We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Stay Still Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda del Caribe
Ranked #121 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This was our second stay and after the first in May 2010 we posted a very positive review. Still wonderful this time around and we were on the third floor street side with a small balcony which had a view if the Caribbean and Cozumel. We had a spacious colorfully decorated room with a large bath. The staff and service was outstanding and the off season rate was MX $600 (about $55 USD). Be aware this 34 room hotel fills up even in off season and you should know that we met a couple who booked thru a third party sevice and the hotel had no record of that. So book on the hotel's site www.haciendadelcaribe.com to be sure. The breakfast bar was not open during this visit. One delightful feature in our third floor room was a ceiling cupola with stained glass and a rustic chandelier. Also, note that there is no lift and that you should not confuse this property with the Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctorpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

Last year we fell in love with Hacienda del Caribe, so when we started talking about another trip to Playa del Carmen, we knew we were going to stay here again. Although Hacienda del Caribe is not directly on the beach, it is only a one block walk to the clear, warm, gentle waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Since summer is pretty much off season, our room was only $50 USD, the same price we paid last year. We had a very spacious room with a king size bed and a balcony. The whole hotel is kept spotless. The staff is very friendly and even said they were happy to listen to my pitiful attempts at Spanish. The courtyard with the small pool is a perfect spot to relax after a day on the beach. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but it is on 2nd Street a few steps back from Avenida Cinco where you will find lots of restaurants and bars. If you should happen to be on a tight budget like we were, just wander away from Avenida Cinco to 10th Ave. or 15th Ave. and you will find a variety of good restaurants where you can eat for $5 or $6 per person. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crawley20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I enjoyed the Hotel Hacienda del Caribe. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is about 1 block from the main street 5th Ave - on 2nd Street Norte. It is 1 block away from the ADO bus station ($11.00 to airport) and 4 blocks to the Cozumel ferry($15 to Cozumel). There is a small reception desk with friendly staff. They have free wifi in the main lobby and courtyard - but it is not strong enough for rooms wifi. I got a room on the 2nd floor and did not have any problem with noise. The air conditioner worked well.
It had the basics and a small pool - but I did not use the pool. I spent most of my time at the beach - and also out at restaurants and cafes out on 5th Ave.
Parking can be an issue in the area since it is by the ferry to Cozumel, and is a very busy area, but there are parking lots with 1 block.
If you want a cheap option that is clean and comfortable and on a budget you will be happy. It is simple and a budget hotel that I would recommend to solo or couple travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We may have just been unlucky, but had no hot water for 2 days. We were told if we wanted a hot shower we could walk 5 blocks to their sister hotel!!! Pool could do with a clean, sheets and towels had some interesting stains on them (we tried not to think too much about why...) and despite paying the hotel DIRECTLY at the time of check-in, they insisted they couldn't provide a receipt because we had (only) reserved the room via this site. Not sure if they get what a receipt actually is. Good location though (upside?).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisOz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We spent one night in this hotel because it was the most affordable option for a one night stop as we headed to Calakmul. The hotel is well situated and only a few steps away from Avenida 5. We booked the room through Hotels.com and specifically requested a king size bed. Upon arrival, I was told that the only available room had two queen beds and the room was on the first floor facing the pool/lobby. This was irritating as I had called and confirmed that we would be able to get a king size bed and that our late arrival would not be a problem.

Good Points:
The room was very clean and fairly comfortable. This is a good option if you are looking for a clean budget hotel that is on Avenida 5. I personally wouldn’t pay more than $45 USD/room at this hotel. We paid $65 USD through hotels.com which is way more than we should have paid. The reception desk staff was polite. The lobby is cozy, nice, and comfortable with a small pool.

Negative Points:
There is no parking for the hotel so if you have a car it makes things more complicated as parking is difficult to find in Playa. We had to run the shower for about 15 minutes with the hot water knob turned all the way in order to get the hot water running. I would stay away from the rooms on the bottom floor facing the pool as they have huge windows facing the pool and lobby. There are curtains for privacy but you won’t have any privacy if you open your curtains. Wifi at the hotel wasn’t working while we were there so this added to the list of annoyances. Luckily we were only there for one night.

I would rather pay more money and stay somewhere else next time we are in Playa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lemmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#94 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
587 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#144 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
255 reviews
0.2 km away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
El Acuario Hotel
El Acuario Hotel
#90 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
266 reviews
1.1 km away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#96 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
215 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#64 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda del Caribe

Address: Calle 2 Norte 141 | Entre 5ta Avenida y Avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $47 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel characterized by a Mexican style created to meet the needs of the traveler who appreciates the best quality, privacy and personalized service in a world full of details with flavored Mexico. Hacienda del Caribe is a small hotel so that each of our 34 rooms have charm and personality. We invite you to discover Hacienda del Caribe where serving you is a privilege! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hacienda del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Caribe Hotel
Hacienda Del Caribe Playa Carmen
Hotel Hacienda Del Caribe Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing