We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the Best”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Aurora Cottage

Aurora Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aurora Cottage
Arriving at Aurora The cottage and view to the sea.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Aurora Cottage
Arriving at Aurora
The cottage and view to the sea.
The newly refurbished lounge, with reclining leather sofas.
The view from the lounge window.
The new TV including Free Sat and Netflix
The brand new kitchen, all appliances, crockery and utensils are new for 2017.
The dining area
The dining table
Why not enjoy a home cooked meal at Aurora.
The entrance hall
The ground floor king size bedroom
The upstairs double bedroom
Family bathroom
The upstairs twin room
Our new custom built window seat with reading light. Enjoy the view!
View from the upstairs twin room.
A few of the neighbours!
New neighbours in April
Sunset
One of the local hares which visit Aurora almost daily
The Fairy Glen
The iconic Eilean Donan Castle
The Fairy Pools
Portree Harbour
Spring sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmuir, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne D
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this cottage and once again I have to sing its praises. It is really spacious inside and provides absolutely everything you need . The minute you walk into the cottage you feel at home. It is clean,the beds are really comfy, the sofas are huge and perfect for sitting and watching the ferry crossing the Ocean to Isle of Harris. The views are brilliant from every window. There's a bench outside to sit and take it all in. It's about a 10min drive from Uig allowing for stopping in the passing places etc.
There's a grocery/everything shop in Uig called Rankins and the petrol station also sells some groceries. For a better selection there's the Co-op on the road from Portree to Uig just outside Portree.
There's a lovely walk from the cottage round the block which takes about an hour at a leisurely pace. I suggest setting off downhill so your last leg is also downhill. Walk to the end of the lane, turn right down to the crossroads, turn right up to the top road, turn right and turn right again just after the bus stop. You can also walk down to the bay by turning left at the crossroads but it's a longer walk than it looks. We took the car down. There are two picnic benches at the bay but nothing else except the view which is lovely.
Karen is a lovely person to deal with and has always managed to sort good weather for us which has made the holidays perfect. I have always received my deposit back within 3 days of getting home. I can 100% recommend this cottage, however if you want to be near to the shops and pubs etc this cottage is not for you. If on the other hand you want a quiet relaxing holiday this cottage is for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The fact it took us 15 hrs drive to get there as we had to contend with a cycle run.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeTrav...
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal quiet location surrounded by beautiful views”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for a week over Easter and it was brilliant. Although the cottage is out the way of everything it was perfect for what we wanted. Beautiful views all around, within a short drive of amenities and great for some peace and quiet away from busy work life. Cottage itself was well maintained, comfy warm beds and fully equipped kitchen what else could you ask for. Owners very friendly and would defintitely recommend to others. Thanks for a great stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views, lovely family home.”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is the 3rd time we've visited Skye but have never before been to the North East, I'm so glad we did this time! What an absolutely stunning place to be. We walked down to the beach from the house several times, the neighbours also seemed lovely. We did several forest walks in Uig, up to a waterfall which was stunning. We visited the Skye Museum of Island Life, which was well worth the visit especially for the price! (£2.50!) , and the Fairy Glen was also pretty impressive. The road through the Quirrang to Staffin was an unbelievable drive, the scenery was fantastic.

Aside from the local area, we visited Neist Point again (as it's really special to us) and went to Dunvegan Castle for the first time. We went on the seal boat trip which again for the price was well worth it.

As for the house, it was everything we needed it to be and more. For the price, it is a lot better than so many homes I've seen. It was really very homely and decorated very well.
It was only myself, my husband and our dog... but I would love to return in the future once our family has grown, as they're really is plenty of space.

The kitchen, as many people have already said was very well equipped.
The bedrooms all looked lovely and the bed, pillows etc. were extremely comfortable.
The living room with it's view was really something else altogether. The house looks over fields (which in April were full of lambs! :) ), a beautiful cove and then onto the Isle of Harris. I spent plenty of time just watching the ferries sail by. On the nights that weren't cloudy, we sat on the bench in the back garden under some blankets with a hot chocolate and watched the incredible sunset.
The garden was very well secured for dogs, which is great as ours tends to herd sheep!
We also went out on a few nights to do some star gazing .. there's nothing quite like the sight you'll see if you're used to light pollution!

Overall, the holiday was just what we needed. It was lovely to be able to come back to such a home from home after being out walking. The house is in an ideal location if you're looking to get away from things.

Any tips? On the days when the sun was out, it really warmed up the house and the heating didn't need to be on. However, when the winds were blowing pretty hard the house felt a lot cooler. I would recommend slippers as the floor felt quite cool on those days.
And try some of the fresh eggs from the locals!

Finally, the house and garden were one of the only places on Skye I've managed to get a 3G signal.
Hope to back in the not too distant future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
You are more than welcome to come back to stay. I couldn't even tell you had been there other than the bag of rubbish! Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad the weather was kind to you and that you managed to see some of our gorgeous sunsets. Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne D
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Once again, perfect.”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our 2nd stay at West View and once again it was perfect. I cannot really elaborate more than on my previous review except to say that this cottage is absolutely lovely. The saying goes "you get what you pay for" but in this case you get much more than you would expect for this reasonably priced cottage.
To us it felt like going home as we had been before and once again it was so welcoming. You get a lovely welcome pack. I suggest that you call off at the larger co-op on the outskirts of Portree to get your groceries as they have a larger selection than the co-op in Portree . The local grocery store in Uig (Rankins) sells everything in moderation and the petrol station in Uig also sells groceries.
Back to the cottage. The views over the ocean are to die for. The sunsets are equally spectacular. We walked down to the local bay most evenings( think it's called Bornesketaig Bay)and just sat at one of the picnic tables and watched the water etc. Walk wise, it's a little further than it looks but worth the walk.
When we stayed last year we were lucky enough to see basking sharks at Lower Milovaig so we went back again this year. No basking sharks but we saw dolphins. Lower Milovaig is a turning off just before you reach Neist Point at Glendale. It's signposted Miolovaig. There is nothing else there. No toilets etc. Take a seat with you and prepare to wait.
Please see my previous review re this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The stunning views over the ocean
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scubamani...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in stunning surroundings”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for one week with our dogs. From the outset, booking with Karen was a pleasure, Karens approach to communication was with the upmost diligence ensuring a swift thorough transaction with all questions answered with a positive passion about her rental property. A week before our arrival date we received the most comprehensive welcome pack ever seen! If you had a question before you arrived, the answer was in there and the directions were faultless. Well done Karen!

The house:
On arrival at the house the first thing you will notice are the well kept lawns surrounding the house and the gardens are fully enclosed and safe for children and dogs!!!
Once in the house, you are greeted with a small yet functional utility room which leads straight into the large kitchen. You will notice the quality appliances in the kitchen and the quantity of good utensils, crockery and oven dishes etc.. I would like to say for the price of this accommodation, this has been the best stocked kitchen we have come across!

There is a good size dining room and living room leading off the kitchen which flows into the hallway. The downstairs bedroom has one very comfortable bed and equally comfy/supportive pillows, not the sort when your head hits the pillow, the stuffing disappears. The ensuite provides you with an excellent clean electric shower with good flow rates. We did have a mosey around the rest of the house with equally good proportioned rooms.

The good thing about this property is not only was it immaculately presented, it was spotlessly clean and everything worked, just what you need when you are away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing