We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,256)
Filter reviews
7,256 results
Traveller rating
2,331
3,063
1,183
409
270
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,331
3,063
1,183
409
270
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegoa la carte restaurantspool baradult poolboogie boardsanimation teamthe mexican restaurantsister hotelpasta barhot dogsgated communitynightly showskids clubpasta stationmake reservationsgreat beachbeach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 7,256 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016

This is our second visit to Playa Del Carmen and we decided to stay at Viva Wyndham Maya again because of location. The hotel is situated in Playacar a private area with access only to guest, residents and employees. It's a 45 minute drive from Cancun airport, a 10 minute drive to Xcaret and Xplor park, and a five minute drive to "La Quinta" an area with shopping and dining also where you get the ferry to Cozumel.

The front desk and concierge are rather rude,they aren't very accommodating. The hotel charges $2 a day for the safe and $25 for wifi per phone per week. They failed to tell us the main pool was under construction for the first 5 days of our stay. The staff are energetic and fun they offer different activities during the day and at night they offer an entertaining show that by the way isn't really kid friendly. The resort is clean, maid service is great we would always come back to a clean room. The rooms... Paper thin walls you can hear a pin drop in your neighbors room. The bedroom bathrooms are acward and really small. The beds aren't bad but the pillows make you want to scream each morning. So uncomfortable. The food is good the desserts are a little bland.

Room Tip: Wifi is $25 for one week per phone, you get free wifi in the lobby and garden area but the reception is really slow.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RM3230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feedbackma, Director General at Viva Wyndham Maya - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear customer,

Thank you for choosing our Resort as the destination for your vacation.

We appreciate the time dedicated to write your opinion about your stay at our Resort. We assure you that your feedback will be considered in order to ameliorate our services.

Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

My family of four stayed here in December 2015. The resort is smaller than the others we've stayed at with less variety of restaurants and activities.
The rooms were average, cleaned nicely with friendly and helpful staff.
The main buffet for breakfast had the usual fare. As for dinner, the theme nights were not good and food was repetitive. The Christmas buffet paled in comparison to others we have been to.
There was a seafood restaurant that was quite good and we managed to eat there for dinner twice.
On a positive note, the beach was great with lots of palapa and cots. My kids went parasailing and we took out a Hobie for a sail.
The resort is in Playacar, a 30 minute walk to Playa del Carmen, which is handy for shopping or a walk down 5th ave. The Resort had bikes you could take into town.
Overall, I would not go back, but I would recommend it as good for value resort.
The resort could do away with the wildlife that roam around, and the dive bombing birds at the beach buffet.

Room Tip: not on main floor
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explore810923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feedbackma, Director General at Viva Wyndham Maya - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation in the Riviera Maya. It is very important to us to receive feedback from our guests and we are happy to know that you had a pleasant vacation.

Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Spend a week at this resort with young adult children and brother and sister in law! When we got there I found the people doing check in to not be very friendly as some of the staff walking around the grounds, however the rooms were nice and clean, the beach was absolutely beautiful, the entertainment on Latin and the Music Stars show were spectacular!!! As time went on, their entertainment staff became more friendly and would approach us to participate in activities! Don't let anyone kid you, the food was good; and if you really want you can eat healthy! Don't forget to make reservations at the nicer restaurants -- they are worth it! Overall, it was a great place to stay! Don't get talked into the catamaran ride to Isla Mujeres by people walking the beach as I think you can get a better deal via Expedia! I recommend using Happy with Shuttle for transportation! But tip the driver not the guy that rides along!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Crogers099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feedbackma, Director General at Viva Wyndham Maya - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Dear customer,

It is really satisfactory to receive your positive feedback and to know that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.

Thank you for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at the Viva Wyndham Maya. It was our first experience with an all inclusive and we found it to be the perfect atmosphere! At one point my son asked..."what do the more expensive all inclusives have that they don't hear? We can't possibly want anything else!" We loved our two separate dinners, but appreciated that we didn't have to dress up too much.

Ruben greeted us and then proceeded to help us out at every turn - he is truly a gem!! To be honest, we were consistently impressed with the bartenders, housekeepers, wait staff, and almost everyone we came in contact with. A very pleasant and hardworking staff - very welcoming! Ironically, the only people that were short and not very motivated were those at the Guest Services desk. No worries though... Ruben would magically appear and help us out!

Unfortunately my husband had to use the services of the Dr. What an excellent service to provide on site! It was nothing serious, but it could have turned into it had he been forced to wait out the week until our return.

The beach is gorgeous - always loungers available! Tons of free equipment to use and activities to join in if you want.

My son is now determined to start making carabena's at home.... We felt spoiled!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feedbackma, Director General at Viva Wyndham Maya - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your review with other travelers on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate you choosing Mexico and especially our Resort for your family vacation. We are thrilled to hear you had an excellent time with your family and hope that your detailed review will help other visitors to choose us.

Your comments about the friendliness of our staff motivate us to provide an even better service to our customers.

One more time, we would like to thank you for your preference and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Desk Staff & Concierge - D
The front desk is rather rude and unacommidating. Everything from needing a room key, a replacement wrist band, calling us a cab, or just common curtousy is hard for this group. They charged me $10 for a wrist band that got ripped off in the ocean after our 6th day. When my wife tried to set up our return taxi to the airport they dismissed us. It was frustrating. They also neglected to tell us that the main pool was under maintenance for the first 4 days of our trip. Unacceptable.

Bar & Guest Services - A
The guest service people are upbeat and a lot of help. They not only meet you at the beach in the mornings to ask what you want to do that day but they lead the yoga, catamaran trips, volleyball, dancing, water aerobics, dart, archery... And they put on amazing shows in the evenings.
As far as the bar goes Edder and Thoomas took care of us to the point of spoiling us. The staff is great and I will miss them.
Rooms - B- The resort rooms are average but clean. The maid service does a great job. One thing that needs to change is charging for the room safe. This is a ridiculous grab for cash even if it is $2 a day. It's a joke.

Food - B+ The food is great. Not mind blowing but if your not real picky I think you will be very happy. The onsite Restaurants are very good. We ate at the Mexican and Italian and were more than satisfied.

Azteca Resort - D+ We were not treated very well when we went to the sister resort Azteca. They would not let us eat at their buffet any time of day and would not let us have a drink at the bar one night until we proved we were later reserved at an onsite restaurant. I don't understand the difficulty.

Overall - C+ We had a great 10 day vacation at the Maya and that was completely because of the onsite staff. The front staff was subpar and improvements here would raise this grade substantially. The resort is beautiful and well maintained.

Room Tip: Get a room in the 1000 - 2000 section. Closer to the pool unless you prefer quit.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank datduck11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feedbackma, Director General at Viva Wyndham Maya - An All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Dear customer,

We appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. Your opinion is extremely valuable to us and we will take your suggestions about the customer service into account.

We are glad to know that your overall stay was enjoyable and we appreciate your positive remarks about our excellent quality/price relationship. Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews