We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great breakfast, a little expensive, but nice”
Review of The Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Carmen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great breakfast, a little expensive, but nice”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We had the nicest room in the hotel. We had the only king size bedroom over looking the water. Our room was next to the yoga studio and we had a balcony which wrapped around the hotel from the beach to the side entrance. It was clean, hat hot fresh water showers, breakfast was included and delicious. The location was in the center of everything. Our hotel helped us book a scuba diving trip, although fun...I would recommend diving closer to Cozumel. The only thing a little annoying was the club next door. We kept the windows open for the breeze and it was a bit loud.... but we could have turned the air conditioner on if we were really bothered. The hotel is a bit expensive for what you get, but it appears Mexico is just as expensive as the US these days. You must try El Fogon restaurant if you are in Playa del Carmen!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfoodiefromHamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    74
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
42
166
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Never again. We stayed in this hotel in Feb this year, and it was probably the worst hotel we experienced in Playa. The management and staff are rude, and refuse to speak English to tourists. The room was old and filthy, and the food was a joke. We moved out after the first night just across to Mosquito Beach Hotel and it was night and day difference. I would never recommend this dump to a friend

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheriff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My friend and I spent 4 nights at this lovely little hotel from Feb 11-15. Everything about this hotel was exactly what we expected, and then some. Both the front desk and on-site restaurant service was impeccable - thank you!! The hotel's decor is very pretty and the rooms are simple and super-clean! Beds are quite firm as is common in Mexico, but apparently my body likes that since I slept very well! The food at the restaurant was delicious. Anyone who loves seafood MUST have their ceviche - I particularly enjoyed the Caribbean one with mango in it. I'm craving one just writing about it! Beach chairs were readily available, unlike the fight for chairs at the big all-inclusive resorts. Couldn't ask for a better location - on the beach, but a stone's throw away from 5th Ave. I could go on & on....but if you have any questions, feel free to contact me for more....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingvan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Great place to stay, great view, service, yoga AM classes, art desplays we loved it

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtandStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauneta, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Such a great place to stay! Small and comfortable, all amenities that a person needs. Great staff, and VERY clean and comfortable. Daniel does such a geat job as general manager. The service was spectacular. Jose, Andres, Santiago, Alfonso, Miguel, Edwardo, and the others did a great job!! They work very hard at making your stay at the Alhambra an experience to remember!! Will definitely see our Alhambra Family again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktj214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip G, Owner at The Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2017
Please see the new Carmen Hotel on the site of the old Alhambra Hotel located at 8th and the Beach right in the middle of Playa del Carmen. We opened in late December to great reviews. The Carmen Hotel features a Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5 a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 levels above the Beach; the only Pool and Sky Bar on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
8.3 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,854 reviews
1.3 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,699 reviews
0.3 km away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#18 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,434 reviews
0.7 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,914 reviews
1.5 km away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carmen Hotel

Property: The Carmen Hotel
Address: 8 Calle Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Alhambra)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $329 - $648
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carmen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel, an adults only Boutique Hotel located on the Beach in the center of Playa del Carmen, steps away for the World Famous 5th Avenue. The Carmen features Keel Restaurant and Beach Club and Deck 5, a Pool and Sky Bar, 5 stories above the beach offering the best views on all of Playa del Carmen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your The Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Playa Del Carmen
The Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing