We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
404
112
56
57
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
112
56
57
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full moon party beach club saturday night party ocean front jungle breakfast beachfront casita minimum spend drink tickets cool spot drinks are great private pool cabana beds the restaurant bar area great music jungle view special thanks good vibes
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

My husband and I booked a room at this hotel using points. My husband is the highest tier with Starwoods and has his own personal concierge through the organization. When we arrived, we were really shocked at our accommodations. We were shown to a TINY little cottage with no closet or dressers and barely enough room to walk around the bed. The bed had mosquito netting and there was nowhere to sit without going outside. We were really taken aback as this was easily the worst room we had ever been given, even as a hotel that is only a Starwoods partner. We considered checking out and going elsewhere as the room was really bad, however, we decided to see if we could work something out within the resort. My husband went to the front desk to ask if we could get a better room and let them know that we would gladly pay for something more comfortable. Even with the difference of points, the woman at the front desk quoted us a rate HIGHER than what was currently listed on their website for a casita. My husband reasoned with her that he would be happy to give his points back and pay the rate listed on the website rather than spend the points and then have to pay more money than the rack rate in addition to the points. For some reason, she insisted that she was doing the calculation correctly and that in addition to points, we would need to pay more than the current rack rate for a better room. Luckily, there was a manager nearby who overheard this conversation and stepped in to say that we could use our points and then pay the difference between the room we had been given and the price of a better room as listed on the website. We were really pleased with this solution and felt that the manager did a great job in trying to resolve the situation. The new room was really lovely. It was a private casita with a comfortable king-sized bed, a private patio, and a rooftop plunge pool. There were only two real drawbacks to the room in our estimation. The first was that the shower is literally right in the room with no privacy whatsoever. While we were able to work with this, anyone traveling with someone with whom they are not intimate might want to be aware of this fact. The other is that there is a limited amount of hot water, so be careful to space your showers accordingly. That having been said, the water pressure was great and we felt that although it was necessary to shower quickly to make sure we both got hot water, we felt refreshed. We loved our plunge pool and patio and made good use of both. The other things that were really great at this hotel were the food, which was always fresh and tasty, the service (particularly in the restaurants), and the really surprisingly great wine list. We had a very nice stay at this hotel and would gladly go again. We recommend it highly, but would caution that unless you are willing to stay in cramped quarters, you should really spring for the casitas!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acoene, Director General at Papaya Playa Project, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to visit us. We are glad to hear that your experience changed when you moved to a Casita and that the food and service was great during your stay with us.

The PPP team are always working on giving the best experience to our guests and we are happy to hear you'll highly recommend us. I'll let the team know about your kind comments.

We'll happy to welcome you back really soon !!

Yours sincerely,

Adrian Coene
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

PPP is a super cool place to stay for the right type of person. We absolutely loved it. Always a beach bed/lounge chairs available, nice employees, great food. But overall, our favorite part was how helpful Carlos, the tour info expert, was. He had an inviting and friendly personality, and he always gave us great suggestions on where to go for the best experiences. Thanks, buddy!

-Krissy and Justin

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank knsnyder2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acoene, Director General at Papaya Playa Project, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Krissy and Justin,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a great Papaya Playa Project experience with the always beach bed and lounge chairs available, nice employees and great food.

The PPP team are always working on giving the best experience to our guests and we are happy to hear that Carlos, had an inviting and friendly personality. I'll let him know about your kind comments.

We'll happy to welcome you back really soon !!

Yours sincerely,

Adrian Coene
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

A beautiful adventure beginning with stunning views from my ocean front Casita to the daily massages in the beach cabana perfectly placed on the beach to luxuriate to the sounds of waves, gentle ocean breezes and the amazing healing hands of Manuel. I loved the good energy, the beautiful people and creative design of the resort. I came for relaxing getaway and will return with friends to take advantage of all the fun offered at PPP. This resort offers the best of both. Loved the music played by DJ near the bar and was happy with every meal served. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: PPP offers luxury casitas or simple bungalows. Go oceanfront whatever you do and get a massage or 3 in the beach cabana - heaven!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acoene, Director General at Papaya Playa Project, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a great Papaya Playa Project experience with perfectly placed on the beach to luxuriate to the sounds of waves and the gentle ocean breezes. and the amazing healing hands of Manuel.

The PPP team are always working on giving the best experience to our guests and we are happy to hear that the amazing healing hands of Manuel. I'll let him know about your kind comments.

We'll happy to welcome you back really soon !!

Yours sincerely,

Adrian Coene
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

I stayed at Papaya Playa in March of 2017 with two of my girlfriends when all three of us were in dire need of some R&R. We had a wonderful time. We did yoga everyday and enjoyed the wonderful food. The spa treatments were good if a little on the pricey side. Christian and his team took excellent care of us when we were on the beach. He made our stay truly special. Thanks Christian!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanessabondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acoene, Director General at Papaya Playa Project, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear you had a great Papaya Playa Project experience with the yoga, wonderful food and Christian as a host.

The PPP team are always working on giving the best experience to our guests and we are happy to hear that Christian went above and beyond. I'll let him know about your kind comments.

We'll happy to welcome you back really soon !!

Yours sincerely,

Adrian Coene
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Tired of tacos we popped in here for lunch. I had the burger sliders and my wife had a quinoa salad. Very good food. Nice aesthetic to the club but the beach itself isn’t that great here. Not much beachfront, and the water here was full of seaweed, much much more than at any other club we stopped. If we were a bit younger this place would have been right up our alley for the night scene.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acoene, Director General at Papaya Playa Project, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to visit us. We are glad to hear you had a great experience.

The PPP team are always working on giving the best experience to our guests and we are happy to hear that the burger sliders and quinoa salad.

We'll take in consideration your comments about the seaweed.

We'll happy to welcome you back really soon !!

Yours sincerely,

Adrian Coene
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews