We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want to spoil your family then visit Case...”

Review of Casa Buena Suerte

The pool as seen from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool as seen from the beach
Trip Advisor Top Vacation Rental Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The pool as seen from the beach
Trip Advisor Top Vacation Rental
Dining Room
Our Beach at CBS
Bedroom Suite
CBS Beachfront
Outdoor Living Room
Living Room with 2-story ceiling
Living Room From 2nd Floor
Bedroom Suite
Bedroom Suite
Bath Suite
Entry Facade
The Pool Looking out toward the Caribbean Sea
Poolside
Poolside
Nighttime from the beach
CBS facade out 002
CBS ocean views
The Palapa
Palapa al Fresco
Palapa Interior
Soaring Ceiling
Champagne Breakfast in the Palapa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
jkhern4
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“If you want to spoil your family then visit Case Buena Suerte”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beautiful property right on the beach with a pool, hammics and a great ocean breeze. The staff was fantastic, Jose and Rudolf are an awesome team serving great food. You're secluded but a great outdoor adventure park is only 15 minutes away. We had 7 adults and 7 kids and spent days in the water kayaking and snorkeling and were completely spoiled on this trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thanks Jay; Glad we were able to help make your family celebration a success.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovetosno...
chicago,IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation rental - perfect for whole family”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Where to start- Marc the owner keeps in touch personally. Hugo the house manager took excellent care of us- especially good with the children. The chef Jose and Rodolfo fed us well every day. The house, the pool, and the grounds are absolutely as beautiful as the pictures We had kayaks and plenty of snorkel equipment for everyone in our group of 13. We brought kids and grandkids ranging in age from 2-17. Everyone agreed it was a wonderful, relaxing and fantastic trip. We had wind for 3 days, but that can't be helped. Seaweed season, but Aurelio and crew continued to sweep the beach all day long for us. Saw turtles and spotted eagle rays right up by the beach. My husband and I stayed in the beach palapa - our own little slice of heaven!! The outdoor eating and conversation area worked great for eating and game nights. I thought having all the staff would be intrusive - but everyone respected our privacy and it was an amazing family experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thanks Barb - So glad you and your family enjoyed our villa! The seaweed is all gone but the rays and sea turtles are still there.. Glad you were able to see them! We take great joy in the beautiful sea life right outside our door. Hope to see you back at CBS soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Not a Better Large Home to be found near Tulum!”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016

First off, this review is months late as I've needed the time to give our trip the justice it deserves. Casa Buena Suerte was one of the best family vacation homes we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many. Marc's home is the most beautiful on Soliman Bay and was perfect for our family & friends... ample rooms, an open kitchen/living room and space for all to spread out. It was evident that Marc is a well sought out designer from all of the detail, artwork, furniture and landscaping. The roof was a gorgeous place to end the day with a margarita and a bird's eye view of Soliman Bay's stunning sunsets. The grounds, the pool, and the beach are all surreal and meticulously maintained. The view as you first walk into the property simply takes your breath away.
Soliman Bay is quiet and calm, perfect for families wanting to swim without worry of waves... I actually can't imagine a group that wouldn't have their vacation needs met here - a couples getaway, family reunion, people who just want to veg and enjoy all the home has to offer, or active people who like to kayak and snorkel as there is a small reef right in the bay where we saw sea turtles, sting rays and several interesting fish. Thankfully SB is a private bay and very unlike the tourist trap and overrun, Akumal Bay! Please know that there are rocks, coral and seaweed in SB. The beach is cleaned and made pristine by Aurelio every morning. There are several spots along the bay you can wade in directly, but some areas are too rocky to do so. It was not a problem for us and we were grateful for the calm water and areas to snorkel and explore. SB is sleepy enough for bonding time away from the masses, but if you need a change of venue for dinner and drinks, you have your choice of the fancier & stunning Jashita Hotel - a short beach stroll to the beginning of the bay - or the polar opposite of Jashita and opposite end of the bay, Chamico's (a NYTimes off the beaten path pick!) - a super laid back beach stand for simple food & beer. The house is also a short 20 minute drive into Tulum beach if you're looking for more action, want to swim in the surf, take a group yoga class, or want to try out Hartwood, the restaurant everyone raves about for very good reason! I would suggest renting a car for the more active groups.
The reasons stated above are enough to bring us back and suggest this home to everyone we know planning a Mayan Riviera or Tulum vacation, but Marc's real gift to guests is his wonderful staff. Let me start with the caretaker, Hugo. Hugo is a wonderful human being, he's super helpful and just loves children. Our son in particular really bonded with Hugo... he played games with him, made him gifts was there to help us with anything we needed to make sure our stay was perfect. Hugo also went above and beyond when we celebrated our daughter's 10th birthday and picked out a custom cake, a piñata and had streamers and balloons everywhere. He really made her birthday extra special and festive away from home. We recently went back to Tulum with just our family and didn't need such a big home (CBS was also booked) and the kids kept saying, "we're flying to Hugo!" We were able to visit with him again and the kids were thrilled.
We highly suggest you book the incredibly talented chefs (and excellent bartenders!), Jose & Jesus. Every meal was on par with a 5 star restaurant. We still make the delicious verde salsa recipe Jose gave us. I also suggest you book the gem of a masseuse, Leo. I'm a yoga teacher and incredibly picky with who puts their hands on me and Leo was great - one of the best deep tissue massages I've had. The groundskeeper, Aurelio, was very friendly and helpful as was the cleaning lady... such wonderful people Marc has found to take care of his guests & home.
Not much more I can say other than if you've got a large group and you're looking for a place in Mexico, Casa Buena Suerte cannot be beat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn B
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good for any age and for larger groups”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend found this glorious home to rent. There's a reason Casa Buena Suerte is so highly rated--it is a dream vacation. I've written many reviews, but this one will get my highest rating. We were 5 couples and spent a glorious week there. I highly recommend it. If there were ten stars I would award them. Even though we were ten people, the layout of the home allowed us to be either together or private any time we wanted.

THE HOUSE is just perfect and decorated with wonderful art works. Once inside the gate you’re in a secluded enclave with its own section of beach. The rooms and beds are comfortable, with all but one with a view of the sea. Two bedrooms are accessible. We ate all of our meals outdoors on a shaded patio. Another patio is directly on the beach. There is a huge pool and many different areas to relax, including a wonderful rooftop for viewing the sunsets and shaded hammocks.. We had every service here that we could imagine. There is a big screen TV (which we never watched) and a bunch of games for that potential rainy day. There are 3 kayaks on the beach, hammocks and paddles. You get the picture! Everything you need! (p.s. There were no mosquitos).

THE FOOD is delicious. Two chefs—Jose and Rodolfo, were always in the kitchen tending to our every need. When we arrived they met us with margaritas, amazing ceviche and guacamole, which we continued to eat twice a day! They seemed willing to make anything, but we encouraged them to make the decisions. Their style of Mexican cooking was not spicy and suited us perfectly. Their breakfasts were absolutely sumptuous. We requested lighter lunches and they accommodated us. In the evening we chose to have drinks on the roof top and our chefs served us an array of appetizers—bringing them up to the roof for us. We had a birthday party one night and the staff strung balloons all around!

THE STAFF couldn’t be nicer. When we arrived, Hugo bounded out to meet us and it felt like we were reuniting with an old friend! He functions as a hotel manager, property caretaker, concierge and friend. It would not be an exaggeration to say that I miss him! We even had an emergency one day while out and about and when we arrived at the 24 hour care location he was there too! His ear is always to the ground and he checked up on us at various times throughout the day yet was never obtrusive. He is a treasure beyond belief and the owner of Casa Buena Suerte really had Buena Suerte the day they hired him. The staff he has assembled and even the driver he employed (Israel) was wonderful. One day we requested a taxi and he supplied us with Juan—probably the nicest taxi driver we have ever met. Hugo made our vacation! We were all in agreement on that.

SERVICES I was shocked that Sophia even did our laundry!! Above and beyond the call of duty! The rooms were cleaned each day. The owner is very involved and even called us after a slight emergency to make sure we were all ok.

RESTAURANTS are close and even though we hated to give up one of Jose’s meals, he did have to have one day off. We followed Hugo’s recommendation to eat at Sahara Café and it was magical. Better yet, we were able to walk to it.

SWIMMING is ok, but represents a bit of a challenge. There is a HUGE, stunning pool, but some of us found it to be shady and cold (in November). The bay water is warm, but there are a lot of rocks and seaweed. I have a few tips for you on this. One is to use the water shoes which the owners of the house have thoughtfully provided. The other is to walk down the road exactly 6 minutes (or along the beach) to a public beach that is still rather private and where the water is very clear. All in all, it’s not a big deal and well worth it.

SIGHTS Tulum ruins are only 15 minutes away. You can tour the site in about 2 hours and there are some ice cream shops and Starbucks there. I was thrilled with this site and very glad I didn’t miss it! Further away is Coba, which is also interesting, but takes about 45 minutes to get to. If you go to Tulum you can take a tram for about $2. to the entrance of the ruins. Don’t miss it! Ruins on the beach!
In short, everything has been thought of beforehand to make sure that you have a glorious stay at Casa Buena Suerte. This stems from the owner, Marc, who is very involved in seeing to his guests' needs. I hope I get to return some day.

TIP: Stop at Sam’s club on the way in to pick up anything special like wine or things your kids might want.
TIP: Bring your pesos with you. Get them at the airport because so many ATM machines do not work or don't have money in them.
TIP: FYI- Internet is spotty in Tulum. It won't matter that much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Glad you and your friends enjoyed Casa Buena Suerte.
We hope to see you back at CBS soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckyPG
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Photos on their website don't do this villa justice! Stunning!”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I took our three children, their spouses and children to the Yucatan to spend a glorious week at Casa Buena Suerte on Soliman Bay! Five of our grandchildren are 15-21 and we have a new granddaughter who is almost 9 months old and all had an incredible time! Our granddaughter Gracy loved the pool, the highchair where she had her first experience feeding herself fresh mangos, canteloupe and watermelon each morning and delicious fresh fish for dinner! We hired the chef for the week and ate like royalty every day! Would highly recommend using their chef because you don't have to worry about a thing. Your breakfast is ready whenever you ask for it, and for lunch we had fresh ceviche everyday! Dinners were superb including grilled steak and lobster our last night! The house manager, Hugo, was caring and attentive to all of our needs including stopping at the store in Tulum to get Gracy a float for the swimming pool since we forgot ours! The housekeeper Sophia is there each morning to make sure you have fresh towels and a clean room every day and the groundskeepers have the decks swept, pool cleaned and beach raked each morning before you get up. The pool is fantastic and we spent lots of hours in it. Such an incredible week with lots of relaxation in addition to a few outings including scuba diving, snorkeling the Sac Atun cenote, zip lining and a sunset sail one evening. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: We had Hurricane Earl pass just south of us during our stay so that was a little crazy - but not CSB's fault!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
So glad you took advantage of the great activities our area has to offer.. The scuba diving great and the cenotes are a "must-do."
Thanks for the terrific review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing