We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing!”
Review of Dirty Harry

Dirty Harry
Ranked #190 of 1,527 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 15
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 April 2018

After reading all the great reviews we couldn't wait to get there and try the food. Some of the people in our group had been there when it was dirty harry's and bragged about it, now all they could do is apologize for one of the worst meals we had eaten! The chicken was so tough one person had to pick it out of their burrito just to eat it!
The food was very dry and no flavor, service was not good either.
I would not recommend this restaurant as there are so many other great places to eat.
It's a shame when a great restaurant changes and goes so far downhill!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brimcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2018

We ate at Dirty Harry's last year when we visited Playa. This year we couldn't wait to go back! After some digging around we were informed that they had moved across the street to bigger premises. We went during the week for dinner to avoid crowding. We ordered our favorite the piri piri chicken and it came with 2 sides. I didn't see any vegetables just rice and potatoes. Mine came with fried potatoes and rice. My husband ordered German potatoes and rice. When we received our orders he had the exact same potatoes as me! The chicken was extremely dry and no flavor and certainly no piri piri at all. A huge disappointment for us. The new restaurant is more of a sports bar with very loud televisions and people sitting around drinking beer. I hardly saw anyone order food. Needless to say we will not return to Smokehouse on our future visits to Playa.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunseeker1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

We had a delicious meal at this restaurant. Christian was our waiter and he was extremely helpful with the menu choices. I tried the half baked chicken with German potatoes and cole slaw. The chicken was moist and cooked perfectly. The potatoes were so good and the slaw was freshly made and crunchy. My friend had the ribs and said they were perfectly cooked. Our meal was inexpensive. The ambience is quite nice with outdoor covered seating. There are some big screen TVs with soccer and football on at the bar but they were unobtrusive. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Maxkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner at Dirty Harry’s and the service was great! Harry attended to our table and recommended rotisserie chicken and schnitzel. The green salad was very fresh and the vinaigrette dressing perfect! We ordered schnitzel with mushroom gravy and schnitzel with an egg on top! Schnitzel came with homemade sauerkraut and roasted potatoes, Marvelous!!! Best sauerkraut ever!
We enjoyed our dinner so much we returned a second time during our week vacation!!
We are already looking forward to returning next year and visiting Harry’s new restaurant “the smokehouse” 2 thumbs up for Harry!!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Robinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stopped here for dinner based on reviews. We had the German Pork dinner, Shrimp Scampi, Pork Schnitzel and Chicken and mixed greens salad. Food was excellent tasting with great presentation. Meals came with small mixed green salad which was light and refreshing. Prices were very reasonable. Will repeat.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cindy1sumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Harry also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dirty Harry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing