We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon MB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Been home one week now and finally taking a minute to write a little review. This was our first time in playa and we think we got it right! A great place with a great location within walking distance to everything. We always looked forward to returning to our rooms after being out all day to see what kind of whimsical towel art the girls had left for us. If you,re looking for top notch dining, look no further than their own `Mayan Bistro`. Chef Marco is second to none. Dora(always smiling), Aldo. Misquito,Nino and Danielle, looking forward to seeing all of you again next year, Good Times!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    425
    75
    13
    9
See reviews for
326
792
78
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The wife and I were looking to getaway for a quick, budget friendly vacation in Playa and this place was exactly what we were looking for.
The positives;
Location was right in the heart of everything without knowing it. 1/2 block from 5th ave and shops and restaraunts but you would never know it. The hotel itself is a charming little oasis and the beach is a short 10 min. walk.
The staff couldnt be any friendlier and were very helpful with any questions we had.
The negatives;
Our room was a little "rustic" with only a wall separating the bathroom so if youre uncomfotable with that, you might want to get a different room. As I said the rooms dont have any frills if thats important look elsewhere.
The "free breakfast was nothing more than bland pastries, toast, coffee and juices but you could order off the menu. We did not eat at the hotels restaraunt "mayan bistro" because had all a list of places we wanted to try before hand but the smells coming from the bistro were wonderful and I heard nothing but good things about the chef. Definately next time.
If youre going on your honeymoon maybe you wanted to spend more $$$$ and go all out on a big, fancy resort but if you just want to experience Playa without breaking the bank, look no further. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA-USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Someone once said “You can’t go back”. Well, I went back, to the best hotel in Playa Del Carmen. Paradise for me means everything the Aventura Mexicana is. Such a relaxing atmosphere located so close to shopping and the beach. The pools are shaped beautifully and so clean. The hotel has a very nice comfortable feel. So many plus points. When I stay there I get the VIP all inclusive plan. It is more than fair. Actually, if you don’t get the VIP you may spend more money than if you didn’t.
I have to mention the staff. I never saw a frown, I was never not greeted or smiled at, and you will find they become a part of your memories from staying there. From the manger Rob, right down the entire staff, I was treated like family.
I will be back again and again. Wish I was there now !!!

Room Tip: I like the deluxe king with the VIP plan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is our 4th year staying here. We love it. It almost feels like a family atmosphere. You cannot beat the location to the main street and the beach. My husband loves the gym right across the street. The grounds are very well maintained including the pools. The staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor to avoid the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusnak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna BC Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked a all inclusive package advertised on trip advisor for $149 us per night. It was billed to us before credit card fees at $157 us supposedly because of fluctuations in the mexican peso. We noticed every business in Playa had a different exchange rate but when they advertise in US dollars it shouldbe billed in that currency. Shows you can't always trust what you read on trip advisor. All the other trip advisor reviews on this place were accurate though. They have tried to think of everything here. They have a small table and two chairs for smokers outside each room in the hallway but non smokers have to walk by all of them to get to the exit. You get to meet all your neighbors though. The rooms look spacious because there are only half walls and no doors to the bathroom. Fine if you are an old married couple and used to your partners farts. Others mind find it uncomfortable. The key to the sliding glass entrance door and the room safe are tiny 4 sided affairs that are difficult to use sober and impossible when drunk. So stay sober here. Which is hard if you are on the all inclusive plan as dinner service is very slow but the included wine is excellent and free flowing. Food is excellent. Very good gym next door. Laundry service nearby. Internet is free but only one terminal in a hallway. Two pools but both are small and chilly. Check in staff speak english and are very knowlegable. Rooms back on to a busy street but other than that muffler less 3 am street sweeper all was quiet. Nice landscaping. All in all we had a good 3 days here and would return for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thanks for your feedback WillyDoug! I am happy to hear you would join us again and appreciate the feedback so I may address the couple of items that could possibly make your next stay with us more enjoyable.

The All Inclusive Package special that we ran on Tripadvisor was $149 plus tax. Since the amount of the charge was significantly different I assume tax was the biggest difference. I apologize if this wasn’t clear enough at the time of booking but we did indicate the pricing on the promo detail and again at the time of booking. With that said you will find that the exchange rate is managed differently everywhere you go. When we advertise we use the current bank exchange rate when determining the USD price and its equivalent pesos rate and use that for the life of the promotion. Since we are a Mexican company dealing with Mexican banks we have to charge credit cards and post our charges in pesos. As you know the exchange rate changes daily so it is almost impossible not to have some discrepancy in the amounts charged. Sometimes it is slightly more and sometime it is slightly less. Since most of our promos are run for only a few months we tend to be pretty accurate with the monthly average exchange rate.

As a boutique hotel with 49 rooms and two distinct sides (Family and Adult) we have many different types of rooms to suit many needs and requests. We have rooms that have an enclosed bathroom, traditional bed frames, regular doors and private balconies. Although I agree with your comment that we are “not for everybody” I believe we can accommodate most requests and preferences.

For our future travelers please feel free to ask us any questions regarding our availability of room types, services or just plain anything that may assist you in making your decision on accommodations in amazing Playa del Carmen! reservations@aventuramexicana.com or guestservices@aventuramexicana.com

Sincerely,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.7 km away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.7 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#37 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 km away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.0 km away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#36 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $136 - $490
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing