We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2014Nicky...
Irvine, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a wonderful stay at Coral 401. Getting there was easy - I recommend just having TeAmoPlaya team set up the airport transfers for you. The guy was waiting for us each way in a comfortable minibus, very reliable.

On arrival, I don`t think the pictures really do it justice - the apartment is beautiful! Spotlessly clean and wonderfully decorated. There were a few tiny things that made it not quite perfect - but they were so small and inconsequential they didn`t really matter. For example, the wall holders for the air conditioning remotes were partially broken so we had to be careful that they didn`t drop when we hung them up. As long as you hang them carefully they are fine. The light and fan in the second bedroom was broken - so no big deal, we just used the bed side lights and the air conditioning. The shower in the second bathroom didn`t drain well because the drain was set slightly high in the floor - so we just kicked the water into the drain when we were done, or mostly used the other bathroom which was like a spa with a big shower and soaking tub! None of these things are a big deal. Not when you have a beautiful kitchen, barbecue, coffee terrace, private rooftop and fabulous private jacuzzi to enjoy! Beds were REALLY comfy! Wifi was very useful and fast, and TV was a godsend - it babysat the children with a movie every night so we could enjoy the view! Safe worked well and was VERY useful. With 5 of us there we appreciated the dishwasher and the maids that came every couple of days too!

When we had any problems - for example after a few days the jacuzzi on the roof needed to be cleaned and refilled - Goe was on the ball immediately and got it sorted for us. She was easily contactable at any time and that was great, knowing we have someone we can go to with any questions or problems. Her English was flawless, thank God, because my Spanish is limited to counting to ten and saying thank you! All in all, considering the above, I would give the apartment itself 9 1/2 out of 10! Not quite perfect, but what it had going for it by far outweighed anything else.

As for the building - we were super impressed by the security and the friendliness of the staff there. They were unobtrusive, but around if you needed them. Needed new water (there is a water tank in the apartment)? No problem - they delivered and set it up for us for about $3. We GREATLY appreciated the night we arrived, exhausted after a long journey with young children, opening the fridge to find there were some ice cold Mexican beers and a little welcome note! 11 out of 10 for that! :) The pool was absolutely lovely! Yes, there were a few tiles missing but again - the view, the depth, the water temperature, the cleanliness and the seating - everything else was perfect! I`m not going to let a few missing tiles distract me from having a good time!

The beach had a surprising amount of seaweed on it - not what we were expecting after looking at pictures of PDC in general. Again, no big deal for us, we just picked through it and it was fine, but if you are expecting crystal clear waters they are not here. Maybe it was just the time of year we went? Other than the seaweed it was lovely though.

The location of the building is great - you are just a 2 minute walk to Quinta Avenida without it being right in your face, so to speak. And right on the beach, the view is outstanding. There was a noisy-ish nightclub nearby that we could hear from the rooftop and a little bit from inside the second bedroom. If you are super sensitive to noise you might want to take some earplugs, but it really isn`t that bad. During the day there is construction going on on the lot next door which kind of ruins the ambience somewhat when you are trying to enjoy the scenery and relax, but again it didn`t come close to ruining things for us.

Overall, we had a wonderful time, the apartment was lovely, and the only reason I even mention the broken things is in the spirit of absolute honesty. Anyone reading this can probably tell I`m scraping around to find anything wrong at all! We will definitely be back, and wouldn`t hesitate to recommend this place, we will almost certainly be staying here again.

Finally a big shout out to Goe - she was really helpful, friendly and sweet. We were even talking about coming down here for a month or so at some point for a long break, and if we did, we would stay here again. Thank you Goe and TeAmoPlaya - we had a wonderful time! We will see you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Maybe the noise from the nightclub but only because I`m super sensitive!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Dear Nicky good afternoon and thank you for your kind review.
We are glad to know that our service and the location made your stay happy.
We really hope that you will come back to visit us soon, it will be a plesure for us to receive you again.
Have a great evening,
best wishes,
Marissa Leos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbytatt...
denton, tx
1 review
“Need pool service”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Clean the seaweed off the beach. Wasn't a problem for other resorts yet yall did little to nothing for the 7 days we were there. And replace the missing tile on your pool. Yall got enough workers. Disappointed. Security guards around pool are rude expect for Nicoli.
Room was fine.
Best thing about El Faro is the location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
Dear derbytattoo good afternoon and thank you for your reviews.
We are extremely sorry to read that you left your apartment disappointed.
As you probably know, we are a vacation rental company, we do not own the building, just a few units.
We already spoken to EL FARO staff askingthem to improve their service.
We really hope to have you back in your next trip to Playa del Carmen and give you a great experience.
Bests,
Marissa Leos
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and rooftop deck.
Liked least: The noisy air conditioner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Dear guest,

I want to deeply thank you for the time you have invested in sharing your vacation experience with readers of this important internet site. We are very happy to see that your stay with us, was good in every way.

We hope to have the honor and opportunity to see you once again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Marissa Leos
Property Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jdvc
Atherton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but underwhelming for the price”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had a good stay at El Faro in Playa Del Carmen. We were there to see Mayan ruins, swim in the cave rivers, see the sea turtles, and enjoy the beach and Quinta Avenida. El Faro was generally what was represented on Trip Advisor. It seemed like one of the nicest places to stay in the downtown area of PDC. There is very little in the way of service since it's a condo residence, but the units are nice and the pool and beach area are comfortable and appealing. We hardly interacted with anyone from El Faro, but they were helpful and friendly. The condo we stayed in is owned by an investor group, and their people were helpful (thanks, Juan and Corazon!). I did have to call a few times to request more paper towels or to replace the filtered water supply or remind them that we were supposed to get clean towels every other day. Upon request, they followed-up promptly.

My biggest issue is that we were paying U.S. resort prices for less than U.S. quality resort services. The same goes for just about everything in PDC. Maybe it was because it's the high season, so we were paying top dollar for everything while the service levels aren't quite up to par because the system is stressed by the number of people being served. I love visiting Mexico and Latin America generally (lived in South America for a couple of years when I was younger) and really enjoy the Latin culture, but it seems that getting a local experience at a local price requires going to more remote areas than the major resort towns. In any event, it was a good trip. But I am not dying to go back and would rather venture to elsewhere next time.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community; it was a pleasure to read your review and we are sure this has helped many travelers confirm that TeAmoPlaya is the perfect rental for their vacation.
We are pleased that you loved it here; we will share your positive comments with our staff; it encourages them to continue working hard.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at any time.

Best regards,

Marissa Leos,
Property Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thank YOU, Steven (: It was great to see you and Sally. Hope to see you back soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing