We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient Royal Elite Penthouse rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Ranked #83 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here August 2012, this was our first trip in Mexico in August, I have to admit it is warm and humid.
We previously stayed 3 times at the sister resort Sandos Playacar, so this was our first trip to Caracol. The hotel is very nice, very large resort, everything is clean, food was also very good. The staff are amazing, always welcoming and helpfull. This is the place for your family. Many activities going on, all day long.

Just like our other stay at Sandos we rented our room though a Royal Elite member, we had this amazing Penthouse room on the top floor, very nice room and view of the Ocean. I'm glad we had this room because I found that the other rooms on the resort were outdated.
Again we had all the benefits of a Royal Elite member. including the access to the new Royal Elite beach club. This is a very nice place, wonderfull pool and restaurant. It was not 100% completed but when this will be finished it will be the place to hang out!

We will go back to Sandos Caracol for sure.
This is the 2nd Sandos Resort that we visit.
D.

Room Tip: Shop for your vacation, when you book from a member you have the nicest rooms and all the benefits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,989 - 4,993 of 13,125 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is our second time in Playa and the first time at a Sandos resort. The reason we chose this was the kids water park and the jungle theme. These two things didn't add to our vacation. For our next vacation I will look for a stellar beach and pool and may look at the Sandos in Playacar.

Pros:
- Excellent staff - very friendly and helpful
- Organized activities- always something happening at the pool or beach. They are very organized with the activities and the staff was very enthusiastic.
- A la carte restaurants were very good - the food in the Mediterranean was great but there were so many mosquitoes we left in a hurry
- Entertainment was good. We enjoyed the Mayan show and the disney show. It was cute because they actually incorporated the kids from the kids club in the show.

Cons:
- The beach was a disappointment. I thought that if it was rocky at least there would be lots of fish. That wasn't the case and there was so much seaweed everywhere that really should be cleaned up. The only nice part of the beach is in front of the select club (on the left side if you are looking at the beach.
- The buffet at La Laguna was just OK- food was really salty. Mexican buffet was better
- Drinks were really watered down
- Pool was HOT by the end of the day. Felt like a jacuzzi

Tips:
- Bring lots of dollars. It's impossible to find change for tips
- Socks for kids club
- No need for bug spray they have some at every corner

Room Tip: The third floor is the best with large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Food and Drinks always available and excellent.. Great family activities and 1st class entertainment...Very very well done.. Beautiful sandy beach, plenty of seating. Pools were great but the best was the natural cenote springs swimming lake. Softest-feeling water ever and one should experience the natural cenote springs swimming. If you go here, check the cenote out next to the administration(40 steps away).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RoseOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Okay, first the good: Food, for the most part was exceptional. For an all inclusive, I would say it was great. They recenlty changed the names of a couple of the restuarants and it caused quite a bit of confusion though. I liked the variety and the abundance. Second, the rooms: I really did not think they were bad, not great though. But, this is not a five star resort. They were comfortable...The bed really was fabulous!! Our room was cleaned very well everyday. A couple of times, we had to call. Room service was spotty; they would bring you what they could pretty quickly but it was a limited selection. I was happy with the attitudes and service from 80% of all we encountered. Nora the head concierge, is exceptional. Elmer (bartender at the adults beach) was fabulous. Yohilla, waitress at beach area is a real sweetheart. Corina at the adults pool - wonderful. A lot of folks here really went the extra mile. We stayed in room 622 overlooking the main pool with a view of the ocean beyond the pool. Loved the location except for climbing three flights of stairs. They have these rooms sound proofed like you would not believe - you really could not hear the pool noise with your door closed. You must hire their photographers - Emmanuel was fabulous, I cannot believe the quality of photos we got! We could not be more happy - Home run here! Caution- if you are coming as a couple be aware this is a HUGE resort with a Disney feel to it. Even though they have adult areas, you will be amongst a million kids. Value here is very good though. If you come as couples you really should pay the extra for the premium package. The drinks were good and plentiful. The beach area exceeded my expectations; nice, clean, white sand. The water was awesome and offered some opportunites for snorkeling off the beach with some rock formations that attracted fish. The snorkleing you paid $40 for from the resort was well worht the money too. They need to pay a lot closer attention to details and getting more accurate information to their guests, ie. signage. restuarant names, schedules etc. Overall, this is a great place. Probably better for families. Although they do try to accomadate the couples here too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wes607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

You have to live it !!!!!

This is a real Eco resort the place have a cenote inside where you can swim !!!! The beach is as beautiful as the riviera maya indeed !!!! The rooms are awesome, food all time and drinks !!!!! I was very happy !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drgoboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.1 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,880 reviews
3 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,271 reviews
5.4 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,797 reviews
8.8 km away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,263 reviews
11.8 km away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Caracol Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Address: Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez Km 295, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#54 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#72 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $226 - $1,378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandos Caracol Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandos Caracol Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracol Beach
Sandos Caracol Eco Hotel
Sandos Caracol Beach Resort Spa
Sandos Select Club
Sandos Caracol Mexico
Hotel Sandos Caracol Eco
Caracol Village Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sandos Caracol Beach & Spa Mayan Riviera
Sandos Caracol Resort
Sandos Caracol Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing