We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dreamy and magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Violeta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Violeta
Ranked #33 of 76 Tulum B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreamy and magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Our weeklong stay at Casa Violeta was a magical dream. As soon as we drove through the violet gate our NYC stress began to thaw. Our cabana was named Jazmine and it was as exotic as the flower. We were just twenty five meters from the lapping waves, with jungle birds chirping on the talapa roof, a long hammock inside the room for sleepy siestas, and a soft, milky white bed covered by translucent mosquito net (they feed on you at mealtimes so come equipped with bug spray!).

While we were there we scoped out many of the other resorts and without a doubt, when we return to Tulum (and we will) we will stay at Casa Violeta. None of the others resorts embodied the simplicity, charm, and beauty of the place.

The restaurants in Tulum range from good to great and we didn't take advantage of the Casa Violeta Restaurant until our second to last day—it turned out to be one of the finest culinary experiences we had.

What about Tulum? What is there to do? We went diving in a cenote (small pools of salty/sweet water) with an outfit called Motmot. Very professional. We spent half a day kayaking the mangroves in Sian Kaan reserve sighting troves of exotic birds. Absolutely worth while. We did a Temazcal at Maya spa with a shaman named Martha, she was awesome. We visited the ruins of Tulum and Coba. If you make it to Coba, ask about Punta Laguna about 25 km away, a tribal area in the jungle filled with monkeys, jaguars, and crocs. It was one of the highlights of our stay.

The last experience I need to mention was the Maya abdominal massage we got at Maya Tulum Spa (on the beach road). I love massages and have had many kinds of healing and relaxing therapies. I would have to rank this healing massage at the top of the list. I eat well and exercise and take care of myself in general. This 80 minute experience realigned my internal organs and created more internal space for them. It feels more roomy inside! That's the best way I can explain it, and it's not a temporary fix. The shift is permanent. We brought back many wonderful memories from our trip but that massage...wow!

basically our week in Tulum was unexpectedly dreamy, magical, and full of adventures and Casa Violeta had a lot to do with the positive glow we're still feeling.

Room Tip: We loved Jazmine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    34
    11
    12
    13
See reviews for
33
68
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Nederland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Great hotel with beautiful rooms. We stayed in lily and Lisa. Lily has the most beautiful beach front of the complex. if you are looking for a good spot to stay for a week, this is it! We checked the entire stip!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dipsaus2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I took a last-minute trip to Tulum for our one-year anniversary in mid-November. Since we booked so last minute, we were glad to find a room at Casa Violeta, and although it wasn’t beach-front, for the price we were happy to get a room at all.

We arrived late at night and were shown directly to our room. Since the power is only on during certain hours, we were shown where the candles were in the room. Our room Iris, like all the bungalows, is a stand-alone cement building with cement floors and a palapa roof. The décor is rustic but attractive, with nice candles, wall decorations, and my husband’s favorite, the “romantic mosquito netting” (which really is kind of romantic). The bed was extremely firm, which is par for the course in Mexico, although I’m not sure if our bed was different than the beds in the other rooms, since other reviewers raved about their beds. We went straight to sleep.

The next morning we were awakened early by the sunlight streaming into our bungalow. There are four dormers in the roof which have screens to keep out birds and bugs, but the sunlight fills the whole room starting at 6:00am. Shortly after that, several men started doing construction directly outside our room, which sounded like it was inside our room. We checked it out and found out that they have a workshop right there outside our room, where they were fixing beach chairs.

The room rate includes a continental breakfast, which is served in the picturesque restaurant with a spectacular view of the beach. The breakfast was pretty light, but on the third day we discovered that you could order a la carte items in addition to the free cereal, bread, and fruit.

One of the great things about Casa Violeta is that is has a gorgeous beach, and that each bungalow has its own lounge chairs, umbrella and table, so you always have your place reserved for you. The lounge chairs were really nice compared to the other hotels along that strip of beach – they were stained wood with tan-colored fabric cushions. The beach is Tulum always feels deserted, which is exactly what we were looking for. The water is crystal clear and very calm. You can walk out quite a ways into the water before it gets deep.

We ordered some lunch from the restaurant. The restaurant is lovely but definitely underused – at no point during our entire stay did anyone from the restaurant ever approach us on the beach to offer us drinks or food. We had to go into the restaurant to order the food, which they brought out to us on the beach (it’s like 30 feet away). Once the food arrived, they never came back to check on us, clear the plates or get us refills.

Even though we did not come to Tulum to spend a lot of time in the room, it became apparent that even if we wanted to spend time in the room we really couldn’t. The natural sunlight wasn’t enough to read by, and the candles and light bulbs were also insufficient for the job. My main complaint with the room however was the showerhead. It was about eight feet off the ground, completely calcified and with little pressure. I understand that we’re in an eco-resort with little water pressure, but there’s no excuse for not buying a $5 showerhead so the little water there is sprays in a straight line and not all over the shower. Also the hot water took a full 10 minutes each day to reach our bungalow, which didn’t seem very eco-friendly to me to have the water running that long before even getting in. I couldn’t really get clean until I got back home. If I were paying $50 a night for an eco-cabaña then I wouldn’t have cause for complaint. But at $140 a night with no ocean view I was expecting more.

One more thing that the hotel could do to really improve my perception is to offer the guests flashlights for their use during their stay. We brought our own and thank goodness because getting from the car to the room after the power has gone out would be very difficult without any illumination whatsoever.

The check-out process was, shall we say, computerless, which doesn’t mean fast. We were shown to the tiny and obviously unused office where we waited for the appropriate person to come and dig through a mountain of paper receipts to figure out how much we had paid on PayPal and what our restaurant receipts were (one of which was never found), then using a calculator tabbed up how much we owed. Luckily they took a credit card.

Overall the hotel was cute and comfortable, but there are a lot of rough edges. I feel that for the price we paid I was expecting more, namely a functioning shower and decent service. For a lower price I wouldn’t have been complaining but I feel that for the price we paid, the value was not really there at Casa Violeta. We will definitely return to Tulum, which is gorgeous and peaceful, but will try somewhere else.

PROS:
* Gorgeous beach with lovely beach chairs and umbrella
* Beautiful restaurant with tasty food
* Laid-back beach bum vibe

CONS:
* Shower was practically unusable
* The sun disappears off the beach at 3:30 and the lights go out at 10:00, between those times there is nothing to do on-property.
* Construction workers right outside room every morning
* No illumination whatsoever (even for safety) along walkways after 10:00pm
* Price is high for what you get

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gemdomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

i can't say enough great things about casa violeta. the rooms are truly idyllic and when the sunrise wakes you, you'll be blissful for the rest of the day. we stayed in jazmin for three nights and from the super comfy bed to the cleanliness to the toiletries, i can't think of a single complaint. our housekeeping staff was kind and respectful, especially as we traipsed through the rooms with our sandy feet and bartender andres makes the best margarita in tulum, in my opinion. the charming new GM lelaine is working on getting the food from good to great and she is ready to help out with anything you need. our friends' wedding was at la zebra, which is convenient b/c of the large restaurant but can't compete with the personal attention at casa violeta. we miss it already! we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: jazmin and magnolia have the best beach views, but jazmin is shadier and breezier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skm3f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We came to Tulum for a wedding (which was at Zebra, just down the beach) and stayed in Violeta for five days. I'm pretty convinced this is the nicest place on the Tulum Playa. The room was beautiful and clean, staff was kind and spoke english and spanish, oceanfront view was amazing, and despite the eco-vibe our room was clean and we were given a pile of fresh towels daily (important detail). It's true that there was rolling power, but we were advised of the times (power came on at 8am and went off again early afternoon; came on again at 6pm and went off at 10pm). Breakfast (free) started at 8am and included coffee, fresh milk, fruit, cereal and nutella. We stayed for five nights and had lovely weather until the last night, when a storm came in. It poured rain all night and day and the room leaked a tiny bit - just near the windows. All in all I would highly recommend Casa Violeta to anyone who's already made the decision to forgo a bit of western comfort and visit Tulum - it was a lovely, languid, sensory experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 km away
Papaya Playa
Papaya Playa
#34 of 89 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.3 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
1.4 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 89 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
El Paraiso Tulum
El Paraiso Tulum
#15 of 76 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Tunich
Hotel Tunich
#20 of 76 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.1 km away
Punta Piedra Beach Posada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Violeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Violeta

Property: Casa Violeta
Address: Carretera Boca Paila km. 8.2, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price range (per night): $169 - $385
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Violeta 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Violeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Violeta Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing