We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Looking for a cosy little cottage....... Then...”
other travellers have booked this property
from the quiet road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
from the quiet road
The lounge the lounge with wood burning stove and far reaching views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
from the quiet road
The lounge
the lounge with wood burning stove and far reaching views
the dining area in the kitchen
The kitchen
The welcome hamper
the double with far reaching views
The double bedroom
The twin bedroom
The garden
The garden
Them famous suprise view from the village
The moors within walking distance of the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gillamoor, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bubblegum...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Looking for a cosy little cottage....... Then choose me!!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely quirky little cottage with a very peaceful garden!! The cottage has everything you need to just turn up and have a fab time.... Country pub round the corner and a lovely view...... It was just what we wanted and we would deffo stay again!!!! Thankyou Claire (the owner) very much

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan R
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

1st visit to the North Yorkshire Moors area and will certainly return. The Cottage is quite small but perfectly formed and was just about ideal for our purposes. It was well set out and had loads of character, which we love. It is also ideally situated for the various parts of that country we wanted to visit. Loads of lovely day trips and then back to the peace and quiet of the cottage.
The cottage was very clean on arrival and the welcome basket was a very nice touch.
The owners were discreet and having welcomed us they did not intrude at all.
Overall a very good week for the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and location of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing we didnt like.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheshireP
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage, well equipped and spotlessly clean”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed for two nights and very much enjoyed it. The cottage has a very well equipped kitchen if you wish to cook, otherwise there is a pub just round the corned that serves excellent food.
The cottage was very clean and towels and bed linen was provided.
It was in a very quiet location, and parking was available right outside the front door.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polly8468
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage, immaculate and very well equipped located in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I have just returned from a stay at this property. The cottage was lovely, so well equipped for adults and also for any families that may be visiting with children. I agree with the comment that another poster made on here about it being the best equipped cottage they have ever stayed in. It was also immaculately clean from top to bottom.

The cottage is furnished to a very high standard and has some added features like the outside twinkly lights and lovely paintings that made it feel extra special.
We found the area to be charming and very pretty. The locals were so friendly and it is the perfect place to relax and unwide whilst exploring .
There is so much to do in this part of the country and the owners had left lots of information on local attractions and walks.
The booking process was fast and thorough and I found the customer service to be outstanding , the communication was so good .
This cottage ticks all the boxes and I defiantly be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mummycani...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning, tranquil home from home..”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I stayed here for Christmas with my son... we were taken back with the beauty of the place when we arrived... it has all the traditional cottage beams, fire etc whilst being furnished and decorated with a nice modern touch... the cottage was warm, lit with Christmas lights and tastefully decorated for Christmas when we arrived... Claire and Mark even went as far as leaving little gifts under the tree... the cottage is equipped with everything you will need, especially in the
kitchen...there was a lovely little welcome basket and a
guide to the area. The area is quaint a beautiful. . The view by the church is quite breath taking. We went to the local pub on Christmas eve, and met neighbours who live in the village and also a family who were visiting from Africa.. everyone was friendly and welcoming. . A neighbour even brought us soup and a box of lager on Christmas day... highly recommend this place.. you really cannot go wrong at the cottage Gillamoor. . We have some special memories at this truly gorgeous cottage :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing