We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
31
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
2
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was our second visit to Gucumatz, although our first actual stay, and much had changed, all very much for the better, in the meanwhile. What had not changed though was the wonderfully warm welcome extended to us by Moya and her strapping lads; even more enthusiastic and enterprising than previously, the family could not have been more hospitable and generous, and they made our stay enormously special.
The atmosphere and facilities that Gucumatz now offers are just amazing.; the rooms in both the public and private areas are charmingly furnished, comfortable and relaxing; the views from numerous locations delightful; the various nooks and crannies of the the whole site great fun to explore. and the opportunities to swim. besport oneself or just relax numerous and varied.
With Moya's delicious cooling, Jason's cocktails and all the input from Justin and the their two gorgeous ladies as well,we could easily have become horrendously stuffed and lazy, but for the great excursions they so kindly laid on.
Our visit was also a humbling experience in some ways. From visiting the nearby village of San Pedro with Moya, it's very clear how much she gives of herself to the local community as well as to her visitors. Everywhere we went in the village she was greeted by young and old alike most evidently as a much loved person whose support for them is, quite rightly, highly valued. When coupled with all her personal projects, we were left feeling totally inadequate by comparison!
In short, it was a truly memorable stay for which we shall always be hugelygrateful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for a couple nights in early July and it was by far the most amazing place we stayed during our trip to Guatemala. We took a boat across the lake from Flores to get there which was a fun way to arrive. Moya is an absolutely wonderful hostess and she cooks the most delicious food. It's worth it to come for the seafood paella alone! The lake is the perfect temperature for swimming and there are lots of hammocks and hanging beds to relax in! We slept incredibly well on very comfortable beds and woke to wonderful sunrises over the lake and delicious breakfasts every morning. Moya was so sweet and took us to airport when it was (unfortunately) time for us to leave. She does a great job at getting you to and from the hotel and organizing any trips (to Tikal for example) you'd like to take during your stay. Of all the places I've visited during my life, Gucumatz is easily my favorite and I'm counting down the days until I can return. This place is such a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandra743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

This B&B was one of the absolute highlights of my week and a half trip to Belize and Guatemala. The dusty local road gives way to lushly maintained grounds with beautiful trees and flowers throughout. The many views of and sitting places along the lake are a feature that is worth visiting this location on their own. The common areas - indoor game / sitting room and numerous outdoor sitting, swimming and relaxing - were beautiful and all felt very welcoming. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating and food was excellently prepared and mixed local flavor and international meals over the course of our stay. The rooms were clean, quiet, simple and well sized for a pair of travelers. I cannot say enough good things about the Gucamatz. I hope I'm able to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briannpah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our first post on Trip Advisor. We are a couple in our early 30's,
came from Belize and were on our way to Tikal. Found only through
word-of -mouth, we had planned to "stop off" for a maximum of 1 night
but loved this place so much we stayed 4 and wanted to tell the world
about this really hidden gem not yet in guidebooks. Not far off the
beaten track, Gucamatz is Located on the North side of Lago Peten Itza
1hr North from Flores/San Elana and 45mins West of El Ramate. The very
reliable hostess, Moya, will transport to and fro without rip off
prices, alternatively there are chicken buses that stop right outside
twice daily.

The Property comprises of imaginative architecture, decorated with
beautiful Guatemalan art pieces and overlooks the stunning lake. The
tropical garden is immaculately kept with something interesting to
look at in every nook and cranny and lots of secluded places for
relaxing. Right on the waters edge are swinging sun-beds and hammocks
a-plenty to soak up the blissful tranquility. If you need more action
there is table tennis and kayaks to take out free of charge. There's
even a tiny museum full of Mayan artefacts that some guests found
scuba diving in the lake and an extensive library. The rooms are
spotless with brightly coloured interior decor, each having a private
bathroom and porch (ours overlooked the lake!)

The included breakfast is delicious seasonal fruit, eggs however you
want with toast and home-made jam, tea & coffee. There is a nearby
small town to get lunch and have a wander. At dusk we were offered
drinks back at Gukamatz by our hospitable hostess and if her son is
around will make the best cocktails we've ever had! Then you can eat a
scrumptious 3-course dinner over-looking the lake. There's a family of
humming birds that feed in front of the veranda where you eat, and
always something rustling in the brightly coloured bushes like lizards
geckos and other wildlife!

Superb value for money. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrogBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay at Gucumatz. It was a home from home!The setting is stunning and swimming in the lake is gorgeous, especially in the heat of April. Moya was really very kind and went out of her way to get us to the destinations we wanted to see. There is plenty to do- we went to Tikal and Yaxha which are superb sites, and the guides are extremely knowlegeable. All in all a great and memorable holiday. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews