We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 210
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
USD 95
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 217
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
USD 177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 147
USD 142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
163
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomildon housefresh breadeggscream teasconeson arrivalenclosed gardenthe cottageslog burnercosy cottageholy islandquiet locationeasy accessgreat arearural retreatfamily holidaywonderful week
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We have now stayed in two of the properties at Spylaw and can't wait to stay there again. It is set in a secluded location, surrounded by beautiful countryside but still just a short drive from anything that you may need. The owners are lovely people and you can have as much or as little interaction with them as you desire. From the moment that you arrive to be greeted by home made scones and fresh baked bread you just feel welcome. When we travel up we tend to order a meal for the first evening, as after a long drive we don't feel like cooking, the food is delivered to your accommodation and is all made with produce from the farm itself or within the local area, the food is good home cooking that tastes amazing. The accommodation is to a very high standard, clean, tidy and very cosy.
I cannot rate this place highly enough but I will say that I wish I could have a six month stay twice a year.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna and Andy a, Owner at Spylaw Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

So kind of you to write such a great review. we love it when guests really enjoy the experience we offer and return again and again. As you say the location is secluded, away from the busy coastal roads and A1, but is close to many local visitor attractions if you would like to visit them. If you prefer the wild hills we again are not far from the Cheviot hills and the amazing walks. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and do look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd holiday at Spylaw and it was just as relaxing and comfortable as the first. We stayed in Homildon House which comfortably accommodated 5 adults and 2 dogs. The warm scones, fresh bread and eggs were very welcome on our arrival and the cottage was just as clean and comfortable as we remembered it. The cottages are situated in an idyllic location, very peaceful but at the same time convenient for visiting the coast with its fabulous beaches, the Farne Islands, Bamburgh, Cragside and Alnwick to name just a few! Andy and Lorna made us feel very welcome and we had another lovely relaxing holiday here. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nessie434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna and Andy a, Owner at Spylaw Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Great to see you all again and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a lovely relaxed holiday. Glad you were pleased with the welcome pack again. Our cream tea is really popular with guests on arrival. As you said it is a very peaceful location but within easy reach of beaches, visitor attractions and the beautiful surounding countryside. The sun is still shining too. In fact the weather is stunning at the moment. We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future. With very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Our second stay at Spylaw and again another really enjoyable week. The cottage is as welcoming as we remembered before and especially Lorna's warm scones, cream and jam on arrival went down a treat. The cottage is so clean and comfortable and is ideally placed with easy road access for numerous day trips out and about. The walled garden is great especially as we had our daughter's dog with us, and another visiting dog for a couple of days. So with five adults and two dogs, the cottage still did not seem overcrowded! We feel very much at home here and would certainly visit again and will recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank 435Jackie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna and Andy a, Owner at Spylaw Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thanks for your great comments and glad you all had an enjoyable week with us at Spylaw and found the cottage met your needs and was comfortable. As you say it is ideally placed for visitor attractions and days out. The train up to Edinburgh only takes 40 minutes from Berwick if you want to explore the art galleries etc, but with so much to do on the doorstep perhaps save that for a rainy day. We do look forward to welcoming you all back for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed in both Homildon House and Cuddy's Croft for a family trip to Northumberland. Both houses are extremely well equipped and comfortable and were perfect for our stay. The fresh scones and jam and cream waiting for us on arrival were very much appreciated after the drive up as were the milk, eggs and fresh bread. The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding countryside and coast and the children enjoyed playing in the gardens and exploring the farm. They also particularly enjoyed having the opportunity to help feed the sheep and collect eggs. Super location in one of our favourite parts of the country with every detail thought of in the accommodation. We look forward to visiting again soon!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna and Andy a, Owner at Spylaw Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks so much for your fab review. We were pleased to welcome you all to Spylaw and are very glad you all had a great time during your stay. It is a superb part of the country and it's good you found it perfect for exploring the great outdoors. It makes us happy when guests enjoy the farm and the children get involved with the egg collecting and animal feeding. We appreciate it and so do the sheep!! We look forward to welcoming you all back at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Our visit to Spylaw Farm was very pleasant indeed. The accommodation was set to a high standard and the setting was ideal for short or long walks either in the hills or along the beach. We brought our dog who benefitted from the enclosed garden space just outside the front door of our cottage. we would be happy to return to this lovely place.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeannette306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna and Andy a, Owner at Spylaw Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Great to welcome you both to Spylaw and many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. It is much appreiated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage accommodation of a high standard. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future, perhaps for a longer holiday. The weather is stunning here at the moment (early May 2017)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews