We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few and Far Between”
Review of Cocos Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocos Cabanas
Ranked #111 of 215 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2017

I cannot say enough good things about Coco's Cabanas. I have stayed here a few times over the past 5 years and keep coming back. It's the perfect getaway - whether a long weekend or a full vacation. The owners are incredible; from the way they treat their customers to their staff. Nestled among sterile, all-inclusive resorts, there are very few places left like this. The rooms are comfortable, the food is incredible, and the hospitality is spot-on. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank genevievelfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We came here after three days in Tulum vía a colectivo and a taxi.

The site is small, only five cabañas, which lends itself to very personal service. There was only one other couple staying there when we were so it was absolutely quiet at night.

We borrowed beach cruisers and went to the beach (it is about a 3 minute ride which I thought was fun). The beach is pretty rocky in a lot of places and full of folks from the all-inclusive place next door. I still napped just fine on my towel.

I am embarrassed to admit that we tried to watch tv while in this amazing place, but we couldn’t get it to work. Oh well.

We stayed in the red room, which had a king sized bed, mini fridge, the aforementioned tv, and a bathroom. The room also had a beautiful overhead ceiling fan and AC that we didn’t need.

The room was clean and smelled of my grandmas soap, which I loved.

The restaurant was absolutely amazing and lots of other folks were here for dinner. The restaurant was busy, but not overly so - very enjoyable.

Dinner came with chips and three different sauces. We ate two rounds of the green sauce it was so good with a bit of the spicy sauce. We shared the chicken cordon bleu (so good!) and the potato, bacon, and blue cheese pizza made in their brick oven (as good as any fancy pizza place I’ve ever been to). For dessert, we “shared” (I ate it all) the chocolate cake with eggnog - the eggnog was so good I got an extra drink of it for a nightcap.

Overall, a very peaceful, friendly place with an awesome restaurant.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zilmacaronigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos C, Propietario at Cocos Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear zilmacaronigirl
We thank you for the Time you spend with us and we are delighted to hear from you comments that you enjoyed your stay at our little tropical resort . also it is nice and motivating to hear that you liked our Food , service and hospitality.we try hard to keep up with our professional work in order to keep our valuable clients happy.
We checked the TV and it's working now ,sorry for any inconvenience.
we hope we can serve you on the next visit to the Riviera Maya.
Saludos
Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We spent the week in Mexico and visited the restaurant here for two nights. The wait staff and head chef are extremely friendly and greet you like family. They remembered everyone in my family and our food preferences and allergies as well. The pizzas are made in an authentic wood fired stove that has been continuously lit for 16 years. The grouper fish and other authentic dishes are very well made, presented nicely, and worthy of more expensive restaurants. It’s open air seating so it’s not too loud. In November it was nice and cool to sit outside with the breeze cooling us off. If you can find it ( it’s a bit off the beaten path) it is well worth the trip for a very friendly meal.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos C, Propietario at Cocos Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Andrew L
Thank you so much for your valuable time and comments. we are very happy that you enjoyed our restaurant,food and service3. It is a great motivation for us and our staff to continue with our work and would be delighted to serve you again on your next VISIT to the Riviera Maya.
saludos
Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Spent one night in one of these cute cabanas, would have stayed longer if we could. Clean room, warm (but salty) water in the shower, comfortable bed, well maintained property, good bar and restaurant, GREAT service.

Lived in many different bungalows in tropical climate (mainly SE Asia), and they at all a bit humid with a light smell of mildew. Also this one, but it is clean and bug free with well working AC and refrigerator.

As others have remarked: the property is small and a bit isolated, but that's the way we like it! Taxi to town is 17 USD. Never tried the beach. The pool is inviting and looks clean and well maintained.

Thank you to the great staff and Molly the dog for contributing in making our cenotes dive trip such a wonderful experience!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank linnogmagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos C, Gerente at Cocos Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you for you time to let us know your opinion
We will consider the points you mentioned to give a better stay in your future visit with us
Regards
Silvia Roth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

I loved my stay here! I was greeted with an onslaught of smiles and relaxed, welcoming staff. The food was excellent and it's just a two minute bike ride to a gorgeous beach. The cabana was adorable and clean and no worries on the air conditioning, the humidity and rain stayed out of the little abode.

Room Tip: All the cabanas are adorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Destiny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos C, Propietario at Cocos Cabanas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

We thank you for taking the time to give us your comment.
We appreciate the details your point and we we love to see you again.
Regards
Silvia Roth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.2 km away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#109 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
951 reviews
6 km away
Cache Hotel Boutique
Cache Hotel Boutique
#113 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
308 reviews
6.1 km away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#96 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
221 reviews
10.6 km away
Amarte Hotel
Amarte Hotel
#5 of 6 in Playa Maroma
188 reviews
5.2 km away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#64 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocos Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Cabanas

Address: Xcalacoco, Lte. 2 ,Punta Bete, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $96 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocos Cabanas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lush tropical gardens, Cocos Cabanas has 6 cozy Bungalows (3 Queen ,1 King and 2 Junior suites), an outdoor Swimming pool and is just 10 minutes walking or 3 by bike from the beach. All bungalows have A/C, Ceiling Fans and iPod docking stations. The Junior suites come with King Bed and a Futon , Kitchenette, Fridge, Micro, Coffee-maker and all Boutique amenities .The bungalows are built in a typical local style with thatched roofs made of dried and woven palm-tree leaves. They all have tiled flooring and private bathrooms with a shower or bath. Cocos Cabanas offers both Mexican and international cuisine, including pizzas made in Coco's wood-fired oven(Lobster-Pizza), grilled Shrimp, Lobster and Steaks and a range of Mexican appetizers and Main dishes such as Mole poblano, Guacamole,Mixiote, Ceviche or Quesadillas. Guests can relax in the sun loungers or hammocks by the pool, go snorkeling or explore some of the nearby Mayan ruins, including Tulum or Chichen Itza. Ferries to the island of Cozumel leave from Playa del Carmen, about a 20-minute drive from the resort.Just Relax we do the rest!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cocos Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco`s Cabanas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Cocos Cabanas Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing