We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Maya del Mar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel El Punto(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
El Secreto Hotel by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Pelicano Inn(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Playa Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lunata(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pension San Juan(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Maya Bric Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Thompson Beach House(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Siesta Fiesta Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveller rating
975
485
121
46
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
485
121
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolbalcony roomperfect locationfourth floorsmall hotelsmall poolhotel is greatrooms are largeair conditionerferry to cozumelnight lifeocean viewking bedour honeymoonavebeachmexico
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Illusion Boutique was an hotel that gave great service and were very friendly. The rooms are quite big, and clean. We were on Isla Holbow the first week. Wheen we came to Illusion and told it was our honeymoon, the nice concierge tried to upgrade us to the nice 4.floor. Unfortunately it was full, bur he gave us a decent room in the third floor. An extra + to the room maids who make the most sweet decoration of the towels every day. The bed spread with flowers etc. Towels, coffee whenever you needed ets. Apart from the hotel, Playa del Carmen is an utterly horrible place. It`s no signs AT ALL of anything authentic about the place, tourists are absolutely everywhere, and the noise is so loud, it feels like being trapped in a mixture of technoclubs and rave even if you just want to go for a swim. Eating out was a joke, every little restaurant trying to overkill the neighbor´s place playing loud music. Shame, this place was probably a paradise before the tourists killed it. It is the worst place we have ever been to, but at least the hotel was nice. And was it elsewhere, we wouldn`t doubt going back.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank helvig o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is in a great location between 5th and the beach. The staff and management were very helpful. We had an issue with our air conditioning our first night, the GM had us move into the room directly next door and was super helpful. We stayed a week and could not have been happier. We do not look for much in a hotel as long as it's super clean, and has a great location...

The breakfast is simple and not impressive but nothing to complain about. There are so many great restaurants nearby there is no reason to eat at the hotel.

I highly recommend illusion, and if there is one thing I would advise them to change is their signage. The Blue Awning marking the entrance says nothing about illusion or XPerience anywhere on it.

We will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hankstefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Lovely hotel. The staff was friendly and courteous. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn-Fe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I had three rooms for myself and my 20-something children. The location is fantastic. The rooms were good size, very clean, and secure. We felt immersed in a laid-back beach culture. 5th avenue is within 30m and the beach within 60m. The Concierge desk is manned by Mahatma and a colleague and gives receipts under the company name "Karma". We arranged airport pickup and two days of activities through Mahatma (the hotel put us in contact with him after I sent an email inquiring about airport pickup). No surprises and everything happened as advertised. Very fun.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here for 9 days and loved it. I have never stayed at a hotel with a staff like this. Every time we were even near an employee, they smiled and said, "hola" as if we were a long time friend of theirs. We never really had a problem but once the bottle of water on our floor was empty so i called the front desk and it was replaced very fast (they provide free bottled water!). Like other reviews have already said, the location is great. When finding the hotel, look for the blue awning that says "Xperience Hotels", it is the only name we could find. We flew into Cancun, took the ADO bus into town and only had to walk 4 blocks to the hotel. If you want to lay in the sun the 4th floor is great for that. The pool is small and cold, no one uses it. Plan on going to the beach, it is very close. The beach is huge and great for playing in the water. The hotel will give you tickets to a club on the beach for use of the lounger chairs for the day. The place just asks that you buy around $10 US from them worth of food during the day. We actually only did this once as we would just go to the beach to play and the 4th floor of the hotel to lay out. Our only complaint about the hotel is that the bed was hard. Unfortunately, most hotels in Mexico get their beds from the same place. We stayed at the Mayan Palace if feb and the beds were hard there too. We have stayed in Mexico several times and haven't found soft beds yet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAH3488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews