We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
67
33
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
33
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filtered water buffet breakfast beautiful hotel each morning the ground floor a great stay mayan ruins beach road estilo jacuzzi bikes chichen beaches coba mexico margarita wifi
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We were a party of five North Americans and we'd just rolled in after being pampered at the Mayaland Hotel near Chichen Itza.
While this might seem a step down, we found it quite the opposite. The staff here made it a special place to stay and helped with all of our quirky needs: always delivered with a genuine smile or laugh. (We had a 5AM departure for a tour- the night watchman made coffee for us!) The rooms were pretty and well appointed. The filtered water in your room was a nice touch (you don't get that at the Mayaland). The AC worked well and though the hotel is right on a highway- a pair of earplugs and a comfortable bed made for a great sleep.
The rooms came with a complementary breakfast buffet. WARNING! This is not your typical American Chain Hotel Breakfast with plastic-wrapped sweet rolls and a six-month-old red delicious apple. This is real food--prepared with care, imagination and flavor. The fresh fruit tray for starters was perfectly ripe papaya, pineapple and cantaloupe. There were delicious fresh squeezed juices never-before experienced, hot coffee, hot chocolate and cinnamon coffee(!?) and many choices for carbohydrate addicts.
The highlights were the chilaquiles and the scrambled eggs. Yep. Those scrambled eggs were the best thing I ate in Mexico. Don't miss breakfast.
The bar was ably manned as well, with a great scratch margarita.

Suggestion:
Change the name to Mestizo Gallery and Restaurant

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMGJKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mestizo G, Gerente at Mestizo Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear LMGJKR,

It is so motivating to hear such kind words and appreciation for our work, we really give our best to all customers without looking for anything in return but from time to time it is great to hear that we managed to give a great experience to our guests. Thank you for choosing us and for speaking such great things about us, it helps us a lot.

Mestizo is your home and you are welcome back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

It’s on a major road but very quiet. We didn’t hear a sound. Everyone was fantastic there. It’s the road to the beach so easy to hop a cab there and a very short walk to town. It’s clean, beautifully decorated, breakfast is included and delicious. Highly recommend. I’ll stay again when I go back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mexxooxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mestizo G, Gerente at Mestizo Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Mexxooxx,

Thank you so much for your comments, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Mestizo, we will continue working on improving so next time you visit us we can give you a pleaseant surprise.

You are always welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

Even though we only had a short stay in Mestizo Gallery, it was an extremely pleasant place to spend our time. The staff was extremely welcoming and nice to us. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and this hotel also has a pool on the ground floor. We had dinner in the hotel multiple times and the food was great. This hotel was clearly one of the best hotels we stayed at in Mexico.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mestizo G, Gerente at Mestizo Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you so much for your words, it really motivates us to keep bringing joy and a good experience to our customers! hope you are taking great memories from Mexico and Us.

Mestizo is your home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Each room is provided with a filtered water urn - very much appreciated in lieu of purchasing bottled water. The rooms are quite comfortable, although on one of the nights, barking dogs seemed to occupy the neighborhood.
A buffet breakfast is included and is quite good.
This hotel has art - paintings, lights and furnishings displayed in the public areas and the rooms. We bought some pendants after noticing them hanging in the restaurant.
The restaurant offers a full range of menu items - mostly seafood. It's all good - no reason to go elsewhere although there are some other good options nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mestizo G, Gerente at Mestizo Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, we will work on improving so next time you will be amazed for the second time!

you are always welcome back, Mestizo is your home in Mexico!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is a very welcoming and relaxing experience. It offers comfortable bedrooms as well as a very good restaurant with some very good food.

The bedrooms were spacious and had very nice bathroom which had a shower (with hot water) and a toilet.

The pool was a beautiful and calm place where in the evenings you could dip your feet in and it wasn’t too cold.

The restaurant had good food which included Mexican and western food. In addition, in the morning there was buffet breakfast.

In conclusion, I strongly recommend this hotel and it is mellow and relaxing.

Thank you Mestizo Gallery for such a wonderful experience!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Cami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mestizo G, Gerente at Mestizo Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thanks you so much for your comment! we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.
We thank you for choosing us! and you are welcome back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews