We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #99 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We just returned from a 3 days stay at the Playa Maya hotel. The owners, do everything possible to see that you have a wonderful stay. The hotel it is quiet and peaceful. Great value, great people and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for Playa Maya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. We returned because of the service, the location and the price. This hotel is right on the beach. There is no street access, but the staff is always present to help with the luggage and there is no street traffic with which to contend. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. The outdoor setting provides a wonderful atmosphere to eat breakfast and sip your coffee. Lunch is not included in the cost of the room, but the food is delicious and it is very convenient to lounge on the beach, under your umbrella, and have the staff bring your lunch and drinks. The hotel is close to everything in Playa del Carmen. The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. They helped with our booking several excursions (Tulum and Chichen Itza) with excellent results. Because we left for the excursions before the kitchen opened, they provided boxed meals for us to take. We like the deluxe balcony rooms, worth the extra expense!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browns_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I've been to Playa del Carmen a couple of times. Looked at the everything included places but they are not my thing (you miss meeting people and the better places to eat). First time I went to Playa we stayed on the edge of town. Second time I was there I chose the Playa Maya because of location. It is right on the beach and in the center of town but because it is not on any street it was quiet. That's right, no road frontage. You get to the hotel walking in front of the hotel next door. I tried a number of rooms during my stay. My brother and his family had one room the whole time. Breakfast on the water, mango margaritas in the afternoon and the best dive shop I found in Playa (Tank Ha) launches right next to beachfront of the hotel. Its been a couple of years since I've been there but the manager was the son-in-law of the owner. He was American. The wifi was sketchy at best when we there. I trust it is probably more robust these days. All in all. If you like finding your way around, this is a great place to base out of.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelinshoesnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

very good hotel very well located. the staff is nice and the service is perfect. I recommend it to every family who would like to spend great days and nights in Playa del carmen! The view is beautiful and the access to the activities is eays from the hotel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank reese w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed for 7 nights from May 14-21 in a deluxe balcony room on the second floor. The hotel staff was wonderful and the breakfast and lunch was delicious. Perfect location, unbeatable price, awesome hotel.

The only complaint, is that I found the bed to be a little on the firm side for my liking. I would prefer a softer bed.. I wonder if the beds are the same in all of the rooms?

We will stay here again when we visit Playa.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terzaghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
212 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#143 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
167 reviews
0.0 km away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#91 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
155 reviews
0.0 km away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#151 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
304 reviews
0.2 km away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#103 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $129 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing