We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,276)
Filter reviews
3,276 results
Traveller rating
1,231
1,268
475
183
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,231
1,268
475
183
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubshuttle busanimation teamquiet poolevery other daymain poolmattress toppersmall resortmain restaurantthe mexican restaurantmini bartennis courtsother resortssun loungersceiling fanevening entertainmentplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 3,276 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Great entertainment team for daytime activity such as darts, volleyball in the pool, table tennis, petanck etc party's in daytime around the pool and a great show in the evenings. Hotel fairly small but good accommodation and facilities.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank DebbieTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

This is the lowest of the 5 star hotels in the area but don't be fooled. We had room 3212 which looked on to the quiet pool from the balcony. The room was lovely & cleaned well every day.It was a bonus having a ceiling fan as well as air con. We ate mostly @ the buffet which had themed nights & we'd always have plenty of choice.We ate @ the steakhouse twice which was nice. there are 2 sittings 7pm & 9pm which have to be booked. All the staff work exceptionally hard. Our favourite evening waiter was Neo he was always happy & got to know what our drinks were & liked a bit of banter. Its great being 24hrs inclusive as we're early risers so were able to get a cuppa from the bar @ 5.30am !! We never had a problem getting a sun bed @ either pool regardless of the time. There's a regular bus to the beach which runs on time (better than our service @ home)!! The animation team work so hard & always have a smile on their faces. I felt though sometimes because we are in the over 50 bracket we got ignored a bit & not asked to join some of the activities. Other than that can't fault it.

Room Tip: 3212 was quiet & good position for everything
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

As we always take our main holiday in December or January we were looking for a last minute cheap 2 week break just to relax after a busy summer and found a deal to the Lupita which turned out as good as some hotels we have paid way way more for.
We were aware that this hotel was not beachfront when we booked but as the free bus ran every half hour and also stopped near 5th avenue we took this as a bonus not having to pay for taxis to go shopping and it was only a 10/15 min ride on an air conditioned coach to the beach club which contained a bar, buffet, wash rooms, plunge pool and the most beautiful stretch of beach you could wish for. The beds were comfortable, the shower always ran hot and the rooms were cleaned to the highest standard. The staff were wonderful and we always found something to eat at the main buffet where the food was excellent and the table service top notch. We only tried 2 a la cartes the Italian which was very nice and the steakhouse who overcooked my steak - asked for med rare and got well done so stuck to the buffet after that. The last time we were in Playacar we stayed at the Riu Yucatan which, being beachfront, cost way more but we found the Lupita just as good in every aspect and better in the fact that there was no queuing for anything. Very relaxing holiday - would certainly return if the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank Jimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a great. Staff are very friendly and always will to help.

The food is good and bar service is good as well.

The rooms are very clean and mini bar are restock every two days

The WiFi works around the pool in the bar and on the beach.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank chater01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

If you are looking for a nice quiet all inclusive for a good price this resort is perfect. For the people who complain it's not on the beach...you really should do a bit more research before you go somewhere. 10 minute bus rides takes you to the beach club and it's very nice with a small pool and lots of sun chairs.
I wasn't too impressed with the a la carte restaurants but the food at the buffet was very good and lots of choice for even a picky eater. ALL liquor is bar brand, Name brands are not available even if you want to purchase them. Again this may be a problem for some. Staff is great, room was very nice and air conditioning worked great. There is no air conditioned public space, which can be a bit of a problem when you want a little break from the heat.
Overall a nice trip away as long as you know the amenities offered before you go. I hear Tripadvisor has lots of good advice :).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrsmom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Lupita, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel in Playa del Carmen and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Since our main priority is to make our customers feel comfortable, we are glad to read that liked the room you stayed in and highlighted our staff.

We would be delighted if you would honor us with another opportunity to convince you of our RIU service and quality.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Lupita
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews