We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil, chilled and perfect for relaxing”
Review of Zamas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zamas
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“tranquil, chilled and perfect for relaxing”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I was going to start with the age old cliché that people use when on review sites; "I don't usually post but felt the need to", but I won't. I stayed at Zamas from 2/25 – 3/3, we stayed for 5 days on the beach cabana and 2 days in the Jungle House. We arrived at 5pm on the Saturday evening and everything was ready to go, first impressions of the room were, small, but amazing setting on the beach and only about a minutes walk to the restaurant/bar/reception area. The bed was comfortable, the shower done the job and the fresh sea air coming in the room was great. We moved to the Jungle house for the last 2 days, it was fantastic, 2 huge double beds, balcony with ocean view, 2 hammocks and sunshine. Next time we visit Zamas we'll make sure we do 7 days in the jungle house!

I had read many comments about the beach before we booked there, but after 6 days of sunbathing I wasn't that bothered about the ocean bed having a few rocks scattered about, don't let that put you off, as you are only about a 15 min walk from the huge stretch of sand and 'rockless' ocean bed.

Over the 7 days we ate in the restaurant many times…I'd recommend the Shrimp appetizer, the Danny burger and the Fish tacos….mmmmmm with a Caipirinha or Coco Loco to wash them down. The service was fantastic and we were looked after at every given opportunity.

I'd give it a 8.5 out of 10, only because nobody is perfect.

Can't wait for the next stay.

Room Tip: the jungle house was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marti243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    172
    48
    37
    25
See reviews for
100
223
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millburn, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at Zamas for 6 nights in February and it was absolutely fantastic. We are a family of 5 with kids ranging in age from 7-14 and everyone had a great time.

Zamas was a welcomed alternative to a large resort. The staff was highly attentive and took great care of us from excellent meals to well mixed drinks to suggestions and where necessary, booking of activities each and every day. They also recommended local restaurants for those nights we wanted to eat away from the hotel and arranged travel to and from the airport.

Our accommodations were spacious and clean with daily housekeeping services. While more rustic than large resort properties, the comfortable feel, laid back vibe, nightly music and excellent food provided for a perfect vacation to get away from the crowds and truly relax.

Each day was filled with activities in natural, non-commercial settings (stunning beaches, snorkeling in cenotes, zip lines, boat trips etc.), afternoons were a time to relax on the beach or in a hammock and evenings were filled with music and excellent, fresh food. Our kids were never bored and did not miss television, video games etc.

The staff was excellent and always had a warm smile. They truly seemed happy to be working at Zamas. Never was anyone harried, curt or anything other then completely accommodating.

We would come back in a heartbeat and would recommend Zamas to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We recently stayed in a cabana at Zamas and had a great time. The room was clean - water hot and beds great for our family of 5. We thought this was one of the best restaurants on our 7 week trip to central america. Sitting watching the sunset over the water with the sand in our toes and a good Mojito (not the kids!) was great. The Gumbas Pil Pil (Chilli and garlic Prawns) were heaven. 3 of the nights we were there had live music and we could put the kids to bed and walk the 50 feet to the restaurant to listen safely. Staff very helpful too. Thanks you Zamas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quintana roo
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is a definite honeymoon gem..lower cost than most and simply filled with things to do ..music boating riding horses near everything in tulum

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itala333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were satisfied.
The accommodations are spacious, clean and lovely.
The restaurant is great and the service even better! Huge compliments for Miguel!!

The only thing less satisfying is the beach. Lots of rocks and not so beautiful as in other areas of Tulum.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.4 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
0.2 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#16 of 96 in Tulum
588 reviews
0.7 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 96 in Tulum
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
0.2 km away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#72 of 96 in Tulum
217 reviews
3.8 km away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 96 in Tulum
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamas

Property: Zamas
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km. 5 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#29 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price range (per night): $130 - $311
Hotel Class:3 star — Zamas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZAMAS is a boutique beach hotel situated on a strip of the Caribbean coast in Tulum. Inviting accommodations reflect a locally-inspired, organic architecture. Thatch roofs, stucco walls in beach-worn hues, and vibrant decor exude tropical warmth. Since it opened in December 1993 ZAMAS, with its hip beachfront style, has enjoyed an eclectic and international clientele of honeymooners, fashion professionals, artists, families, techies, and everyone in between. It is a quintessential hangout, mixing colorful urban roots with laid back local vibes and jungle ambience. Come experience the Tulum we know- delightfully laid back and naturally beautiful. Welcome to ZAMAS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Zamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamas Hotel Tulum
Zamas Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing