We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, convenient location ”
Review of Popol Vuh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Popol Vuh
Ranked #135 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful. The property needs some work however for a short stay it is great. You can’t beat its location super convenient, short walk to ADO station and ferry pier, right on the middle of 5th Avenue with plenty of food choices and bars. A few steps from the hostel and the beach is right there. Will definitely will use it again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Drolu08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

This place is about a minute (if that from the beach) and next to so may places that cost a lot more money. It was definitely clean and had everything we needed. Beds were fine, AC and fridge worked. Not sure if TV worked or not as I never used it. The kitchen is shared so you can save yourself some money by just making your own coffee in the morning and making a little breakfast. You can get a bus from the airport and then walk from bus to here in about five minutes, You can take a cab from here (or walk to Wal-Mart) to stock up on essentials like beer and again save yourself money. I packed beer in my backpack everyday and then headed to the beach. Both my companion and I were very happy here. This is not a posh place but it doesn't have a posh price tag. This is located next to everything and hard to believe that just a street up is so busy and noisy. Couldn't hear a thing in our room. And the WifFI was better then I've had had much more expensive places. Including Hotels in Canada and US.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Popol vuh is a great place to chill out and enjoy the beach. Its only 30 sec from the beach and 30sec from the shopping street. You can also reach a lot of good local restaurants 2 blocks from there. The rooms are nice and they clean your room everyday. Outside they have a few hammocks where you can read or just relax and cool down from the heat :) There is also an outdoor kitchen with a refrigerator and a stove. Its clean and nice to sit there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a great time there :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This place is fantastic , not high end at all but smack bang in the centre of everything and 15 metres to the sea , you get a double storey beach hut with some fans and mosquito nets​ and there's also a communal kitchen so what else could you possibly need. Apparently a hammock garden , well that's covered also

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Papey2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Great location close to all area attractions, close to restaurants, shopping, ferry boat to cozumel & super close to the beach. Fabian is your man to answer any questions you may have....Pura Vida Amigos

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jwmominee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Bambu Suites
Hotel Bambu Suites
#140 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
109 reviews
0.3 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#72 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
705 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
#119 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Pension San Juan
Hotel Pension San Juan
#148 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
57 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#142 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
563 reviews
0.4 km away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#113 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popol Vuh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popol Vuh

Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Entre 5a Avenida y Zona Federal Maritima S/N, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popol Vuh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Popol Vuh, one of the first affordable accommodation, nestled in the best location in Playa del Carmen. Half a block from Fifth Avenue and steps from one of the best beaches in the city. But being in the best location does not make it noisy, on the contrary, Popol Vuh is an oasis that will make you forget you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The garden surrounded by palm trees will offer you a feeling of peace and tranquility you are looking to relax. We have a kitchen that has everything you need to prepare your own food, as well as to organize a barbecue grill in the garden and a speaker where you can connect your iPod or any device and become the dj. We do not have a pool, but ¡hey!, remember that the beach is just a few steps. We have 2 wireless networks so you're always connected through to your mobile, laptop or tablet. At the reception you can print your boarding passes or anything you need. You only have to ask. Our staff will be always thoughtful to your needs and will provide you with the best tips for you to know the best places in town, you can reserve and buy any tour with them. Popol Vuh is for all types of travelers, whether you're traveling alone, with family, with friends or family. Our restaurant bar is located right in front and you can enjoy a wide variety of traditional Mexican dishes, cold beers, margaritas and enjoy your favorite sports. We have 14 private rooms, we have a place for everyone. There are six rooms with air-conditioning, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar; Three cabanas with private bathrooms and fans and five cabanas with fans and shared bathroom. Service daily cleaning and parking for up to three cars (if previously requested). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Popol Vuh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Popol Vuh Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Bed And Breakfast Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing