We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent playa del carmen hotel on beach”
Review of The Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After 2 false starts we finally found a good, reasonably priced option in ever changing PLaya del Carmen. Location is what it's all about here- walk out from the bar and onto the beach, without the noise of some other beach hotels. Hotel is clean rooms are comfortable, only niggle being a low pressure shower. Also no TV a plus or minus.... great fast wifi. also a first in this town.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

My wife and I had stayed here on two previous occasions and had a nice quiet time. Not this time. We arrived just as the hotel was filling up with a youthful Swiss soccer team in town for a few matches. They were drunk, noisy and generally obnoxious and literally trashed the place during our stay. The management did nothing to prevent this sordid behavior and we were kept up at night by the din. I cannot recommend this establishment and shall not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mort S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

i satayed there foo a week n i get an amazing vacation.
Rooms are clean and nice. very well located in a nice beach with no rocks and very clean.
The food it`s great they have a restaurant ( zabor ) that is not only for the guess of the resort also for walkers and ppl who joins the beach. So you can be sure that you`ll have a great menu and variety. Many kinds of Ceviche and seafood.
The staff are friendly and warm to all. Waitters alwas can help and i just get relaxed and happy.

I really recomend this small hotel to get relaxed and taned.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cokingafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Great beachfront location close to 5th Avenue shops and restaurants. Spacious and comfortable room. Breakfast and other meals can be had at tables on the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy_rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This is our 4th year at the Alhambra and we had another great week. We stayed in room 12 for 4 years straight. It is a street side with balcony and ocean view. We went ahead and reserved the ocean front room for next year. We love the Alhambra!!!!! I don't know what the folks from Ottowa are talkin about because we have never found a speck of dirt in the four years we have stayed. We were also there in February and the staff was as nice and attentive as ever. The front desk people all speak english to us all the time. The maid can not speak english but we have never had a problem. There was a group of young very loud and rude soccer players that were asked by the hotel staff to quiet down after many complaints from the other hotel guest. I am suspicious that may explain the very bad review they have given. The food and drinks are great. The cheviche is the best in Playa and the breakfast is included. I have never heard anyone complain about the food or drinks, in fact it is one of the reasons we stay there. Our first year in Playa we stated at the Aventura Mexicana and although the hotel is nice the food was bad and it was too far from the beach. We had stumbled upon the Alhambra while walking down the beach and fell in love (Especially with the Margaritas) The Maquito Beach Hotel is next door and is very nice but it is also expensive. If you want to waste alot of MONEY on fancy furniture go there. The food, drinks or location are no better.

Room Tip: On the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunnydaze62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.3 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,804 reviews
8.3 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,121 reviews
0.2 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa del Carmen
Live Aqua Boutique Resort Playa ...
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
554 reviews
7.8 km away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,126 reviews
0.7 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Address: 8 Calle Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $189 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel, an adults only Boutique Hotel located on the Beach in the center of Playa del Carmen, steps away for the World Famous 5th Avenue. The Carmen features Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5, a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 stories above the beach offering the best views on all of Playa del Carmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your The Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing