We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Nearby Hotels
USD 377*
USD 359*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azulik(Tulum)
USD 664*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
USD 290*
USD 197*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
USD 632*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 409*
USD 297*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 214*
USD 208*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 763*
USD 726*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zamas(Tulum)
USD 150*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 267*
USD 227*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 466*
USD 452*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
609
203
33
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
203
33
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsziggy beachbeach frontevery morningbeachfront roomziggy's barpalm treesbeautiful beachtuna tacostequila tastingfree breakfastair conditioningour honeymoonsoft white sandrooftop terracebeach bedslow keysister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
539 - 544 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was my third trip to Tulum and found this hotel to be fantastic. The rooms were very comfortable and staff were charming. Beach access is par for Tulum which is to say OUTSTANDING. The beach side cocktail service was pure paradise, and the beach beds were the ultimate in luxury.

This was the most modern place I stayed in Tulum and found the value great. I think it was significantly cheaper than the more posh places, but we never wanted for anything.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benastor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Cabanas Tulum is now one of the best properties on the beach and you can expect to see it climb in the ratings game. They already are on the best part of the beach, Now, they have added two swimming pools, great beach landscaping, new modern deluxe rooms complete with air conditioning and plenty of hot water and a soon to be completed yoga center and reception area. Add to that great management (Patti) and hard working people and you have a winner. If you look at the reviews on TA carefully, you will see that most of the lower scores came from construction related criticism or the old property. Look at the new pictures and you will find a hotel that you will be telling you friends about.

Starting with the beach. If you walk the beach like we do, you will find that you can walk great distances and you will also discover that Cabanas Tulum is on the best part of the beach. First of all, it is pretty much in the center of all of the beach resorts which makes it easy to get to the restaurants in either direction. The beach is wider here and has beautiful soft white sand both on the beach and in the water (no rocks). There is so much room that you will be able to enjoy your privacy. Many of the other hotels look like a cruise ship with chairs set side by side. The far ends of this beach strip has very narrow beaches and are loaded with washed up sea weed to the point where you can not even walk. We felt sorry for the people that booked what looked like nice hotels jammed together due to little or no beach. Cabanas Tulum got a little bit of washed up sea weed but they clean it up immediately.

As everyone has already said on TA, the included breakfasts here at Le Bistro are great. You can choose a table right on the sand and the full breakfast menu offers many choices, all good. We saw many people coming from the other hotels to eat here. Some earlier reviews said the service was slow but it was quite the opposite. The service staff literally run to your table or beach chairs to service you and the coffee, juice and food came out very quickly with plenty of refills on the coffee.

Our room, deluxe beach front, in the new section was perfect. True, as some have said, there are not a lot of room furnishings but the modern look and easy to keep clean room was perfect for us. There is a closet with several shelves for the clothing. There is no dresser with drawers (I read a complaint or two) but we find that is common in beach locations as drawers can get mildew and/or hide critters. The bathroom has twin sinks and the shower had a modern rain shower head. The view from our ground floor room looking at the beach and sea was the best view from our bed that we have ever had. We would open up the drapes in the morning, put sunglasses on and truly not want to get out of bed. What a way to start the day.

The property is well maintained and Patti and Alex were always there to assist in any need you had. Fresh towels and linens were constantly supplied. It was a pleasure staying here and we will be back.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Deluxe Room #1 is right next to the restaurant and bar so avoid if you want more privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baja1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just came back from a two week trip. Our first week was at an all-inclusive in Akumal and our second week was at Cabanas Tulum. We wanted to be somewhere quiet in our second week. After much researching, we found Cabanas Tulum. Wow! What a spot. The beachfront rooms are not for someone who is looking for deluxe amenities, but what do you really need? It has the basic bed (king-size), bathroom with hot and cold water, fresh-water showers (90% of the other places on this stretch of beach have only salt-water showers. Bonus!) 24-hour electricity, clean towels daily, beach towels and breakfast included in your room reservation. Try getting that at the other hotels. Good luck! If you really can't do without the resort-type amenities, try their deluxe or superior deluxe rooms. Be careful, they're only for adults. No kids. Front desk staff that we met while there, Alessandro (Alex) and Rocio are two wonderful people. They'll go above and beyond. A big thank-you from us! Our daily walks of 5-10 kms on the beach gave us an opportunity to look into the other hotels. Boy, did we luck out with Cabanas Tulum. Other places had great things, but location-wise, and water-wise, this was the best place on the beach. We'd go back in a heart-beat!

Room Tip: Definitely oceanfront!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoHiking_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We loved our stay at Cabanas Tulum! Now, to be honest, there are definitely a few things that they can approve on, but for the most part we had a lovely trip.

First of all, the people that work there. Patti and the front desk staff are great! They are very nice and accommodating, and we had a great time chatting with them. El Bistro is fantastic as well. The free breakfast was amazing, as each plate is cooked and served individually. No buffet here. We made great friends with two of their bartenders- Mike and Cecilio. The guys there are great, fun, and make you feel at home. Make sure you try Cecilio's Coco Loco (he does lessons on Sundays) and Mike's specialty cocktails. They are both fantastic!

Now, Cabanas Tulum can use a few upgrades on the rooms. They are nice, but they are more like hotel rooms on the beach then individual cabanas. We wanted that though, as they have hot water 24 hours, toilets, and lighting. Not easy to come by on the beach! The only complaint is there are very few amenities in the rooms- you will need to get your own ice, iron, conditioner, and mosquito net. Just make sure you keep the doors closed during the day to keep the bugs out.

We stayed in a beachfront deluxe room. The prices were a little steep, but the room was literally facing the ocean and steps away from the water. We walked about 2 KM north and south of the beach, and I can definitely say Cabanas Tulum has the nicest beach area we saw! They comb the beach in front of the rooms to take away the seaweed. Very few places do this, but it makes a huge difference.

I highly recommend Cabanas Tulum for the amazing beach, great restaurant at El Bistro, hot water and lighting, and of course the people that work there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband found Cabanas Tulum while searching for a anniversary get-away. Amaaazing! He booked a deluxe beachfront room and lucky for us, due to some recent rain issues, we were upgraded to superior deluxe. Many reviews referred to the rooms as being stark and bare. I would describe them as spa like and very relaxing. Very, very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Our room sat beach front just steps from the beautiful Caribbean ocean. The backside door opened to a beautiful sand garden with 2 amazing sculpted pools that are private use only for deluxe and super deluxe guests. Alex and Patty at the front desk were so helpful in every aspect and were especially attentive to make sure we were comfortable and that our needs were met. The staff at the El Bistro were some of the most hard working people I have seen. They literally run through the sand and up & down the sand bluff to take and deliver orders. We were usually "catered" upon by Emilio and Rosa who are exceptional at their job. If you are looking for beautiful scenery, romantic atmosphere, a clean and comfortable room with a staff that cater to your every whim then Cabanas Tulum is your place. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Deluxe and super deluxe are adults only.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews