We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
31
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
2
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Very, very relaxing A this Inn is right on the waterfront. Far
enough away from the hustle yet close enough you can
join in if you wish.

Rooms are comfortable, clean and very quiet.

The restauarnt is quite good too. Prices are very reasonable

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Solo traveller who stayed for 3 nights in October 2013. It felt like visiting family. Quite isolated, so recommended for a relaxing stay. Very clean inn, delicious food available for purchase, beautiful area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank joseepoirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our family of five stayed here in April 2014. Moya and her team are excellent hosts, serving authentic food for breakfast and dinner, offering opportunities to experience interactions with the local people, and assisting on shuttling us to and from town. The location is pretty removed from town (which is part of the charm), so be prepared to make arrangements on getting places.

The lake is crisp and clean and you will wake to birds singing. There are nooks and crannies everywhere for you to curl up with a book, binoculars, or a beer. Be sure to bring a bright flashlight to spot the kinkajous (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kinkajou) at night as they forage for food in the trees. During our stay she had rescued three motherless baby kits (foxes) and was rearing them for reintroduction to the wild. This actually proved to be a highlight of our whole Guatemala vacation for my youngest son.

Also, when you come, Moya supports a local school, so ask if there is anything that you can bring in your suitcase to help out. The local kids need even the most basic of school supplies.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this little paradise and fell in love with the place, the host Moya and Guatemala. It is conveniently located between Flores and Tikal, so it is perfect for those planning to visit both places. It also is right on the lake with comfortable entrances, a palapa with hammocks, benches to enjoy the view, awesome view by the way! We had breakfast included, the bread was home made warm and tasty, the owner, Moya, makes sure every guests feels at home and gets enough of food and drinks. I loved to be trusted with fridge full of drinks - you could take what you need and write down whatever you took for billing later. The place is taken care of, clean and beautifully decorated. There is guatemalan art everywhere, very cozy. I didn't know you can stay in a luxurious place like this on that budget. We used kayaks free of charge, there is a library in the game room, there is a beautiful living room with tv and all kinds of artefacts, felt like a museum, i could spend a whole day there; there are birds, there are bars, ping pong table, souvenier shop and a little grocery store. It is just amazing how there is so much to please the most demanding guest!!! And so inexpensive! Moya is a great and knowledgeable hostess, nature lover and traveller, she stoically survived an avalanche of my questions, helped a lot with understanding guatemala and planning my other adventures. She also had some rescue baby-foxes at the time, it was fun watching them play. I'll strongly recommend it to all my friends and hope to come here again. The best inn, loved it loved it loved it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RackMarianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My hubby & I stayed for just one night in March, on our way to Tikal from our farm in Belize. Made a reservation by calling and emailing, and received good information both ways...and got to choose what we wanted for dinner-yummy! The road from Flores had been worked on after the rainy season and it was in great shape most all the way. Did not take long from Flores. Reception was great, room was basic but quite comfy and roomy, grounds were awesome--could have stayed to enjoy them more if we had not already planned on going to Tikal. Dinner & breakfast were very tasty...and the cocktail was quite good. Jason was a wonderful host...gracious & willing to answer questions. Was nice to see the other side of Lake Peten Itza, as I had only been to Flores and Remate--Gucumatz has a beautiful location. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews