We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa del Carmen on the cheep”
Review of Popol Vuh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Popol Vuh
Ranked #137 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2015

You get what you pay for. More than reasonably priced, Nice friendly staff. Outdoor kitchen and Palm trees in courtyard with 3 hammocks. Room wise, 3 options, rooms with. Fan 1 window and double bed, communal bathroom with 4 showers, 2 toilets and 2 sinks. Shared by 6 units. 5 palapas with 2 beds one up a ladder, one down, misquito net and fan. Small covered porch with light and table w/ chairs and bathroom. Not much privacy, can hear "everything"! Our favorite was....Large room with one double and a twin....wish it was king...but..private bath with enclosed shower, toilet. Sink and storage with small fridge, flat screen, air conditioning and 2 windows. Not fancy..but clean. Noisy at night due to 'bad boys' club next door. Loud till midnight. Once u leave the courtyard you are on the beach. Other side of street by entrance has Polpo Vu restaurant. Incredible and reasonably priced food. We ate breakfast there every day. Fresh squeezed OJ, great service, fab fish tacos. Walk on beach 1 min. from there. Down to the earth service. Meet people from all over the world. We were there 2 x. Stayed for 2 weeks this winter. Casual!

Room Tip: Get the best room opp with ac it's still cheep when compared to others this close to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2015

This place has one of the best locations in Playa Del Carmen. It is one block from the ADO bus station, a few steps to the beach, and right off the main avenue walking street in playa del Carmen. I came from Belize, and arrived really early in the morning, I was tired, but luckily they let me check in early so I could get some sleep. Fabian was super helpful, he answered all my questions, and help me track down some flowers for my girlfriend. The courtyard is a nice place to have a drink and chat with some fellow travelers. There are hammocks set up, and they have speakers that you can hook up your phone or ipod to play music. There is a common kitchen and and stove stop, and stuff to make your own food. This place is perfect for the price, the rooms and bathroom were clean. There are two beds in most rooms, all rooms open up into the courtyard. I will stay at this place next I am in playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chicagowrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

This "hostel" doesn't offer dorms, only private rooms. However, most of the rooms have 2 big beds so you can get the best deal by going with a couple friends or a family together. It has a very good, relaxing vibe. There are hammocks hung in the common area under the shade of palm trees in the sand. The common kitchen was recently remodelled and is adequately stocked. There are only 2 toilets and 3 showers for all of the guests and they are co-ed but I only had to wait a few minutes one time to use them, otherwise it wasn't an inconvenience. I feel like it should have been a little cheaper based on the condition of the buildings and the shared bathrooms but its reasonable. Fabian, one of the staff, was very friendly and helpful. They had a nice barbeque for all the guests one night that was only 70 pesos and the food was delicious and plentiful. Overall a very good stay. We originally booked only one night but ended up staying for five nights. Its right between the beach and 5th avenue so you can't beat the location. I would stay here again

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

A very good location just behind the beach and close to the bus station to go to the airport and boat to Cozumel. Bungalows are clean located in a garden with friendly people around. Its a place to go!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piermul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We found Popol Vuh an ideal place to stay with our two teenage daughters. The location allows for independence among all family members to either spend time at the beach, wander through Playa del Carmen on foot, or relax in the lovely courtyard, which is usually quiet during the day, but in the evening offers the opportunity to meet other guests of all ages from all over the world. Alex and Fabian are very friendly and organized and willing to help out in any way. The cleaning staff do an excellent job as well. We found Popul Vuh’s restaurant to have great food, while being very reasonably priced compared to the restaurants right along 5th Avenue.

Room Tip: Popol Vuh offers a wide variety of rooms, which is explained on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 km away
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik
#136 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
135 reviews
1.2 km away
Angelo's Hotel
Angelo's Hotel
#115 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
124 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Eclipse
Hotel Eclipse
#158 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#143 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
565 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#83 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
1.2 km away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#197 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popol Vuh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popol Vuh

Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Entre 5a Avenida y Zona Federal Maritima S/N, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popol Vuh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Popol Vuh, one of the first affordable accommodation, nestled in the best location in Playa del Carmen. Half a block from Fifth Avenue and steps from one of the best beaches in the city. But being in the best location does not make it noisy, on the contrary, Popol Vuh is an oasis that will make you forget you are in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The garden surrounded by palm trees will offer you a feeling of peace and tranquility you are looking to relax. We have a kitchen that has everything you need to prepare your own food, as well as to organize a barbecue grill in the garden and a speaker where you can connect your iPod or any device and become the dj. We do not have a pool, but ¡hey!, remember that the beach is just a few steps. We have 2 wireless networks so you're always connected through to your mobile, laptop or tablet. At the reception you can print your boarding passes or anything you need. You only have to ask. Our staff will be always thoughtful to your needs and will provide you with the best tips for you to know the best places in town, you can reserve and buy any tour with them. Popol Vuh is for all types of travelers, whether you're traveling alone, with family, with friends or family. Our restaurant bar is located right in front and you can enjoy a wide variety of traditional Mexican dishes, cold beers, margaritas and enjoy your favorite sports. We have 14 private rooms, we have a place for everyone. There are six rooms with air-conditioning, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar; Three cabanas with private bathrooms and fans and five cabanas with fans and shared bathroom. Service daily cleaning and parking for up to three cars (if previously requested). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Popol Vuh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Popol Vuh
b&b Popol Vuh Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Popol Vuh Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing