We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 241
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
USD 383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 440
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
USD 179
USD 126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 402
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
USD 202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
USD 1,008
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
USD 1,771
USD 984
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
USD 879
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
181
220
60
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
220
60
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenjoyed our staycomfortable roomfamily hotelstayed here for nightscouple of nightspleasant staymain pooldeskpoolsbeachpdcrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I love the hotel decor! It has a very homey feel to it. The front desk people were always very helpful and nice. Located in a convenient location at a walking distance to all the entertainment in Playa del Carmen. There's a couple of minor details which should be addressed to ensure customer satisfaction. For starters the room needs to be aired out! Upon arrival ours smelled like mildew. Some of the walls need to be painted. I disliked the height of the sink...not all of us are tall. Lastly, the waitress and cooks need to be more attentive to ALL CLIENTS!! It's a shame that we had to experience discrimination from our own race. Just because you don't have blonde hair, blue eyes and light colored skin don't assume we don't have money for tips. I'm a paying customer and should be treated just like the rest. Our last day Dec 4, they didn't acknowledge us and we had to approach them. The lights weren't even turned on for us until causian people entered the restaurant.
!Enbes de andar chismiando, los del restaurant deberían de atender a los clientes como debe de que acer¡

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank traviesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasgolondrinas, Gerente at Hotel Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear traviesa,
Thank you so much for your comment, we are glad that you love the hotel decor and also we are pleased that you have found our staff very helpful.

We appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding the rooms, we are already taking care of those details, you will be able to see it in your next visit.

We are also deeply sorry your feeling about we discriminate guests, believe us that is not our intention, we receive guest from everywhere and we do not make any kind of distintions.

We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you in your next visit to Playa.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. The rooms were good, with two double beds and spacious. The staff were friendly. We thought we had breakfast included but after a breakfast there one morning we were told we needed to pay 130mxn pesos. There were also building works ongoing the whole time we were there, with builders wolf-whistling or making comments to me. This was could be disturbing at times. We were not made aware of the building works before we arrived. Also the pool gets no sun light all day and it is not warmed. I barely saw it used with little space around it to sit at. The location is okay, with a ten minute walk to 5th avenue and fifteen minute walk to the beach.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasgolondrinas, Gerente at Hotel Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Christina B,
Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you consider our staff friendly and that you like the rooms.

We do are doing some renovations and we would like to inform you that those works are over, so will be pleased to host you in your next visit to Playa.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, we had a room on the ground floor. So the pool was just outside. Too bad we couldn't use the pool as they were doing some reconstruction work. Even if they weren't, there are hardly any chairs situated around the pool. So it would be a quick dip and back to your room. They offer a 50% discount for a beachclub at the beach. The work didn't bother us, since we were out most of the day and they stopped making noise somewhere in the afternoon. We had breakfast included, which was a buffet and you could order eggs or pancakes and stuff as well. The cafe americano was weak, as it is almost everywhere in Mexico.
The room was quite large, but a bit dark, since just outside our room, was the wall of the neighboring building. It has 2 beds, a TV, safe, AC, desk and a nice shower with enough room.
Not sure about the price of the hotel as we booked a package trip, including hotels.
The hotel is situated a bit away from the avenida 5, so for bars, restaurants and shops you have to walk for about 6 or 7 minutes. Not really an issue.
The WiFi in the room was not very strong, but in the garden it was fine. Still, wouldn't recommend streaming HD content.
We had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RonaltN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasgolondrinas, Gerente at Hotel Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear RonaltN,
Thank you for your comment, we are glad you have had a pleasant stay and we hope you consider us again for your next trip.

Regards from Playa del Carmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews, we were a bit worried. Yes, there are workmen working behind the hotel. In fact we had workmen directly behind our bathroom. We booked here as we wanted the freedom of bed and breakfast. Just needed a room to sleep. We had free WiFi. TV. Safe box. And a pool directly outside our room. Plus ladies the hair dryer is good enough to leave yours at home. Yes it's low budget, there were a few things amiss, wobbly tiles on the floor. Nothing that affected our stay and it also felt really safe and secure. Night man on in the evenings. Its also situated in a great place near to the beach and bustling night life. Our room was always kept clean and the staff there were amazing and very helpful. We will definitely miss them all there.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Louisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasgolondrinas, Gerente at Hotel Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016


Dear Louisa A,
Thank you for your kind comment, regarding your inconvenience with the wobbly tiles on the floor, it´s been taking care off.

We are also glad that you have found our staff helpful and amazing, we sincerely hope you will visit us on your next trip to Playa del Carmen.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I was looking for a low budget hotel for 3 nights, and that’s what I got. Our room was OK, only a few minor problems and some questions of cleanliness, our friends had to change rooms and the second was just a little better. The day staff is friendlier than the night staff, and we were not informed of the Beach Club till the last day. While the hotel is currently building a 4th floor, they should be putting the money into fixing the rooms they already have. The breakfast buffet was decent with enough variety.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfredo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotellasgolondrinas, Gerente at Hotel Las Golondrinas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Alfredo J,

Thank you for your visit and your comment, we are sorry that you have had those minor problems.
Also thank you for your suggestions, are really important for us, so we can improve every day.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews