We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
148
15
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstulum townboutique hotelgorgeous pooljungle retreatbeautiful designdelicious cocktailsrestaurant recommendationsa short bike ridetropical birdswelcome drinklobby areacomfortable roomenjoy your staymargarita'sbeautiful hotelrented bikesthe entire trip
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Hotel Tiki Tiki was wonderful! It is beautiful, very clean, relaxing and has wonderful staff! Everything we were looking for in our trip to Tulum! We were looking for a quiet place to retreat to at the end of adventuring and Tiki was just that. With only 12 rooms Tiki gives you the chance to see the same guests multiple times to catch up on adventures and food tips. We loved this homey atmosphere! It is probably not for you if you want your hotel to be a lively, party zone. For reference, this was a 1 year anniversary trip, we are in our early 30s and like a balance of beach time, activities and wining and dining.

What to know if Tiki Tiki is right for you…
• It is on the far end of town from the beach (there is only one road from town to the beach) and driving it took us about 15-20 minutes to get from Tiki Tiki to the beach. That being said rent a car (we used America Car Rental and had no problems).
• Tiki serves breakfast every day til noon, for any other meal you will have to eat elsewhere. At the end of the street there is a yoga resort called ‘Holistica’ – they have daily breakfast til 1:30 and Dinner Thursday-Sunday from 8pm-10pm. They are veg/vegan/no alcohol, but trust me, their food is amazing and worth the visit even if you don’t need to eat that way. Our closest in town spot for food was ‘Burrito Amor’ – about a 3-5 minute drive.
• Tiki’s pool is 24 hours (deepest point 4’7”)
• The pool bar is a must (closed Mondays, open 3pm or 4pm – 11pm otherwise) and has amazing drinks ranging from $6-8 USD
• Beds: on the firmer side
• Toiletries in room: Shampoo, Conditioner, lotion. Cleaning will leave water in the restroom, the water in the mini-fridge is $1 a bottle
• Bikes for rent (about $7 USD per 24 hours)
• No TVs in rooms, great AC
• We got a few bug bites from being close to the jungle, but not too many
• We stayed in room 10 and it was amazing – king bed, rainwater shower, all the windows looked out into the jungle so you could have them all open with privacy
• You can add breakfast and bar drinks to your room tab
• The staff does an amazing job of cleaning the grounds and your room! It is constantly sparkling!

Tulum specific tips for the first time visitor…
• Most places only take cash – grab some from the ATM in town (beach ATMs don’t always work)
• In general, it is cheaper to eat in town than the beach
• To visit a beach from Tiki Tiki you can either go to the public beach (to the left when driving from town to the beach) or go to a beach club through a hotel – we liked Zazil Kin (150 pesos to rent a chair all day) or Zamas (buy drinks/food and use their chairs as long as you’d like)
• Don’t flush your TP – throw it in the waste basket
• Don’t visit the ruins on Sunday – this is the busiest day for MOST activities
• Most Centoes close around 5pm and are busiest in the middle of the day. Grand Cenote is a 10-15 minute drive from Tiki Tiki go and see the turtles!

Enjoy Tiki Tiki and Tulum

Room Tip: Room 10 has all jungle views (very private with windows open)
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo H, Owner at Hotel Tiki Tiki Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Laura,
Thank you so much for all your detailed comments, we are sure will be very helpful to all the future guests.
We are very happy you had a wonderful time at the Tiki Tiki and hope to see you guys again soon, cheers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Brilliant hotel. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff, very nice room, great breakfasts and fantastic cocktails! Would thoroughly recommend to anybody that wished to visit Tulum. Thank you for a memorable visit!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo H, Owner at Hotel Tiki Tiki Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2018

Dear Matthew,
thank you so much for your comments and hope to see you again soon at the Tiki Tiki!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Don't let the distance from the beach deter you from staying in this wonderful boutique hotel. The grounds are immaculately maintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Tiki Tiki!

The rooms with the jungle view are the best since they are situated towards the back of the hotel. You get amazing green views from all the trees and maximum privacy. We slept really well during our stay.

The hotel also has an amazing bar that serves delicious cocktails served by Bartender Guido. Perfect for when you're lounging at the pool or just a nightcap after coming back from dinner in town.

Honestly, I preferred staying out of the beach resort areas. Tulum town offers so much more choices for food and at better prices. The hotel offers scooter rentals that are perfect for going to the beach as it is fast, efficient and beats traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the jungle (towards the back of the hotel) view if you like privacy and quiet.`
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LNRDLEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo H, Propietario at Hotel Tiki Tiki Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Leo,
thank you so much for your wise and lovely comments, we are very happy that you truly enjoyed staying with us,
looking forward too see you again soon at the Tiki Tiki, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

I travel 150 days a year and stay at hotels all over the world and became quite numb to hotels, it takes a lot to excite me.

Tiki Tiki was one of the stays I will not forget. It is not the most luxurious hotel, but it is one of the most beautifully designed buildings in an amazing setting with the trees of the jungle a natural background. The hotel has a really great atmosphere, great music and vibes, really amazing crew, bar, breakfast, and super comfortable room. Tulum is relatively expensive but TIki Tiki is really amazing value and you get way more than you would in the US or Europe for the rate.

Genuine hospitality, just the way it should be done. Friendly, personal, unpretentious. Keep it up guys :)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo H, General Manager at Hotel Tiki Tiki Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Ben,
thank you so much for your lovely comments, we try very hard to make our guests enjoy and make them feel like at home.
Hope to see you again soon at the Tiki Tiki.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Just came back from 4 days at Tiki Tiki.
Its a great space on the outskirts of downtown Tulum.

Pros:
Beautifully decorated
Quiet!
The sweet cat will come sleep with you.
Walking distance to cool little yoga/meditation/hippie place down the street.
Good bartender
Good breakfast

Tips: This hotel is about a 15 minute bike to downtown, and 40 to the beaches. If you want to stay more centrally located, it may not be for you.

One con, for all of Tulum actually: all the toilet paper is scented/perfumed. This is horrible for your who-ha! I implore Tiki Tiki to change to non scented TP.
I suggest bringing your own unscented/uncolored tissues to be safe!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arturo H, Manager at Hotel Tiki Tiki Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Chafina,
Thank you for your kind comments, we will try to find an unscented TP!
Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews