We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21,082)
Filter reviews
21,082 results
Traveller rating
11,854
5,560
2,032
891
745
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11,854
5,560
2,032
891
745
Show reviews that mention
All reviews select club aqua park los lirios international buffet jade river mayan shows el templo romantic boat ride kids club la riviera main pool vegan restaurant royal elite section water shoes adults only section eco tour juan carlos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,121 - 5,126 of 21,082 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016

the place its amazing, but its necessary a transportation system, i mean, vans or buses that take to you
to the city,paying, taxis are very expensive, and the resort is a pretty hidden from the city. food is amazing.

Room tip: room was a pretty noisy, we could heard the room besides guest.
Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Fabiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Caracol, Gerente at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Dear fabiana d,

Thank you so much for the five star rating and for sharing this review! We are very happy you've enjoyed your time here. Please also be certain that we are going to take your observations into consideration. We will be hoping for your return soon so you can enjoy our services again.

Best Regards,

The Management
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
webrelations.caracol@sandos.com


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Reception: We booked the Select Club – Adults only and experienced a warm welcome and a staff member took us immediately to a separate check-in area for the Select Club. Reception assigned our room quickly, and was able to give us a King Bed which we appreciated for my over 6 foot husband. Then, a staff member sat us down under the pretense that he was to acquaint us with the accommodations and the many events offered but he just tried to sell us on tours .
Staff: The staff are the most wonderful experience of the whole vacation; acknowledged us, smiled and were most helpful when we needed it. The staff worked so very hard to keep the grounds and beaches clean and beautiful. Your staff always smiled and that alone is amazing as they put up with rude guests with dirty habits: non-tippers, dropping trash and cigarette butts everywhere.
Restaurants: We ate supper at 5:50-6pm and tried every restaurant offering a lot of variation and international cuisine. Some nights, a very good meal, others fell short; the fish, lamb& beef was dry/overcooked. Noise level in the restaurants was ear shattering with too loud music, clattering dishes, trays and there was no escape from families with numerous children screaming. Adults also shouted over the din to be heard; suppertime was never relaxing. Japanese restaurant: one word of caution. Our chef was careless , lit the fire on the grill,he flames came way to close to us and we backed our chairs to the wall. Frightening and the chef took no notice as he was too busy showing off. He was not skilled enough to be a Japanese chef and kept dropping his tools; thank goodness they were not knives he was juggling around.
Room: Spacious and the housekeeping was okay. At our request, we were provided with extra padding for the bed as it was so hard the first night, our backs were very sore the next day. The pillows were lovely and soft. Our bar fridge was well stocked and it was a nice gesture that it did not come at an added cost. We did appreciate the bathrobes and slippers, very nice thank you.
Property: Beautiful location and the staff keep it clean and were always working to repair worn/broken areas. Being in the middle of the rainforest, huge mangroves,tropical plants, Mayan ruins, wild animals and birds roaming the property. Snorkeling in the Cenote and the Jade/Mayan River;wonderful experience. Massive waterpark for kids. We appreciated that it was part of our package, did not cost extra and was just a few minutes’ walk..
Pools/Beach: Lots of pools and an adult pool. Beach was lovely and clean with enough chairs for all. Wear water shoes to go into the surf to save cutting your feet on the coral/rock.
Jacuzzi: Whirlpools at the Spa were ice cold with the exception of one small warmer Jacuzzi. Jacuzzi in the Select Club not clean; dark rings around the pools at water level that needed to be scrubbed off.
Entertainment: Good shows and we learned some of the Mayan culture and history. We would have preferred to see the shows scheduled to be at the Cenote and out in the forest as they were advertised instead of on the stage at the theatre. The change of location diminished the spectacular height of the dancing and presentation. As well, it was just too loud on our ears at the theatre. Both times the change of location of the show was not well advertised and we nearly missed the shows. There were many other people who waited with us only to realize after 8:30pm that the shows were somewhere else. Latino band was good and we enjoyed the dancing.
Recommendations: This property is great for families and children and adults who are tolerant of noisy and rude children. Might not be the best choice for mobile limited adults. Yes there are wheelchair accessible areas but the walkways and paths are not smooth and even walking can be a challenge. Jutting boardwalk edges, carpeting and stone walkways can be treacherous if you are not paying attention. For an all-inclusive with pools, sandy beach, fair to good restaurants that is surrounded by rainforest with fresh water pools to explore and wildlife close at hand to view, it is unique/ exciting .

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Caracol, Gerente at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Dear Cher H,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share such detailed and honest review with us, it sounds like you had a wonderful and relaxing time with us.

It fills us with joy to know that the facilities, and variety of services exceed your expectations.

Your feedback is valuable to us because it helps us to recognize opportunity areas, you can be certain that we will be working on the observations mentioned, in order to implement actions toward your highlighted points.

Once again thank you for your review as it is truly valuable for us. We look forward to keep welcoming you back for many years to come.

Best Regards,

The Management
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
webrelations.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

For me this is a perfect vacation.
Its so nice for families and perfect for all kids.

The way they teach about taking care of nature and having eco and veggie restaurant is so amazing! Its animals all over the resort.

The Yoga Teacher Juan Carlos is really good and you get to do it in the morning so you have all day with your family;)

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maritmeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Caracol, Gerente at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Dear Maritmeliza,

First of all, we would like thank you for choosing Sandos Caracol Eco Resort as your destination hotel and for taking the time to share your review. It is nice to learn you were able to enjoy some of the many services this resort has to offer, such as our famous Yoga classes; we will share your compliments with the instructor Juan Carlos.

Best Regards,

The Management
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
webrelations.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Nice little eco park resort with good swim areas for toddlers and slides for them too. Clean Beach, mediocre food, but snack bar always open with ice cream. Rooms were mediocre, but adequate. Spider monkeys were common and a lot of fun. The cenotes were beautiful and you could swim in the largest one. Decent exercise area and spa. I would go back again. Nice place for family with young kids.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Caracol, Gerente at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Dear Michael M,

We thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to know we managed to exceed your expectations for the most part. Your are already looking forward to your next visit. We will make sure to provide you with an even greater service.

Best Regards,

The Management
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
webrelations.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Absolutely amazing resort. The food was fantastic, very clean rooms and the staff very friendly and always available to lend a hand.
We spent most of our time in the Royal Elite beach front section. It was so relaxing and the service on the beach was great.
There was entertainment every night as well as a lot of flea market vender's in the evening.
We are heading back in 5 days for almost three weeks of fun and sand. Can't wait!

Room tip: Rooms in the adult section are much quieter and secluded.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ArmstrongSpidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandos_Caracol, Gerente at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2016

Dear ArmstrongSpidy,

While extending warm regards from Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, we would like to thank you for the time invested in sharing with us and this online community your experiences lived during your visit. It is nice to hear you enjoyed most of the many great things our resort has to offer. We are already looking forward to your next visit! We are sure you will have even a greater time.

Best Regards,

The Management
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
webrelations.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews