We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15,454)
Filter reviews
15,454 results
Traveller rating
7,171
4,835
1,908
868
672
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,171
4,835
1,908
868
672
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubman made beachfun clubpacos tacosel pescadorsonora grillle buffetfirst clubtime shareseafood restaurantunderground riverbeach buffetswim up barfun poolmain buffeteco parkbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
4,281 - 4,286 of 15,454 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2016

The resort was beautiful. The staff were exceptional. It was very apparent to us that the management of the hotel were excellent at mentoring, training and following protocal. W e have to state though that our room being PLATINIUM PLUS members was not up to standard. Our friends who also came had better accomodations than we did. This did not make a very good case for them buying.

We felt their should be straws available at all of the bars; very few had them and funny as it was; when we drank a frothy drink we had to constantly wipe the froth off of our noses. Also I feel straws are more sanitary. We also felt that after dinner there was nowhere to go to talk quietly. The music (preshow) was good but very loud I am sure it is this way to attract people to the show which is fine but it is not condusive to small talk. We would suggest that the Sports Bar be turned into a quieter lounge. We went there but had to leave it was underutilized for its purpose. one last suggestion would be that their be more variety of snacks after 10pm we found ourselves at the lovely sitr of Pacos Tacos each night but after 10 daqys of pizza (good as it was) left us turned off of Pizza for awhile.

We would like to mention a staff member from the Lago snack shack. His name is Fabian and we saw him everyday. He was so warm and welcoming we had to visit each day or we felt we missed an important part of the day.

Room Tip: Our room was lacking we are supposed to have a one bedroon but if we had guests stay with us it would have been embarrassing for us all and your 1st club membership would have looked very bad. Word of mouth is the best advertising. Even the couch was broken and we had a queen bed while our friends had a king in their regular room.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank 310wesleyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar O, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Dear 310wesleyv,

We would like to thank you very much for your thoughtful comment on Trip Advisor, regarding your stay with us at Occidental Grand Xcaret. We are extremely happy to hear that your trip with us was fantastic and that you were able to experience unforgettable moments under the water. It is one of the bests part of the Riviera Maya.
Occidental Grand Xcaret is in an environmentally protected area that requires we minimize our impact on the surroundings and preserve the area. It is for this reason that we do not offer straws, as the plastic has lasting effects on the environment.

We truly appreciate your honest opinion and your enthusiasm. We are also counting the days to seeing you again.

Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

To start, the staff was the bet staff I have ever met in all vacations. Very, very nice people working there. Angel, one of the staff members was extremely nice and such a great guy. Hector as well, who I had went with to see dolphins, was very funny and fun to be with. Very nice resort- which reminded me of a jungle. The food in the buffet was roughly decent compared to the food in the restaurants. I would definitely recommend attending the restaurants instead of the buffet. The downside is the dress code, which is that you must be wearing long pants and closed shoes for the gentlemen, and I don't exactly recall the dress code for the women. Something else to keep in mind is that everyone gets a free hour of wifi in a designated area, or you can purchase it for everywhere in the resort. Overall fun vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Reviewer5739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar O, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Dear Jake8878,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We are really proud to know your opinion regarding your stay at Occidental Grand Xcaret. It was and it always will be a pleasure to host you, do not hesitate to contact me if you have special requests for your next visit at socialmedia@mx.occidentalhotels.com
¡Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

I visited the Grand Occidental over Christmas vacation with my wife and 2 daughters ages 7 and 5. Room was nothing to brag about but we don't care as we didnt come to spend time in the room. To be fair there are other levels of updated and enhanced rooms if that's what you like. We stayed in building 18 which was central to almost everything. This resort is huge and has a jungle. My kids really enjoyed seeing all the animals especially the monkeys. We spent a lot of time at the "quiet pool" which was actually the younger kids pool. There was always something fun for the kids to do and they also visited the kids club which my 5 year old really loved. We also spent some time at the beach which was not long and walkable but perfect to keep an eye on the kids.

We joined the vacation club and are extremely happy with the help and selection of resorts. Already planned out next holiday vacation. The process was simple and we look forward to coming back.

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar O, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear Robert J,

Thank you for choosing Occidental Grand Xcaret on your recent visit to Mexico.
We would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your feedback and letting us know about your recent visit. To receive such praise from our guest is very gratifying and knowing that you enjoyed so much the activities, view and service is a reward in itself.
Your feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage them to continue their efforts in this direction.
Wewill love to serve you in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place, extremely family friendly, staff was very nice, friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and the food was decent. The nature and forest surrounding the resort was breathtaking. I strongly recommend this hotel for families.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar O, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear Rana W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Occidental Grand Xcaret.

We are delighted that we offered you a great start to your vacation. It is such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our beautiful resort, well-appointed accommodations, location and the service you received from our staff. We take great pride in offering our guests flawless experiences and our team will be thrilled to know that we did just that!

It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband went in September for our honeymoon. We were told about this hotel by all the agencies we approached and decided to go. The hotel is beautiful, it is surrounded my such serenity. The hotel is huge and accommodates for a huge variety of people with a variety of foods and drinks. It has a water park attached to the hotel (at an additional cost) and costs a couple of pounds to get to the nearest town centre were you can buy all your goodies. The only downside to the hotel is that with it being so big it takes a while to walk around and there is a lot of walking to do. When you get to your block where your room is there are only stairs, so upon arrival make sure you get the guys to take your bags and ring again upon departure. We had also booked for our honeymoon and specified this on the booked however, when we got to our room we were given a room with two singles beds and at the time of arrival we were too tired to move rooms. When we did eventually we had to move blocks away from our agencies block. We also had to do this before 9am due to having a rep meeting. Apart from these minor issues the hotel is absolutely amazing and staff are very friendly. There is a lot to experience and would highly recommend this for any type of holiday.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mumta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar O, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Dear mumta s,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon at Occidental Grand Xcaret, and appreciate the proactivity and kindness of our staff. Our staff attaches a great importance to our guests’ well-being and has the pleasure to make unforgettable experiences for them!
Our hotel is a 52-acre property, which many guests enjoy as it allows us the space to offer something for everyone. We regret that you felt you had to walk such a long distance every day, from the lobby to the beach, that is the farthest distance, it is 250 meters.
We would love to host you again and offer you the vacation you dream with,
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews