We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Ranked #50 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven!!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was one of the, if not THE most incredible weeks of my life. I didnt know what to expect but was beyond pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I needed to 'reset' from a crazy work schedule and tons of stress and as soon as I arrived it all melted away. I went by myself and met some of the most amazing women that I'm sure will be life long friends and was welcomed by such a warm staff. The people were all fantastic, the activities were super fun, motivating and engaging and the food was delish. I would go back in an absolute heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    92
    31
    28
    32
See reviews for
37
53
113
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My friend had been reading about this amazing place for several years and she booked us in a last minute opening for their 5 night bikini bootcamp! Truly an unforgettable adventure facilitated by the beach,environment, staff, coaches(OMG...Kiya, Joel, and Darlene), trips...and Melissa! Our room was comfortable, unique and charming..with expected "camp like" charm. The exercise was challenging, inspiring, and refreshing....massages did my back a world of healing! Time spent with Sasha, spiritual healing and massage was life changing. Bonded with an amazing group of women from all over the world!
Definitely plan on returning.... Consider myself truly fortunate to have had this experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at Amansala for 4 nights & found it the most relaxing part of our 3 week stay in Mexico.
We stayed in a room that led directly onto the beach (wow- amazing)
It's an eco-friendly environment - that means minimal mod cons, and that can take you by surprise if you're not prepared! There's no air conditioning - so the only way to keep cool at night was to baton down the mozzie nets & open the windows which means you get a little covered in sea salt which is a bit ikky... but you know what? You wake up to the sound of the surf & you walk straight out your front door to the most beautiful beaches! After the first day we got accustomed to the "glam-camping" vibe & it was amazing - I found it totally refreshing & relaxing to not have to bother with makeup or hair straighteners - we didnt wear shoes for 5 days!
The nightlife is very chilled - We hired bikes for $10 a day & went around the local area on them which was a great way to check out the local area/ see the sights (plus keep fit & get a good tan!) & so by nightfall we were pretty done. There are plenty of restaurants along the Boca Paila to check out that are ALL fantastic with the freshest tasty food. The people who work around there are all friendly & the general feeling is super chilled out.
All in all... dont bother coming here if you're not able to relax without having your hair perfect, you need a dazzling nightlife or expect to be waited on in the lap of luxury. However if you want to get completely away from it all, walk along beautiful uncrowded beaches, have a REALLY relaxing time & eat some delicious food - then give it a try.
We were sad to leave!

Room Tip: Ground floor room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boredtotears1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I came here on a yoga retreat and although the studios were well situated, the hotel in general was run w/ 1 thing in mind, money, money, money. The kitchen and wait staff were friendly and accomodating, the hotel and desk staff were pleasant and VERY shady! Oh, and don't leave any loose change/pesos in your room b/c the cleaning staff will assume it is a tip.

The desk staff took every opportunity to get that extra dollar. Most people paid for things in US dollars, but oddly enough when it came to giving change the never had an US, just pesos if that, which they gave at an inflated exchange rate. I saw they had a US $10 and lied to me that they didn't giving me a 100 pesos, i waited for the $10 US. Most of the time they just said they had no change and they would 'owe' or credit your account, but they NEVER wrote it down. They ridiculously charge $25US for the week for wifi, and my friend gave them a $50US for which they had no change. A few minutes later when she realized she needed her laptop (which she didn't have) she asked for the $50 back and they said they no longer had it, they would give her credit, which they never wrote down. At checkout they had no itemized bill, just expected you to trust them and they would email it to you after (which I still have not recieved). When i was leaving, and sitting in the shuttle they ran out 3x wanting me to pay for a drink they said they left off my bill. I told them in the future they should provide an itemized bill so we all would have a record, and refused to pay. Oh and the shuttle they provide to Cancun, the fee changes every 5 minutes.

The rooms were beyond rustic, they were just old, except the shower which was wonderful i must admit. The rooms also had no locks and only a hook and eye latch from the inside. I was not happy about that at all.

Also, don't expect any information on what to do around Tulum, b/c there is not a brochure or knowledgeable staff person to be found. Unless you want to book the two optional tours they have, you better research this stuff before you come. If I had not done that and brought my own map we would not know what was available or where we were going.

The view from the main house was beautiful and the beach setup was satisfactory. The location in general was very good. All in all, I had fun but the hotel experience was poor and with the multiple options out there, some of which seemed MUCH more accomodating and nicer, I would put this one near the bottom of my list.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank cbec87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My stay for a 5 day bikini bootcamp at Amansala was everything I expected. Amazing women bonding together surrounded by sand, sun and sea, immersed in good nutrition, exercise, dance and yoga, soothed and healed with full spa services and awed by excursions to ruins and cenotes. It definitely has a camp flair with it's proximity to the beach, cabana style rooms, relaxed dress code, communal dining, scheduled activities, self-serve approach, sand, wind and humidity. If you're looking for this, Amansala is for you. In my opinion, to benefit fully from this experience, I would recommend booking for the full 5 day bootcamp to avoid disappointment regarding availability of excursions, spa treatments and planned activities. Definitely planning to return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puudlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.7 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
315 reviews
2.4 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
1.0 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 96 in Tulum
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#73 of 96 in Tulum
216 reviews
0.3 km away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#52 of 96 in Tulum
284 reviews
11.8 km away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat

Property: Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Address: km 5.5 Boca Paila, Tulum 77788, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#19 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price range (per night): $126 - $1,333
Hotel Class:3 star — Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansala is a beautiful boutique resort located right on the white sandy beaches of Tulum. Bikini Bootcamp takes place almost weekly which is a tune up for the mind, body and spirit. Days start with a power walk on the beach, and include yoga, fantastic fitness classes, tours to see the highlights of the area, healthy natural food, massages, and much more. A perfect place to come on ones own or with a friend for anyone seeking a holiday with a purpose with a good blend of being active but still having time to relax on the beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansala Bikini Bootcamp Hotel Tulum
Amansala Hotel Tulum
Amansala Resort Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing