We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15,777)
Filter reviews
15,777 results
Traveller rating
7,374
4,903
1,939
877
684
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,374
4,903
1,939
877
684
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal club man made beach fun club pacos tacos el pescador sonora grill le buffet first club time share seafood restaurant underground river beach buffet swim up bar main buffet fun pool eco park beach area
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 15,777 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

So we had decided in 2005 to go there for its eco side but hurricane Wilma changed our plans then. We went this year and were pretty excited about being there after all these years. Unfortunately, we consider this trip to be on the average side compared to the expectations we had overall. Here is a list of pros and cons:
PROS:
- The hotel environment is simply gorgeous. You have a luxurious vegetation in a tropical climate, lots of animals wandering around (monkeys, deers, capybaras, iguanas) and not very shy of humans. There are also minor ruins on site that are worth walking around and take pictures of.
- The service is impeccable. There is always someone to help you, guide you, recommend you something to do or see. The cleanliness of the property is also exceptional. All the people working there will great you with a nice word and a smile which is very refreshing.
- The hotel has activities planned along the day but not in excess compared to some other all inclusive hotels where the music is killing your head all day long. If you are looking for quietness, you will find your spot as well if you are looking for some fun in the pool. The activity organizers (like Dante) are awesome and know how to please all tastes. We particularly enjoyed the evening shows (local dances, disco, Disney show or even Opera) and the pool parties.
- The hotel is conveniently located on the Riviera Maya at 10 minutes of the 5a Avenida (shopping area and ferry for Cozumel). It is also very close to cultural attractions like Tulum (40min), Coba (1h) and cenotes (they are everywhere !). We had rented a car to move around but there is no need as numerous taxis, shuttles and other buses are deserving the area.
- Proximity to adventure parks like XCaret, Xenses, Xplor etc...
- Quiet beach area
- All inclusive
CONS:
- The climate is tropical which means a LOT of mosquitoes live around. Insect repellent is not enough if you are prone to be bitten easily. Long pants and sleeves are more appropriate. Also, there is no screen on the windows or patio doors which means you HAVE to sleep with everything closed. Even this way, there are still large openings above the main doors which let the bugs in so you might wake up in the middle of the night trying to kill the buzzing insect flying around your head.
- Besides the mosquito issue which is kind of unavoidable, smoking is also a problem. The hotel has a clear policy of non-smoking in common places (from their pamphlet next to the bed). However, smokers are everywhere ! Around the pool where the children are playing, in front of the restaurants where you are dining and attending evening shows, on the path going to the main lobby or restaurants. We wish the hotel had clear designated area for smokers which would avoid us chocking at his breath when going to eat or playing around.
- The food quality is good and fresh but not as great as we would expect from such a place. The hotel has several specialty restaurants that are pretty popular (min 30 wait each day). We tried 4 of them and were pretty disappointed about the food quality (not quantity, there is always enough). For example, the pasta al pesto were actually made with a spinach cream and the medium rare steak was not cooked at all (and others). We ended up going to the buffet most of the time because the food looked fresher and some dishes could also be made on demand. There was also a wide variety of food (including local mexican food) you could choose from, so it was definitely a win-win.
- Maintenance: the pools are great, however, they need some maintenance. Some tiles were lose and going away and there was a lack of light around them which made difficult walking around them in the evenings. We are big swimmers and we have to say that the cleanliness of the water was not really to our taste. The pool with the open bar (where the Pescador restaurant is located) is definitely a soup. The other pool next to it where children play is average but the bottom needs a good scrub as it is slippery from sun and insect spray probably.
- Proximity to adventure parks: there is no special discount for guests of the hotel for the XCaret park. You can buy an additional package or purchase tickets on site. However, the only saving will be if you order online. If you order beyond 1 week in advance, you can even get 25%. The park XCaret is good but still is like a very touristy attraction. Other parks have opened like Xenses or Xplor, etc.. but we have not tried them. There is one park for all the tastes but you will always win if you book online.
- The beach is really small and man-made. There is not much to see either. There is a nice short path along each side of it where you can appreciate the beauty of the place but that is pretty much it.

Overall we did enjoy our stay besides the smoking and the mosquito issues. We are however, not planning on coming back to this hotel or any other in the area. The region became extremely touristic and you will have to pay for absolutely ANYTHING you do and everywhere you go (even parking in an empty lot somebody got hold onto or the public beach in Akumal). We do recommend the hotel if you like quietness and beauty without being too boring. For adventurers, the best is to rent a car and hop from places to places within the country to discover most of it.

Room Tip: Away from the pools and main common areas (19 is a good choice)
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squirrel331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

We would like to thank you for choosing Occidental as your holiday destination during your visit to Riviera Maya. Our guests play a key role in helping us to improve our services and we truly appreciate the feedback.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments, I have noted all your comments and suggestions which I will constructively use to improve our services and facilities.
Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and thank you so much for the taking the time to write this review as it give us the opportunity to improve.

We would love to have a second opportunity to demonstrate you the high quality standards our brand is known for.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Occidental hotel & resort was an amazing stay. It was my first time being in Mexico & 2nd time being at a resort ever. The service was amazing. All the employees are very nice & humble. The food is well cooked, the bedroom area is comfortable AC is kicking in like crazy! Most amazing time I have ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank danieltincopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience.

We loved how in a few words you described the incredible experience. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. We would like to express our most sincere gratefulness for your kind words about the service you received.
We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

We just returned from an 8 night stay at the occidental and my kids wanted to stay another week. The staff was wonderful to our whole group of 14. We stayed in building 18 and Alma St. Clair was a bright Ray a sunshine everyday and offered help with whatever we asked. The monkeys were also right outside our balcony and actually came to us when we held out bananas. So cool for all of us to see that. The room was ok we didn't have hot water in the sink but the shower was hot. The beds are small for what we are use to but we were always so tired when we crawled into bed it didn't matter much. The fact they there was no free wifi was a bummer and hard to understand how that is not a basic accommodation. My sister in law bought the family pack for 4 devices and 7days because she had work to take are of and theirs worked well so I think they need to make it available without an extra $80 charge.
The pool was huge and clean, the fun staff there made the hours fly by, Alex, Maria and Dante were our favorites our kids loved them and they made us all feel like they were so happy to have us as guests.
The lagoon was ok it was small and fun to start but when we found the hidden beach past the ruin we found a bit of heaven! When the tide was low there was a spot where the beautiful blue water meet a sandy beach below the rocks and we all fell in love with the ocean.
The food was average our favorite was the Italian restaurant where when asked they made the kids chicken Alfredo. The steakhouse was also good. And the oriental was also good the tuna was amazing and the fried ice cream was to die for. The staff was always great at the restaurants.
The entertainment was good too the kids often got involved during the kids portion then the main show was always fun.
All and all I would recommend the occidental for a family vacation!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jaime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your Occidental at Xcaret Destination experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guests’ experience.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. I have noted all your comments and suggestions which I will constructively use to improve our services and facilities.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Cannot fault anything with this hotel. Staff were always happy and helpful in any way they can. Loved the setting of the hotel and food was very good, even in the buffet! Every building has concierge to help you with anything, so you don't have to go all the way to reception for any help/queries.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank nwLondontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience.

We loved how in a few words you described the incredible experience. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. We would like to express our most sincere gratefulness for your kind words about the service you received.
We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction.

It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The cleanliness of the facilities were top notch. Twenty four hours a day there were employees constantly cleaning or working on the grounds, and every one of them would stop and greet you. That is the friendliest staff we have ever encountered.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank Blake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience.

It gives me a great pride to know that our staffs are commended for their kindness and professionalism. I will share your comments with the team, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to our staffs as we constantly strive to provide consistent quality of service to our guests.
We are delighted to read, that we were up to par to your standards. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence.

It was and it always will be a pleasure to host you, do not hesitate to contact me if you have special requests for your next visit, I will be really pleased to help you.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews