We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous house, wonderful cook, great location”
Villa Includes Chef, 6 Master-Suites, Roof Pool, Reg. Pool, Best Snorkeling and Kayaking and More!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Includes Chef, 6 Master-Suites, Roof Pool, Reg. Pool, Best Snorkeling and Kayaking and More!!!
Villa Includes Chef, 6 Master-Suites, Roof Pool, Reg. Pool, Best Snorkeling and Kayaking and More!!! View Looking North From Rooftop Living Room and Rooftop Pool.
Just Beautiful!!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
Villa Includes Chef, 6 Master-Suites, Roof Pool, Reg. Pool, Best Snorkeling and Kayaking and More!!!
Villa Includes Chef, 6 Master-Suites, Roof Pool, Reg. Pool, Best Snorkeling and Kayaking and More!!!
View Looking North From Rooftop Living Room and Rooftop Pool.
Just Beautiful!!!
Roof Pool - Spectacular for 14 People.  Best Snorkeling & Kayaking in the Bay!
Lovely Pool with Lush Gardens
Enough Space For Everyone to Sun, Splash or Relax with Bar and Bath.  360 Views
Roof Top Living Room with Bar, Roof Pool & Bath
Al-Fresco Dining for 14 People.  Swing in Hammocks and Enjoy The View!!!!
Huge Living Room with Seating for Everyone! US/Canadian TV.  Fix Drinks For All!
Belly-Up to the Bad Dog Bar and Make All Of Your Favorite Tropical Drinks!!
Dining Table Can Seat 14 People So Everyone Can Eat Together
Dining Room That Seats 14 People.  Everyone Is At The Same Table!!!
Downstairs Beachfront Master-Suite, King Size & Queen Size Beds, Bath & Views!
Downstairs South Beachfront with Private Bath
Downstairs Beachfront South Corner Bedroom with Private Bath.
Upstairs Beachfront Master-Suite South with Private Terrace, Bath & Views!
Upstairs Master-Suite North with Private Terrace, Bath & Views!!!
VIEW!!!  Upstairs Master-Suite North
Downstairs Master-Suite Jungle with Bath & Lovely Lush Garden & Pool Views
Upstairs Bedroom with Lovely Pool and Lush Garden Views & Bath Across the Hall
4 NEW BATHROOMS! Vessel Sinks, Beautifully Tiled Glass Showers.  Each Bedroom Has Own Bath!
Upstairs Living Room With Spectacular Views
Full Moon at Casa Caribena!
The Neighbors
Luxury Villa Includes The Cook, 2 Pools and Much More!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
TedLla
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house, wonderful cook, great location”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned from a week stay and enjoyed ourselves very much. Lily's food was wonderful and she and her "staff" took care of all our wants and needs. The house was wonderful, clean and well taken care of.

The location was fairly remote, but very near a really great restaurant (Blue Sky) that had a pretty good selection of food. They take credit cards, but the evening staff was resistant to it and we weren't sure why. Definitely a good place for lunch and dinner Saturday and Sunday night. It's a very short walk from the house.

There's a denote inside the "gated" community the house is in. It was nice and worth the experience for under $5 USD, but not fun fish etc... Across the street from that at the Casa Cenote restaurant, there is a small store if you need a soda, but very limited grocery items. The Casa Cenote bar was ok, we went down for drinks a couple times, but did not eat there since we saw mediocre reviews.

The beach right in front of the house is quite rocky, which you can see in the photos. Down the beach in either direction you can find a more sandy beach, but the entire bay is fairly rocky. The snorkeling was really good and the bay is fairly shallow, which is nice. Our week was very windy most days and made snorkeling less pleasant and hard to see.

The house has plenty of space and spots to get away. There were 11 of us and we typically didn't feel like we were on top of each other. BEWARE there is currently construction going on right next door and they worked a couple times until dark. The workers also stared at us in the pool a couple times that we noticed. They were quite loud as well, we didn't have a very peaceful vacation, seemed like we were in the city the entire time. Lisa, who was patient and great with all our questions (and very responsive), did not mention the construction to us prior to us getting there. She did ask us on Monday morning how the noise, was, but of course there was no work going on until 9am or so on Monday so we hadn't really noticed it much yet. We had wished we had some warning and frankly felt we should've gotten some sort of a discount, it was very noisy and like I mentioned, a few nights went until around 8-9pm.

The internet doesn't work well on the main floor, but does seem to work fairly well on the second floor. The breezes from the ocean are to die for. Everything was in working order and Lily and Manuel both helped out so much. She didn't want us lifting a finger. We're a pretty laid back group so we were find helping with garbages or changing out the water coolers. Any time Lily spotted us doing it she's yell for Manuel to come help.

There is a guard that comes around dusk and we saw him patrolling after dark. We presumed he stayed all night, but no idea. He didn't bother us and we never, ever felt unsafe.

We did not rent cars and stayed mostly on the property, but there are airport shuttles for around $40 a person (round trip) and taxis that can come out to get you for 200 pesos. Do not pay more than that, other than tip. The first set of taxis we had ripped us off big time. We argued with them, as did a bar owner in town, but we ended up paying rather than causing a scene.

This is not handicap accessible. Lots of stairs and different levels. We didn't have any kids with us, but kids would love the place, especially older kids.

Please don't hesitate to contact me if you have other questions. I know that Lisa answered a ton of our questions, but sometimes I know it's nice to ask someone that's just been there or is not an owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of beach and privacy
Liked least: Construction next door
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Caribeña. Just a few comments: As anyone knows who has spent any time on a coastline, it is forever changing. With strong winds, it can take away sand or build it up much further out. It depends on tides, flow, etc. Usually our beach is nice and sandy as is our coastline in the bay, and as our photos show.
In the Guest Book on the coffee table, we explain where to go for the best snorkeling in the bay, which is at the reef directly in front of the villa. Since there, it’s about 12 feet deep, the visibility is wonderful and there are tons of fish, sea fans, etc. If you stay in the shallow water, visibility will be diminished due to the churned up water from the wind. We recommend using the like jackets and go out to the 12 feet deep water and see some spectacular things!!!!
I wished you would have given me the opportunity to fix these very fixable things concerning the construction. When I called on Monday to make sure all was good and I brought up the construction, I asked to please let me know ANYTHING concerning it because the builder is a woman and is wonderful. No one let me know anything. The day I read this review, I called the builder and she constructed a barrier so that the pool has privacy. She also reconfirmed that the workers are supposed to stop at 6 PM. When I said that evidently wasn’t the case last week, she immediately spoke with her workers and she also moved all of them completely over to the other side of the lot to work this week, to show that she will take care of things to not disturb our guests. So, the noise is null. As I said, she is wonderful!!!!! We’ve not had any issues with this construction, with any of the other guests and we run back to back with guests every week. I only wish I would have been told, so everything would have been taken care of immediately, as it was the day I read this review.
The villa is constructed 100% of cement blocks, concrete and rebar, which are three things that don’t let WiFi go through very easily. We have extenders in many places also to help send the signal. This happens with this type of construction, which is very different than the sheet-rock walls that are in homes in the U.S. ALL of the walls in the villa are solid cement block & concrete walls.
Tipping taxi drivers is not customary in Mexico, unless they do something extra.
I hope this has clarified things more. Please let me know any questions you have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lvn4vacat...
Tappahannock, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Everything was even better than it looked online!”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from our stay at Casa Caribena and wow, what a place! First off, it was the cleanest vacation house that I have ever rented. Lily and her staff were meticulous about keeping everything spic and span, yet we barely even knew they were there. The photos online don't do the house justice. There are wonderful spaces at each level of the house to explore or curl up with a book, and it was designed to be enjoyed in any kind of weather. When it was very windy on the beach, we just made our way to the pool or walked up to Casa Cenote for a swim and visit with the resident coatis. When it rained, we hung out in the upstairs living room or under the thatched cover on the roof. And of course, when it was sunny and beautiful, we were right there on the manicured beach and comfy beach chairs or searching for treasures in the tidal pools! You can tell that the house was built with a lot of thought and love!

We enjoyed Blue Sky for a late lunch one day, but our favorite meals were the ones that Lily and her staff cooked. I wish we could have tried everything on the menu because each dish was so unique and tasty!! Lastly, Lisa was the most responsive and helpful owner I have ever dealt with. We started peppering her with questions months before our arrival and she always answered right back with good information and friendly responses. She even made a personal phone call to us during our stay to make sure everything was alright and to make sure we didn't have any additional questions. We loved our vacation and hope to come back very soon!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AveryC88
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful beachfront property”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I looked at quite a few vacation rentals in the Tulum area and ended up going with Casa Caribena as it was able to accommodate all 13 of us. With 6 bedrooms and 8 bathrooms, it was quite comfortable. Lily and the girls made wonderful breakfasts and dinners and kept the house very clean. I was worried about getting to Tulum, but it was very easy to get a cab, and the cab drivers were willing to wait for you at the grocery store, etc. There are also a few places you can walk to for food/drinks if needed. Lisa is very responsive and helpful, and checked in on us a few times while we were there. We hope to come back again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luc L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect vacation”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This Villa Is Perfect!!!!
We were fortunate enough to have picked Casa Caribeña for our vacation this
year. Since I was the person in charge finding the place, I can tell you
that I reviewed, closely, at least 10 other villas and even in reviewing,
Casa Caribeña came out on top. Casa Caribeña has the most reviews (5 Star)
of any villa in the Tulum area, and it includes the cook, has a roof top
pool besides the regular pool, and is priced so reasonably. I don’t know
why I kept looking???
Now, about our vacation… it was the best we’ve ever had. The villa is
incredibly clean and the girls kept it that way the entire week. It is
wonderfully spacious so if someone wanted to take a siesta, they could
without being disturbed. There is plenty of space for everyone to be
together on the beach, around the pool, on the roof, in the living room and
eating meals both inside and outside. Walking only 10 steps on the powdery
white sand beach to the Caribbean water was beautiful! This is
beachfront!!! The food was as delicious as all the previous reviews said.
The snorkeling in front of the villa was the best we saw in all of the
places we snorkeled. The kayaks were lots of fun and enabled those who
really don’t like to get wet, the opportunity to enjoy the water anyways.
The cenote that is a 3 minute walk from the villa was lovely! We didn't
have to leave Casa Caribeña to enjoy an entire week of wonderful things to
keep us busy.
We loved our stay at Casa Caribeña and we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malc_over...
Gunnison, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation spot for our entire family - young and old!”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here over Thanksgiving week - there were 13 of us ranging from 11 months to 79 years. It was the perfect spot for all of us - the location on the beach was ideal; right on the water with plenty of sand right in front of the home. We felt very safe - and also remote and secluded from the craziness of some of the mega-resorts. The snorkeling was great out on the reef - though the wind came in for the last few days. The accessibility to exploring the Yucatan was ideal as well - we went to Chichen Itza one day (about 2 hours away), explored Los Dos Ojos Cenote, and visited Muyil Ruins and then floated the Mayan canals (so cool).

What was the best? Coming home every evening to an amazing meal prepared by Lily and her staff. We decided to stay in every night and eat because her cooking was so great. And you can't beat the convenience. Chicken mole, enchiladas, fajitas....the grilled fish was seriously the best fish I've every had. Thank you, Lily! They kept the house immaculate while we were there and yet I feel like we never saw them.

The house had lots of fun board games for the evenings....plenty of sand toys and floaties for the kids (and adults!)...the a/c in the rooms was so important for night time.

Prior to our trip, Lisa was amazing - she was so patient in answering all of our questions and provided detailed information and tips while we were planning (months, weeks, days and hours before!). Such a wonderful resource to have. Thank you!

We are already trying to plan a time to come back and stay at Casa Caribena. I can't recommend it enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing