We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,124)
Filter reviews
2,124 results
Traveller rating
1,550
347
126
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,550
347
126
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsambar restaurantcevichepatio suitegolf cartoutdoor tubbeachfront casitaamber restaurantcigar loungesteam roomall inclusive resortwalk in closetconcierge officepool barquiet resortspa areadouble showerbreakfast and lunch
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 2,124 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

If you have read other reviews of this property, you already know that guests think the service here is extraordinary. So do we. Travelers were impressed by the food. So were we. In fact, this review is just going to repeat all the good stuff you've probably already read - Relaxing! Luxurious! Delicious! We did very little and we loved it a lot!
(Like I said, there's nothing new in this first-timer's review, but if you want to hear it all again, read on.)
Our stay took place during an especially windy week at the end of March, so we never had the opportunity to enjoy the water sports and snorkeling excursions offered by the hotel. Instead, we relished the opportunity to explore the unique beauty of the property. Not doing anything was enough to keep us busy, which you will only be able to understand when you are there.
From the balcony of our palafito suite, we could view the sunsets in the evenings. From a bed on the beach or at the pool, we could watch the sunrise each morning (with champagne, of course). After enjoying the complimentary 25-minute massage that came with our package on the first day we were there, we immediately booked another for later in the week. The 80-minute "Blue Diamond Experience" was amazing, as was the spa itself. We could use the spa facilities at any time, even if we weren't scheduled for a service that day. Inside the spa, we enjoyed the sauna and steam rooms, rain showers, and jacuzzi beds. Outside the spa, the two pools and the lounging area provided a respite from the wind. The state-of-the art fitness room was cool, clean, and never crowded. In fact, we only saw one other person using it the whole time we were there.
Walking to the spa from our suite gave us a chance to wander through the various nooks and crannies of the property. We usually were able to spot the crocodile in the cenote, and we occasionally encountered a group of coati on the trail near the temazcal. The temazcal ceremony was unlike anything we have ever experienced, and definitely worth doing while you are there.
The majority of our day was spent near the pool area. Poolside breakfasts at the Aquamarine restaurant were relaxed and delicious, and lunch at the casual Ceviche offered lots of interesting, light choices. Chairs and beds were always available, and the service from the poolside waitstaff was superb. David was remarkable in his ability to provide individual attention to the various couples spread all round the pool; his enthusiasm and warmth certainly made us feel special and well-cared for.
Herminio was equally impressive at Ambar. He seemed to truly love what he was doing, which made every meal with him a true pleasure. Without exaggeration, he was one of the best waiters we have ever encountered. Anywhere. Oh, and the food at Ambar was really great, too.
We discovered that meals at Ambar were definitely more enjoyable and leisurely on the nights when there were dinner activities poolside, and we were willing to trade the fire shows and mariachi bands for the chance to have intimate and elegant dinners at Ambar (usually with a crocodile or two nearby). Conversely, on nights without poolside shows, we sometimes opted to enjoy the more causal fare at Aquamarine. In essence, we kind of did the opposite of what most other guests were doing. It worked for us: guess it all depends on what kind of experience you are seeking.
A couple of other things to share: Talking with other guests, we discovered that everyone seemed to think their room was perfect, so I doubt there's a bad room anywhere. For us, the location of the Palafito was a real plus. Butler service comes with the room, but we didn't have much need for butlering.
We were a bit apprehensive about some travelers' reviews mentioning high-pressure sales pitches, but we skirted the issue completely by avoiding the concierge area during peak hours and never responding to the note left in our room requesting that we stop by to redeem our vouchers. (Since no one ever asked us for any vouchers, I am thinking that may have been the opening act of the sales talk; guess we'll never know.)
If you are still reading this review, despite the fact it just seems to say the same thing all the other reviews say, you must be truly interested in this property. My advice? Go ahead and book it already! We are definitely glad WE did.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank 2_of_us_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriella C, Subdirector at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear "2_of_us_ontheroad",

Wow what an amazing review!
We truly appreciate for taking the time to share your recent experience at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel.
Reviews like yours encourage us to keep working hard every day and keep improving all our services and facilities for your total satisfaction and when we read we have accomplish the goal with you it is very gratifying.
Your comments are definitely the engine that motivates us to continue offering the best services and always give us the best effort. Keep in mind that we will share your kind comments about the care and service you received.
It is rewarding to read that the friendly service of our staff went beyond your expectations, especially of Herminio, David and many other of our great staff members.
Thank you as well for highlighting our facilities such as our rooms, beach and Spa. We appreciate your special comments about the quality of the food at our Ambar restaurant. Your encouraging words encourages our team and drive us to keep improving every day.

It will be a pleasure to meet you again on your next vacation and add more incredible moments in your travel experiences.

Kind Regards,
Gabriella Cangiano
Assistant Manager
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Our recent 4 night stay at Blue Diamond was our 4th. Clearly, we love this luxury boutique hotel! We instantly decompress and relax when we are at Blue Diamond. We enjoy the beautiful pool, outstanding food, well maintained grounds large, nicely appointed rooms and relative small size of the resort. Since our last trip one year ago, the resort has a new executive chef (Jonas) who has kicked up what was already very, very good food that would rival the upscale restaurants you enjoy at home. The staff at Blue Diamond are wonderful. We see the same people visit to visit; they are committed to the resort and it shows in their level of caring and kindness. The list of those who gave us above and beyond service includes: Areaceli; Gilberto (beach side service); Pedro, Ramiro, Prisciliano, Beatriz and Leo (Aqua Marina restaurant) and Earnesto (Ambar restaurant). We are looking forward to going back soon to our favorite beach hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jejgnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeertDebruyne, Director General at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Blue Diamond friend Jejgnp,

On behalf of all the staff and management, I wish to thank you for selecting us for the fourth time as your high class Caribbean getaway. We are aware of the numerous resorts from which to choose from, so it is delighting to hear that your vacation was just as remarkable as your previous visits.
Thank you very much for mentioning so many positive elements you have experienced at the Blue Diamond luxury boutique hotel, it is very motivating for us to know that we were able to create such high marks.
I will share your praises with my colleagues and will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the Blue Diamond.

Kind regards

Geert Debruyne
Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed our recent 3 night stay at Blue Diamond.
Without exception all the staff we encountered we friendly and helpful.
The room ( Junior Patio Suite ) was very spacious with a private outdoor area to relax in.
Being an adults only property meant that it was peaceful to relax around the pool or on the beach.
The all inclusive food and drinks were of a very high standard and there were choices of restaurants . One evening there was a Mexican show which was good fun.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sydneygirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeertDebruyne, Director General at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear guest sydneygirl2015,

As seasoned world travelers, especially visiting us from "down under" and acknowledging our Excellency in service provided by our efficient and friendly staff, is truly very much appreciated.
It is through communications of this nature, that we are given an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our valued guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback, and we hope someday your travels bring you back to your favorite Mexican getaway, the Blue Diamond luxury Boutique hotel.

Best wishes,

Geert Debruyne
Manager






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We just returned from 8 days at the Blue Diamond Boutique Hotel. We had a fantastic time! They have the BEST staff ever, Samanya at the Concierge/Reception was fantastic to deal with. Roberto, Leo, Horge, absolutely all of the Service was exceptional. The beach was beautiful and chairs were always available, and the service at the beach was better than anything we have experienced before. We did upgrade to the lagoon Portafino rooms (not sure of name), and it was lovely. We did have issues with the shower, we had no cold water and very little pressure. That would be our only complaint of our entire stay! Thank you to all of the staff who made our vacation truly relaxing, we will return.
The Hertz's

Room Tip: If you get a 2nd story room, check the water pressure as showering was not a good experience.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeertDebruyne, Director General at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear guest Vicky H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our resort, we are very pleased that your overall experience was more than enjoyable and that our staff and their exceptional service had a lot to do with it.
I am so sorry you had to experience a mishap with the shower in your room but I am happy to hear that this incident did not affect your relaxing holiday us and your decision to return to the Blue Diamond Luxury boutique hotel.
As you know, guest satisfaction at the Blue Diamond is our top priority and therefore I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
We look forward to welcome back very soon, and we will definitely prepare to deliver a flawless luxury 5 star vacation.

Warm Greetings,

Geert Debruyne
Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We found this hotel in the Small Luxury Hotel of the World, and glad we decided to give it a chance. What an Amazing hotel and staff, loved Everything about it! From the moment we arrived, we felt like royalty. They assigned us butlers throughout the week and they made sure we were well taken care of. It's an All inclusive, but it doesn't feel like it. All the meals were delicious and a la carte, no nasty buffets. There was not one meal that we didn't like. We got an upgrade to Palafitos lagoon suite, and loved it, so large and spacious. The resort sits in a jungle setting and large, but you get a bike to ride around or they have a shuttle too. We never had to fight for lounge chairs by the beach or pool, it was just lovely, It's our favorite and will be back!

Room Tip: If you want to go into Cancun, take the public bus, it's way cheaper than a cab.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeertDebruyne, Director General at Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear guest alstevens,

Thank you kindly for sharing this feedback with us, and with fellow travelers.
I am very pleased to notice that you loved our modern minimalistic and spacious luxurious Palafitos Suite overlooking
the gorgeous lagoon..
We are continuously monitoring and making changes to our menus so we can continue to surprise and delight all of our guests.
The Blue Diamond team is looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back, so please do not hesitate to contact us for any pre-arrival arrangements.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards

Geert Debruyne
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews