We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
634
249
45
24
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
249
45
24
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswing barboutique hotelsmall fridgeeach morningair conditionerbeach chairsavevacationbartendermargaritasmosquitoeswalmartjuanpesoscozumel
Filter
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Luna Blue in a Treetop Terrace room for 8 nights and also had two nights in one of the standard rooms here earlier this month. Both rooms are spacious and spotlessly cleaned every day. The air conditioning units are very efficient (if a little noisy) and having a fridge in the room to store cold drinks/beer was a bonus. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

The hotel is located at the northerly end of 5th Avenue and it is about a 20-25 minute walk to the bus station/ferry pier in the centre of town. Loads of great bars and restaurants are in the immediate vicinity though. Free use of the Mamitas beach club about 5mins walk away was very good too.

Overall, a lovely, relaxing and quiet place to stay, with the benefit of it being excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kate_and_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

This was our first time in Playa del Carmen (first in Mexico even!) and the Luna Blue hotel was just perfect. The rooms were immaculately clean, Quinta Avenida with all the shops, bars and restaurants was round the corner and the beach club was a couple of blocks away and was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and more than happy to make reccomendations about where to eat and what to do. I have no interest in staying in a huge impersonal resort with buffet meals and Luna Blue was just what I was looking for - clean, comfortable, friendly and central and with the freedom to explore Playa. Thank you Luna Blue!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WestparkGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

This was our second visit to Playa and second stay at Luna Blue.
Reason for both "seconds" was we had such fantastic "firsts"!
Playa speaks for itself so no need to go on about that. Luna Blue also speaks for itself but you have had to be there in the first place before you can hear it "speak".
Location is excellent - steps away from the activity on 5th Ave. and a few minutes walk to Mamitas beach. Close enough to all the activity yet far enough to provide a quiet, comfortable retreat. Hotel itself is one of a kind - check in outdoors under a palapa followed by a walk through their lush gardens to your room. Rooms provided everything we needed - (who needs a tv in Playa?) and were immaculately kept - staff is extremely friendly & helpful. Best part besides all the above is Tony & Cheri, the owners. They do it all from taking care of the guests needs to making excellent recommendations to restaurants & activities to just providing friendly company & conversation.
I heartily recommend the Luna Blue and best proof of how much I enjoyed my stay there is the fact I took the time to write this review in the first place.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank LJE1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

This was our second stay at Luna Blue with Tony and Cheri. This is one of our favorite hotels in the world. Tony and Cheri make you feel confortable and welcome. If you're looking for a 5 star resort, you should look elsewhere. As far as I know, none of the units have television. It was very refreshing to talk with my husband without waiting for a commercial. I myself prefer a slower pace. The rooms are comfortable and inviting. The housekeeping is immaculate. Each unit has their own patio or balcony and I can't even begin to describe their beautiful garden.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank evoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

Wow! What a great vacation!
We booked a week for our 5th anniversary at Luna Blue after reading the positive reviews here on tripadvisor. We were a little worried because it was hurricane season. We lucked out hurricane-wise, with a couple of storms leaving the the town without noticeable damage before we arrived, and it was clear the week we were here.
This hotel is really a hidden jewel. It's only got a few rooms, so it's quiet, and it's only a half a block off Quinta, the main pedestrian street through Playa, so it's very accessible to most of the places tourists would want to go. It's also only a couple of blocks to the beach, and "blocks" here are much smaller than big-city blocks.
The location really can't be beat. The northern half of Playa, where Luna Blue is, is more European and less-crowded than the southern half. We rarely overheard English. The northern (and newer) section is also mercifully devoid of local shopowners assailing pedestrians with sales pitches, which is the norm in the southern part of town. And there are plenty of nice restaurants, bars, and shops nearby, even a laundry service across the street. We were able to walk to breakfast at Il Baretto a couple doors down, listen to the Italian customers, and enjoy excellent food. (Try the ravioli!)
Oops, I'm not really reviewing the hotel... The hotel served as a great launchpad from which to explore the Yucatan. The staff was there when we needed them and not intrusive when we didn't. They brought our delayed luggage to our room while we were at the beach, arranged for a snorkeling trip, got us a rental car so we could drive down to Coba, and recommended restaurants. Always polite and helpful but never hovering.
It was still pretty hot and humid in Sept so the air-conditioned room was a godsend. Not many restaurants or clubs are air-conditioned, so it was great to get back to the room after a day of tromping around in the heat.
The bed was firm, but comfy, the room was clean, there were no insects and only one lizard (that we would like to have seen more of).
The Mamasita's beach club, for which the hotel issues free passes, is very nice but closed early, around 5:00, which is too bad because we would have spent much more time there if it was open late.

Luna Blue is not all-inclusive, which in my opinion is the only way to go in a town filled with excellent restaurants. It's not actually on the beach, which may be a put-off for some, but it's so close we were never wishing we had stayed at a hotel on the beach.

If you're looking to stay in your hotel for most of your time, this probably isn't the best choice. But if you're looking for a comfortable, affordable base of operations, look no further.
Our only regret was that we didn't take a few more days off work so we could stay in Playa longer.
We'll be back. Highly recommended!
Michael & Karen

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CaptTripsAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews