We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Relaxing Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ahau Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ahau Tulum
Ranked #8 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Relaxing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I just returned from a week long stay. Overall, I found the place very comfortable and relaxing. The staff in both reception and restaurant are excellent. In particular, Emer at reception was very helpful. She is a fountain of information about the area, and she has experienced all of it first hand: from swimming in the cenotes, swimming with the turtles, paddling in Sian Ka'an, etc., and know the terrain and all the guides. In addition to all the knowledge she has of the region, she delivers this information with humor, smiles, a very helpful attitude... and a lovely Irish brogue.

Room Tip: There is a wide selection for every budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    87
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
141
389
80
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and had the most amazing time. The friendly and attentive staff made us feel like we were the only ones staying there. On site yoga and interesting happenings provided for interesting growth experiences. Beautiful white sand beaches with turquoise water made it difficult to leave the beach for too long. A wonderful eco-friendly concept from start to finish! Five stars all around!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tichp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a magical place. Tulum itself is always a special place to visit but what made this trip so memorable was the beautiful new Ahau Hotel. Every detail from the moment we checked in to our check out was handled with so much care and thought, Pepe and his team get much KUDOS! We spent two nights in room #4 better known as the LOVE master suite - and it was such a magical experience - the bath robes and bed are heavenly! We enjoyed our juices and lunch on the beach each day and allowed the hotel to give us recommendations for dinner each night - all within walking distance and great! We can't wait to go back. Also we highly recommend you get massages in your room while there - ask for Carrie and Xell - I own two spas in Miami and they were the best massages we have EVER experienced.

Room Tip: Def go with a Master Suite - more privacy and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBadeauxLinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great location, amazing beach, just a little too dark and rustic for us.
The staff is great and they work hard to create this beautiful place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was lucky enough to have been turned on to Tulum by chance and headed out to meet up with family and friends for a last minute special gathering. Having no clue what Eco cabanas we were going to stay at, Ahau found my group by chance. This place is magical! The staff, Dave, and their friends reached out and made us feel like long time family friends. Check it out....it is a no brainer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.5 km away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.9 km away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
1.2 km away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#12 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.1 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.7 km away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 91 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahau Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahau Tulum

Property: Ahau Tulum
Address: Carretera a Boca Paila Km 7.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico (Formerly Esmeralda-K)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tulum
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price range (per night): $77 - $589
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahau Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological luxury Hotel with a Guest House in Tulum Beach in Mexico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ahau Tulum Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Hotel Tulum
Esmeralda k Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing