We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and a dream beach”
Review of La Posada del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Posada del Sol
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Tulum
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights and enjoyed every minute.
The rooms are lovely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast is good and the service friendly and excellent.
The prices compared to other hotels are fine.
The beach is marvelous!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for La Posada del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed here for a couple nights during our 8 day stay in Tulum. We stayed in the Titanic room. We absolutely loved our stay.

Noteworthy:
--Excellent location, within walking distance of many restaurants, other hotels, market across the street, shops, etc.
--Really nice staff
--Great little beach cove area (shared with a few other small boutique hotels)
--Very colorful and unique decor in the room and in the hotel generally
--Titanic room is in a great location; can't beat the view; sticks out so you're more likely to benefit from the ocean breeze in the hot season, and the many windows help you take advantage of that
--Water is salt and fresh, so be prepared
--Great private deck on the rocks above the sea
--The room has a nice balcony with bench and hammock
--Excellent value

Room Tip: Highly recommend Titanic. Luna also looked really cool.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexisBuyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Never having been to Mexico before, but travelled most all over the world to other places, we wanted a little beach vacation in a place that was quiet. simple and and unpretencious, and we through Tulum would be a good place for that . We booked La Posada Del sol though searches on the internet and to a chance. I can not even begin to tell you all how perfect this was for us. We had booked a garden room, but 5 minutes after we arrived and checked in, saw the beach and heard the waves, we asked for an "upgrade" so we could have the ocean view. We got the Luna room and it had a big terrace with a big outdoor bed, hammock and the most amazing view. The whole building is very artistic and a true "gem". Beautifully constructed and "organic" in feel. It was great to wake up to a simple brekfast in the morning.The place is extremely convenient, a cluster of restaurant and a little convenient store across the street, makes it easy to purcase a cervesa and bring to the beach. Every night we walked barefoot on the beach and tried new beach restaurants walking distance away.. It was truly a perfect time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Posada del Sol has rooms on the ocean and rooms across the street.
The beach front rooms are more expensive but looked nice with a nice view of the beach.
We stayed in one of the "garden rooms". It was huge and comfortable and clean. Could have been noisy in high season when there are lots of people at the bars but was not a problem when we were there (just after hurricane Rina)
Friendly staff, tasty breakfasts WiFi and beach loungers made our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We didn't have a reservation just walked up looked at the room & got a really good price. The room had lots of character & a beautiful view of the sea. Breakfast was waiting for us when we woke up basic Fruits & juices toast we ordered eggs for just a few Pesos more

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CND02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#21 of 97 in Tulum
584 reviews
3.7 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 97 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.1 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 97 in Tulum
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#44 of 97 in Tulum
368 reviews
1.6 km away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#58 of 97 in Tulum
287 reviews
2.7 km away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Sol

Address: Road to Boca Paila Km 3.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: $131 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La posada del Sol is an entrancing, tropical Eco Hotel Boutique located in Tulum, Mexico. Our distinctive Boutique Hotel was built with the purpose to create a life time experiences and our climate consciousness processes minimizing the impact on the environment. Solar and wind power provide our guests with 24 hour electricity and our natural water supply comes straight from a local cenote, making us one-of-a-kind eco-friendly Hotel. Every detail here makes us different. We are proud of not being luxurious, but exclusive. Our 10 guest rooms have a unique and vibrant design, called by some as "Mexican charming style", that we believe reflects our culture and the natural ways of life. You'll be entranced by our 6 ocean front rooms, having direct access to the beach, or if the jungle feeling is your thing, one of our other 4 garden rooms will suit you perfectly. As we only have 10 rooms we can ensure you a personalized and high quality service. Here, you will forget the fuss of the unnecessary city demands and simply relax. We are the perfect vacation getaway! Unplug yourself from the routine, come and reconnect with mother nature, you don't really need much more. -Forget, meditate & disconnect. - During your stay be sure not to miss our unique boutique where you will find handmade crafts from different parts of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Sol Tulum
Posada Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing