We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
USD 248
USD 224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
USD 111
USD 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
USD 645
USD 492
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
USD 423
USD 338
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 259
USD 203
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
USD 879
USD 747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 486
USD 436
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
USD 717
USD 568
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 801
USD 666
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 1,362
USD 1,042
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
116
60
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
60
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorrooftop poolgreat locationla quintacontinental breakfasttwo blocksbeautiful boutique hotelnice breakfastroom facingrooms are cleanyogurtwould stay here againrecommend this hotelquiet at nighttravel agentother guestsavenue
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We really enjoyed this hotel, as it is in a very desirable area, close to 5th ave and the beach and near many amazing restaurants and bars!!
The hotel was kept in immaculate condition, and we met people from the USA and Canada who have been staying her for a few years now, which they expressed the same thoughts on what we enjoyed of the hotel and area.
The rooms are clean, with comfy beds, Romeo and Juliet style balconies facing 10th ave! the only thing a little of a inconvenience was having to get used to not being able to flush the toilet paper, 1st world problems!!
They have a nice roof top pool, nothing fancy or luxurious, but clean, quiet and comfortable. We supported the local convenience store in the area by buying snacks and cervesas for the room and pool, as they do not have a restaurant or bar on site.
they do provide a continental breakfast which was good enough for us.

We really enjoyed the area, watching people ride bikes, walk and run down the streets, Playa is a active community and feels safe, we know there is crime in the city, but so does every other city in the world, Mexico seems to be exemplified on this discussion.

We found many excellent restaurants on 10th and 15th ave, we used to spend all our time on 5th, but, 5th has become real busy and over priced, its starting to feel like a mini Vegas is some aspects. We still love 5th ave, but have discovered that there is more to see and do than 5th ave

We would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Eugenia U, General Manager at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hello Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. There are many canadians and americans staying in our hotel, specially January through April, winter time up there, but still sunny here in Playa del Carmen.
I'm sorry if you found it inconvenient the fact that you can't flush the toilet paper, but mexican pipe's system is not the same as in other countries, so we need to mention this to our guests.

There is definitely much more to do that only the 5th Avenue, now there are more and more restaurants and stores all around.

Hope to get the pleasure to have you here with us again.

Best regards,

Maria Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Very clean hôtel. Welcoming staff. Simple but good continental breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Quiet. Great location!! I would recommend. Lots of restaurants near by. One street away from the famous 5th.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Eugenia U, General Manager at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Linda,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed the rooms and of course our location, just one block away from the 5th Avenue.

Hope to have you back with us soon.

Regards,

Maria Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Hotel Los Itzaes is the best hotel in Playa del Carmen. You feel warm hospitality, like a home, best location close to the ocean and main street with shopping stores and brodways with mariachies and orher different shows

Room Tip: Spacious , clean and best views with balcones and nice pool on the roof and beautiful plants in the lobby
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Eugenia U, Manager at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Hello Mira,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are happy you liked our hotel.

Regards,

Maria Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Like every average hotel, this hotel also have his pluses and minuses:

Pluses: nice people at the front desk, clean, very good location, nice rooms.

Minuses: not everyone in the front desk speaks English, sometimes lizards in the room, noise if taking a room to the street side, low water pressure, no hot water often, no elevator.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Itzik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Eugenia U, Gerente at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hello Itzik J,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay at our hotel. We take great pride in our staff's service and our rooms, so we are glad you enjoyed them both. Most of our staff members understand english, perhaps you encounter the on call staff. I am sorry for any inconveniences.
In our efforts to be environmentally conscious, and because weather here in Playa is usually hot, we only turn on the heater during the morning and late afternoon. However, if you wish to have hot water during the afternoon as well, you can just let us know and we will leave the heater on.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Maria Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

As I write this review at 445 in the morning, I have not slept the entire night. The street noise is unbearable. Between the police cars and the clubs that are still open and blasting their music I have literally been up most of the night. It is quite unfortunate because the hotel itself is beautiful and I can even tolerate the uncomfortable beds. The staff is wonderful, attentive and helpful, but I simply cannot give this place a good review because of the street noise. I will not stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Laura r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Eugenia U, Manager at Los Itzaes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hello Laura,

I am sorry to hear that you couldn't sleep properly on your second night with us. Playa del Carmen's nightlife is usually busier on Fridays and Saturdays, but bars normally close earlier (there is a bar nearby, which was the source of the noise). Since the noise doesn't depend on us, what we can offer is to change rooms. I talked to the staff and I'm happy to hear that you are still with us, enjoying your vacation.

Regards,

Maria Eugenia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews