USD 762
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
112
28
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
28
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracepersonal attentionthe ground floorair conditioningroom was cleancharming hotelsitting areasan miguelperfect locationleonardocarmencathedralweddingessencearchitectureaccommodationsguests
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel was clean, small, Very convenient location. Very basic rooms and the shower some times the water was cold.
A lot of option for breakfast, Lunch and dinner.
Many little shops surround the city. Very safe zone.
And the manager was a little rude

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Erika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Gerente at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Erika,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. Our aim at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra is to offer an impeccable service and personalized attention to all of our guests. We really appreciate your observations. You can rest assured that we'll take them into account in order to improve our standards and the quality of our daily work.

Sincerely,
Hotel Casa Tierra Negra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We stayed three nights, and couldn't have been more satisfied. This is a beautiful, newer hotel, that manages to convey with authenticity San Miguel with its beautiful light and artistic essence. Our large room had a comfortable, firm bed with the most comfortable bedding, and a sitting area. Some might say the rooms are dark, but I just loved the soft, reflected light. The easily accessable rooftop terrace was a beautiful, comfortable place to relax. The two front desk gentlemen (proprietors?) were the kindest, most welcoming and helpful staff I think we've ever been received by. I've stayed a lot of places, and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Director General at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello Dear Mr. John,

Thank you very much for choosing your Casa Tierra Negra to stay in your visit to this beautiful town as it is San Miguel de Allende

As you experience, we are pleased to make our guests feel welcome and at home at all times.

Thank you very much for mentioning the architectural beauty of our facilities that contrast with the beauty of San Miguel de Allende.

We hope that each of the memories you take with you is a pleasant reason to contemplate us in your next visit to this beautiful tourist destination.

Sincerely

Staff Casa Tierra Negra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

My wife and I returned from our trip to San Miguel and our stay at Case Tierra Negra last night. We both really liked this hotel and would definitely stay again. First, Leonardo was readily available, super friendly and extremely helpful with language, accommodations, recommendations, transportation, information. Second, hotel location is just about perfect. We stayed in the Avellano room, the only room on floor 3, which has direct access to rooftop terrace. Great view of town, architecture and Parroquia (Cathedral St. Michael Archangel). Within 15 minutes we walked to plaza, where cathedral is located. Lots of activity there with shops, restaurants nearby and all along the way. We felt safe walking in the area day and night. Third, hotel staff is very friendly and polite, room was clean when we arrived and housekeeping kept it that way the 6 nights we stayed. It is a small hotel - 7 rooms on 3 floors, which we felt added to the charm. The front door of the hotel on Zacateros is locked in evening. We had keys to that door, our room, and the safe in the room. We felt quite secure. All in all, staying at Casa Tierra Negra made for a great trip to San Miguel de Allende.
P.S. re:shuttle bus service. We flew into Queretaro and had made arrangements to be driven to hotel. The service is operated independently from hotel. Later, we found out from Leonardo that he could have arranged ground service for us, but we have a friend who lives there do it for us. Also, there is an option to fly into Leon.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms all good depends what you want to spend Room #7 has best view & door that opens to rooftop terrace but terrace available to all
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank johneX9595VH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Director General at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello dear Mr. Jhone,

It is very pleasing for us to know that at all times of their stay with us they felt really valued and well taken care of with our services.

Thank you for making such a distinguished mention of our facilities and our work team that motivates us to strive and improve day by day.

We hope to see you in this Casa Tierra Negra the next time you visit this beautiful town of San Miguel de Allende

Sincerely

Staff Casa Tierra Negra



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

This is a charming hotel with distinct architecture and personal attention to the guests. We stayed here in the end of March in the Arce (family) room located on the ground floor and facing the courtyard. We liked the ambience and the individual character of the hotel and the room and enjoyed our stay a lot.

Before coming to the hotel, we had a couple of uncertainties, which I will clear out here for the benefit of future guests:

-- Air conditioning. We did not have any. We did not miss it. It is our understanding that only the top floor unit has it. We stayed in the end of March and felt that AC was not needed. In fact, most buildings in historic San Miguel are built in such a way that they stay pleasantly cool during the day and night. We figure it is the combination of thick walls, courtyard-facing windows and pleasant breezes created by hosts who open doors or, in our case, windows during the warmest part of the day. As a reference, average temps during the week of our stay were +29C during the day and +14C at night.

-- Breakfast. The breakfast arrangement was unusual for us. In the mornings, the hotel would set up a small counter on the open terrace with coffee, tea, and cut papaya (I think it was papaya, but I never tried it). Upon spotting the guests at the terrace, they would also bring out orange juice, several biscuits and a muffin. Everything else, you have to ask for: butter, jam, omelet, milk. It seemed that those items were brought from some other place because the staff would run downstairs for each item and some things seemed to be pulled from long-term storage (butter must have seen Allende alive). The most weird aspect for us was that we had no way of knowing how much any of that cost. The breakfast menu had no prices in it. And on the check-out we were asked to pay cash for our breakfasts. Again, it seemed that breakfasts were either and afterthought or a side business. Overall, I would say that if there was one area that we wished was improved at Casa Tierra Negra it would be breakfasts.

Overall though, our stay at Casa Tierra Negra was great and we would like to thank the staff for their hospitality!

Room Tip: ground floor was quiet as it faces the gated courtyard
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Director General at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello dear Mr. Dimitri,

We are pleased to know that it was a pleasant stay for you and your appreciable family both in San Miguel and in your Casa Tierra Negra

Thank you for appreciating the details that we do all the work team in order to meet all your needs

Believe us we will work on correcting those small details that will make us better in the future to provide better service

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again on your next trip to San Miguel de Allende.

Sincerely

Staff Casa Tierra Negra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

I will be honest, I hesitate to sing the praises of this hotel at the risk of not being about to get a room. But I shall not be selfish. I found this hotel by accident on a prior visit to San Miguel de Allende. A flower vendor was selling their wares inside the hotel courtyard and I took a peek at the hotel and wrote down their name for future visits. When my husband gifted me another trip, I knew where we would stay. We spent 5 wonderful days at Casa Tierra Negra and I miss the hotel, it's staff, and the ambiance very much. My husband and I were not in a room that was street side so it was very quiet. My elderly mother was in a room off of the main road but she said she was not aware of loud traffic sounds. Mind you, she is almost 90. These accommodations met all the basic requirements and then some. Clean, resort like rooms, perfect location central to so much, safe, secure environment, and beyond helpful staff. I will say that we basically had the resort to ourselves so it was extremely quiet. With that said, add a few children to the guest list and it could change the setting, but I would be willing to risk it over and over.

Room Tip: The rooms are available for viewing online. Our room had a sink, small refrigerator, and coffee maker.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarasuetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa T, Director General at Hotel Casa Tierra Negra, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello Dear Sarita,

First of all we want to say thank you for your comment and for highlighting our service that we gladly do day by day to be better every time

And when we receive these acknowledgments from our guests it is our best reward to have made each stay memorable

Thank you very much Sarita and Andrew we will always have a place for you in this your Casa Tierra Negra.

Greetings to Santa Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews