We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 3:00 am - 9:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Jinshanling Great Wall
from USD 31.99
More Info
from USD 52.00
More Info
from USD 50.00
More Info
from USD 63.00
More Info
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
370
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car the bus two hours day trip east gate walk up great walk hour drive avoid the crowds three hours long drive public transport blue skies taxi driver views are spectacular ming dynasty local farmers
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decided to go to Jinshaling section of the great wall after reading reviews that it is not as restored compared to Badaling and Mutianyu and offers some ruggedness. Even though on that day the pollution index was high around 240, we still had a pretty good view of the great wall. We hired a car and driver (1000rmb excluding tickets) through Kong Lin (found from Tripadvisor) to take us there as we didn't want to navigate the public transport. We set off at 9.30am and luckily the traffic was smooth we reached the ticketing office at 11.30am. The driver told us it was a good time to set off as most people would have already gone to work so the traffic is better. We took the cable car up to Small Jinshan Tower from the main gate and hike all the way and exited at the East Gate. The hike along some of the sections might be difficult for people with knee problems due to steepness of the paths and having to climb several high steps. But i guess if you take it slow and take rest in between should be ok for people without major knee problems. We are of moderate fitness and we took about 3 hours with lunch break and plenty of photo breaks in between. We went there during autumn and i would suggest check the weather forecast and if weather will be good, wear a thin breathable t-shirt while hiking and bring a light jacket in case you feel cold. We sweated (one wore t-shirt and one wore thin long sleeve t-shirt) and didn't need to wear our jackets the whole time. Traffic was also smooth going back so we reached back hotel at 5pm.

Thank LSY-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

unforgettable and awesome. trekked 18km and was the first to reach the end point among my group. Had a buggy local who kept insisting on following me but that was fine. It's less crowded and very worth the climb. Loved it! travelled in 2014

Thank neocamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our first visit to Beijing and we had read about the crowds at the other sections of the wall. So we booked a guide for the Jinshanling section and we were not disappointed. Beautiful sections of the wall scale the mountains, relatively empty of people, and you can just soak in the glory of this amazing edifice. So you will have a longer drive than to the other sections, but it is worth it if you want to get better pictures and see some sections of the wall in their natural, non-restored state.
But come prepared for a hike. There is supposed to be a gondola car that can carry you from the parking area to the wall. But it was closed because of high winds, which we gathered can happen often. So we had to make the hike, which was not challenging but you need comfortable shoes because you will hike to the wall and then along the wall for some distance. It was quite windy on our visit so be ready for that as well.

1  Thank AdamBoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WOW. What an amazing place to visit. Absolutely stunning section of the great wall. I went to badaling last time i went to beijing a couple years ago and it was terrible. Strongly recommend going here instead. The scenery around the wall was stunning and hiking with a local guide who really knew their stuff made the trip unforgettable. I felt like I was about to battle some mongols back in the 1500s. Shoutout to Eason from Local Panda for being an amazing person and trip leader. You made the trip truly special!

Thank derrickedmundson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This section of the wall is nicely kept and with the cable car, it is easy to access. The walk along the wall is quite difficult in some places because of the steep incline but just think what it was like for the soldiers! This area is one of concentrated structures including several towers and gates. This would be a great place to backpack from. There are camping grounds, B&B and a hotel right on the site.

Thank MonkeyKing814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Is it worth it to travel 4 hours (2 one way) to get there? AB-SO-LU-TE-LY! In any search engine, search for "How to get to Jinshanling Great Wall" and "BeijingWalking" site is the one I used. Head there to get the best and updated information on how to get there by public transport.

After entering at the Main Gate, we took an inconspicuous road to the right that is maybe 50 – 100 m after the waterfall (which was to your left, you cant miss it). The road is not too steep, there are a lot of benches there for you to rest on, should you need it. The path led to the most western part of the wall. The hike to the east gate (not the last 5 towers) took us 4 hours with spending a lot of time on admiration of the scenery. I wouldnt recommend taking the cable car unless you are terribly unfit. It is totally not worth it. If not for the money itself, then for the location it takes you to. It is in the middle, so you will either miss half of the scenery or have to go back for a while.

Thank Michal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This is what you thi ‘ of when you think of the Great Wall of China, but without the crowds or people. Visiting in October we pretty much had the place pretty much to ourselves without only another dozen or so people along the couple of kilometres we walked. On a pleasant sunny afternoon it was great.

The wall was reconstructed in the Ming Dynasty some 600 years ago, but with some more modern conservation I might add.

It is in excellent condition and it ambles up and down steep hills where you get fabulous views along the ridgeline.

Although it is two and a half hours out of Beijingin my opinion it is worth it for the peace and serenity.

When walking the wall, watch where you place your feet as the steps are uneven most of the time.

1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

This place is an engineering marvel, different from the other walls. It is not as crowded (yet) as other walls, not as preserved as Mutianyu which gives it the "raw" character, and great for hiking. It is about 2.5hrs away from Beijing by car so you will need a good part of your day to enjoy it. We hiked for over 4hours through ~20 towers while enjoying the view as well as the construct of the wall. The view is mountainous but not as forested as the Mutianyu's. Some towers have vendors for cold drinks---handy on a hot day. You have an option to go by foot or cable car.

There is a new hotel Dhawa that just opened and seemed impressive, located near the foot of the wall gate

Thank 2Buicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

This section of the Great Wall is a few hours outside Beijing and well worth the time to get there. We were able to hike around 4km of the Wall, which had both restored and original parts, without much of a crowd at all. For many parts of the hike we were the only ones around.

To get to the Wall from the parking area there is a path and also a cable car. We chose the path as it then gave us more to explore.

The path has some very steep parts, both ascending and descending, so people should be in shape prior to attempting this hike.

There are some people along the path (locals?) trying to sell "cold drinks" and trinkets. Best to just ignore them or you will continue to be pestered.

There is construction going on a both the entrance and the exit so I would expected they are planning on more and more people venturing to this section of the Wall.

Highly recommend coming here.

Thank dmacwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

After visiting the Mutianyu section last year (which was also very good, BTW, and would be my natural first choice from Beijing in terms of accessibility and quality), this year we thought we'd check out the more famous and scenic Jinshanling section. It's further out than Mutianyu, at a good 2 hrs each way from Beijing, and not as developed (although the the village was undergoing significant infrastructure development), but culturally and scenically it offers much. It's a hard day physically, especially if it's sunny, so definitely take a brolly, but as you get further from the entrance the wall gets more wild and rugged and the experience more interesting. Note that Jinshanling to Simatai remains closed so you can't walk through there yet. Highly recommend both this and Mutianyu sections.

1  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews