We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - if I could rate higher than 5/5 I would! 5++”
Review of Riviera Adventours

Riviera Adventours
Ranked #6 of 374 Tours in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rejuvenate your body, clear your mind and lift your spirit when you reconnect with your senses while you join us as we explore the waters and jungle of the Riviera Maya. In which ever expedition you choose, you will have the opportunity to de-stress, reconnect with your senses and get into your element - it will be an experience of a lifetime that you will never forget! With over (31) years experience exploring the Yucatan Peninsula, our expeditions will give you the opportunity to get to know the wonderful Riviera Maya on a personal basis. We are a local small family business. We offer you private and or small group Expeditions. Our tours are a more rewarding and personal experience, including Small and/or Personal tours which include Swimming with the Turtles; swimming in a beautiful Natural Aquarium amongst a large variety of Tropical fish; a trip into the mysterious Mineral filled depths of one of the World's Largest Underground River and Cave Systems, Snorkeling in the Mesoamerican Coral Reef; visiting the ancient mystical and awe inspiring Tulum, Coba, Chichen Itza and Ek Balam Mayan ruins; or snorkel amongst the Whale Sharks for a surreal, once in a lifetime experience; immerse yourself within the peaceful and tranquil serenity of the Sian Ka'an Biosphere or visit the Flamingos at Rio Lagartos. All of our Expeditions include a minimum of four locations each (Most others are two locations for the same price), Fruit, Coffee and a Pastry in the morning, Snacks, Cold Beer, Water, Juice, Soft Drinks throughout the day, Lunch and Round-trip Air-conditioned Transportation and top notch dive quality snorkel equipment. Most of our tours include a (4) course meal at the World Famous “Oscar & Lalo Restaurant, Bar & Grill”. We can also provide you with a private or custom expedition for any of our tours and activities. We look forward to sharing this beautiful paradise with you and having an other Amazing day! Relax and let us be your guide!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW - if I could rate higher than 5/5 I would! 5++”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was such a fantastic day. From 7:30 am pick up to 5:30 pm drop off it was amazing. Francisco is an awesome guide. His easy going style made it seem like we were hanging out with a friend all day. He was very knowledgable about the area even though he is an import himself.

We went on the Tulum Extreme with all the additions. There was my girlfriend and I along with one other couple and a family of 4...all Canadians so of course we all got along! We had Francisco take all the photos with the rented underwater camera as well and got some great photos. He emailed them to us the day after the tour as well which was a nice way to relive the experience.

Personally I really enjoyed Dos Ojos. It was a surreal experience - like swimming on the moon... if it was underwater. The meal at Oscar Y Lalos was also amazing...try the Chaya juice...it was chopped from a local tree and blended on the spot!

Really there was no unenjoyable parts of the day!

If you go to the Mayan Riviera...you must book a tour with them. You will not regret it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank b-rad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    11
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Highlight of Our Trip”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I religiously use Tripadvisor for all of my travels and that is how I came across this company. Until now, I have only been a lurker and have never contributed. After taking this trip with Riviera Adventours I feel obligated to give some feedback. These reviews you read on here are real and unsolicited!

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 kids, ages 7 and 9) did the Extreme Expedition. All of the planning was seamless. Emails were answered promptly and clearly by Oscar. They were there to pick us up in our hotel lobby right when they said they would. Francisco was our guide and he was the one waiting for us in the lobby. Francisco is everything the previous reviews have already said. He is genuinely kind and he does speak impeccable English and he was so patient with our kids. The trip really is about you and what you want to accomplish. The tour started the minute we left our hotel with a history lesson on the area. Francisco knows the area well, but it is obvious he himself has traveled extensively.

If you want to ride in a huge comfortable tour bus with 50 other people this tour is not for you. There are plenty of those to choose from in the area. This tour is small and intimate. For much of the tour it was just our family of four. There were two other couples with their own customized trips, so some activities
we did all together. At the most there were only the eight of us. Most of the areas we visited we had completely to ourselves, as well. Pretty amazing considering it was spring break for us!

All of the sites were amazing. We all loved the bat caves, zip lines, cliff jumping, and snorkeling in the lagoon. Swimming with the turtles was also amazing and so worth the $10 extra. The canoeing portion was ok. The kids loved LaLita (Virginia's Spider Monkey) that you get to meet at her awesome restaurant. Speaking of Virginia....she is also amazing. It is obvious that she cares deeply for her customers. We felt so comfortable around her and Francisco. They just have all the little things that matter figured out. We have taken many tours during our travels to Mexico and these guys are just different. It is not loud club music and unlimited alcohol that makes the trip, which is what many of the other tours seem to focus on. They provide a safe and personalized experience.

I know it seems like a lot of money to invest in a day trip, especially for a whole family, but it is totally worth it and a great value. All of the necessary gear is included. You have private transportation the entire day, which really is a full day of adventure. Our trip lasted over 10 hours with the transport to and from the hotel. The day was much longer for the staff. All of the entry fees to the natural areas were covered and dealt with by the staff. You get a high quality sit down meal and snacks and beverages along the way. And most of all, the security of a private guide and transportation without being part of a big annoying generic tour group.

We had a great time. The kids loved it, but it would be great for a couple, too. If you are hesitating you should just go for it. You won't be disappointed. Thanks for a great tour!

Eric, Amber, Mackenzie, and Maggie

Helpful?
4 Thank Flyphish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing family fun adventure”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We went on this excursion with 3 adults and 5 kids (age 12 to 17). We all agreed that this was the best day of our trip. Virginia paid attention to every detail, whether putting on anti-fog spray on our goggles, making sure we were always aware of where the washrooms were at each stop, ensuring the van was just the right temperature, etc. It was most interesting to hear how this family business developed and how influential their family has been with cultural and environmental developments in the region. Her humor kept all of us engaged about the history of the area and she had many wonderful stories about growing up in the area. We had gone on a ½ day Tulum trip the previous day with a very dry, robotic guide that had all of us bored within the first 10 minutes. Our experience with Virginia was a wonderful contrast. We all had different favorites. My husband liked the cenote the best with the fascinating rock formations. My daughter and I took a pass on the cenote as she did not like the darkness of the caves. Instead, we waited 30 min for the group, relaxing in some hammocks strung to some palm trees that had been conveniently situated by the cave entrance. Most of us liked the snorkeling in the lagoon the best where there was an abundance of small, colorful fish and occasionally very large parrot fish. We all thought the snorkeling experience was better than Hawaii where we had snorkeled before. The ziplining and canoeing was fine but our family has done a lot of kayaking and canoeing, so a 10 min canoe across a lake was not too interesting for us. At lunch, the kids loved the quesadillas, and all enjoyed the fajitas. We took many pictures of their rescue baby monkey who would climb to the top of a hammock and then slide down into the lap of the kids. We capped the day off with swimming with the sea turtles in the ocean. I was amazed that there were so many in one area. All in all, a wonderful experience and we felt we were in good hands the whole day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“An experience of a lifetime shared with a great guide and wonderful staff”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My friends and I went on the extreme expedition last week and we have never felt so alive!! The tour starts with a welcome hug and smile from the guide, and the day just gets better from there. The entire trip moves at a relaxing pace which allows you to truly explore each stop along the tour. Each part of the adventure is spectacular and special in its own way. We added the swimming with turtles option for the bargain price of $10 usd - I recommend this, it is a serene and amazing experience. We were lucky enough to see a couple of rays including a spotted eagle ray in that portion of the trip. You don't want to miss out! Swimming and exploring Dos Ojos was our favorite part of the tour, but the cenote, cliff diving, zip lining, canoeing, and snorkeling were all absolutely amazing!! There really are no words to explain the once in a lifetime experience you receive with Riviera Adventours!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brooke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A day full of adventure”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We had a great day with Riviera Adventours.
We are a group of young Asians and we are not very good swimmers however Virginia
took her time to personally teach us how to snorkel and swim. She even took
pictures of our group underwater and sent the photos to us via email.
The tour is well organized and includes most things that can be done in Playa de Carmen.
The included meal is also very delicious which is a plus.
However because of our hotel locations we were picked up first in 7AM and dropped off
very late in the evening. I would certainly hope there's a private transportation option
to our hotel.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Novalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riviera Adventours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Riviera Adventours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing