We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 331
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 449
USD 167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 427
USD 193
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 175
USD 142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Zamas(Tulum)
USD 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
USD 148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Coco Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
USD 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
USD 632
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
USD 633
USD 590
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 807
USD 775
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
726
103
27
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
103
27
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai foodmaster suitemoney bagsevery morningour honeymoonthe sea view roomstulum ruinskitchen tablebeach bagtea coffeelittle touchespublic beachyour doorstephuevos rancherosturn down servicehotel guestssmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Mezzanine is one of those places that all the tiny finishing touches take it from good to great. The room was full of plants, snacks were brought to your room in the morning and evening, tied up in little paper bags, the toiletries were organic and locally made, in glass bottles, aroma oil was put in your room in the evening and more.
Staff were attentive, friendly, knowledgeable and genuine.
The best thing was opening the door to the sight of the ocean. it was incredible. THe hotel is elevated (with a 5 second walk down some steps to the white sand beach) and not in a main strip, but in a quiet part of Tulum 5 minutes taxi from the centre or a busier strip. Tulum as a resort is pretty spread out. There are gorgeous patios and a hammock area to relax as well as a swinging chair from the mezzanine floor in the room, so plenty of options to lounge. If your budget can stretch to it, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view was worth the money
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank feelslikesummerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I feel reluctant to write this review because the staff here are just wonderful - David, Maggie and Gaby were all fantastic and the housekeeping was particularly exceptional.
This place is good value for Tulum and lots of things about it were great. However, there are some drawbacks to this place that I think anyone booking should be aware of:

- I wouldn't really call it a boutique hotel - it's more like a restaurant and bar with rooms/an inn. The restaurant is really popular and so is always packed - that means that as a guest sometimes you feel it's not that private. The grounds of the hotel are very small and so you don't feel like there are sections you can go to which are completely away from those who are eating in the restaurant. The pool is also very small and is in full view of everyone in the restaurant.
- It's set on the road - which is relatively quiet but regardless of what room you're in you can hear the road in the morning particularly. It's not a busy road at all but you can definitely hear the cars/trucks quite clearly along with the music from the restaurant on the other side of the road. You can actually also hear the sea which is wonderful as the hotel is also set right on the beach - but if you're expecting a secluded boutique hotel set on the beach with just the sound of the waves lapping, this is a slightly different experience.
- It is quite far out of the main section of Tulum which means you'll have to get a cab/cycle for a few miles until you reach the main place where restaurants/bars are.
- Breakfast isn't included - which can add up.

Overall I'd say this place was good value and the staff were great, but make sure you're happy with the things I've listed above before you book.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosieposy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This place is amazing. I stumbled upon it when I was visiting the ruins a few years ago. When I showed up for my reservation I found out i was a day off and did not have a reservation until the next day. Luckily David at the front desk had an available room and made it happen with no issues at all. We were greeted with two margaritas and hung out on the beautiful ocean front patio until the room was ready.

All of the concierge is amazing. David, Maggie and Gabbie were amazing. So sweet, accommodating and friendly. They arranged bicycles for us and medicine when my girlfriend was ill. All of the service staff was very friendly and Alejandro we met on one of the last few days. He went above and beyond.

My only complaint would be the non ocean view room is down the hall from the front desk. You can hear the rooms next door to you very clearly and the people at the front desk talking. Although let me be clear, we went to bed very early. Other than the people next door stumbling into their room after a few drinks there were no issues at all. Even with the cheaper room not having a view you don’t miss it. You walk out of your room and around the corner find the view.

The rooms were cleaned daily and freshened up. Tea was brought in in the evening with local chocolate and the aromatherapy diffusers were turned on with our choice of oils. Morning coffe was delivered in a bag with a breakfast bar and we took it out to watch the sunrise.

The Thai inspired restaurant is delicious and the cocktails were great. Very quiet strip of tulum. Closer to the ruins and a mile away from the “action” of tulum. Perfect for what we wanted.

I can’t wait to come back here. It was worth every penny and helped make the experience what it was.

Thank you Mezzanine for making this trip amazing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Director General at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We are very happy you had such an amazing experience on your stay with us at Mezzanine,the fact that you are already wanting to comeback is the best complement we can ever get!

Hasta pronto!

Laura Avila & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Everything was amazing from the arrival (pick the soap and aromatherapy oil you want to be dispersed in your room!) to the killer view (both from the common areas and little 'attic' in our room with handing chair and triangular window to the beach) to complimentary coffee in the morning and tea in the evening delivered to your door and unparalleled hospitality of Margie, Gaby and David.
They have DJ playing at the bar during lunch hours, delicious Thai food, help with any request you may have and everything is just unique and made to order, no shortcuts or stuff from chains. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are rooms without a view on the ground floor. Don't know much about them, but be sure to check and align expectations
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Director General at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,


What a great review of your experience with us, muchas gracias! We are very glad you enjoyed it all, from the soaps to the vibe of our place.

We truly apprecite your recommendation and hope to see you back soon,


Saludos from beautiful Mezzanine,

Laura Avila & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Once again Mezzanine was AMAZING. All I can say is they do EVERYTHING right, even with the Sargassum this year the experience and staff make up for any disappointment with the ocean water. The food and drinks and ALL the little touches were once again perfect. ❤️

Thank you David and Maggie.....Magnifico!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kholian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezManager, Director General at Mezzanine Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Kholian,

We were so happy to have been chosen for your to spend your vacation with us again. Thank you for the lovely review, it feels great to know we got it right!

We are already looking forward to welcome you in the thirt time, greetings from David & Maguie,


Laura Avila
Mezzanine General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews