We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Getaway Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #78 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Lovely place to stay for my first trip to Mexico! All inclusive. The resort had everything! Lots of activities throughout the day, only a 30 min walk to playa del Carmen. Definitely will go back to this resort. Even won the "Miss Maya" contest which was a blast!! Wish I could have stayed longer. Great bang for your buck too and the food and drinks were amazing! Loved every second of my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LowWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review regarding your holiday at the Viva Wyndham Maya.
It is very gratifying to read your good remarks about our services and facilities. Also we are very happy to know that we exceed your expectations.

We look forward to your next stay at our resort and thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,
General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,988
    2,587
    962
    330
    206
See reviews for
1,976
2,317
128
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the Viva Wyndham Maya from April 6-12, 2012. It's located im Playa Del Carmen which is about a 45-60 min drive from Cancun Airport. So, I'll break it down into what we liked and what we didn't.
What we liked:
-The beach was wonderful! We spent most of time at the beach and loved the color of the water and the white sand.
- The staff are super friendly and helpful. We didn't meet a single rude employee from check in to check out.
- The whole place is spotless! The grounds crew do an amazing job of keeping this place super clean and the landscaping is second to none.
-The room was also spotless. The maid service is amazing.
-Comfortable beach/pool chairs.
-Super big beach/pool towles.
-Dinner at the Viva Cafe was absolutely the best I have ever had! Unfortunately, you are only allowed 2 restaurant visits during a 6 day stay. If all the food was this good, this place would get 5 stars.
-Sunrise. We got up early (see below) and would watch the sun rise and have a cup of coffee each morning. It was a very peaceful and relaxing time.
-They have several kayaks you can use and and also have catamaran lessons.

What we didn't like:
-The biggest disappointment was the food at the buffets. It was made up of very inexpensive items and wasn't that tasty. Most foods are repeated over and over.
-The second biggest complaint was the alcoholic beverages. This is an all inclusive and includes all you caan drink. The drinks are excessively watered down. They must add water right to the bottles because I watched them make the drinks and they added plenty of whatever came out of the bottle. You could barely taste any alcohol in any of the drinks. Kulah is a product of Mexico but you won't find any at this resort. Beer comes from a tap and tastes like a very cheap brand (definately not Corona).
-Beds are very hard (I understand this is typical for Mexico).
-Pillows were very (and I mean very) thin and flat. There were 4 of us and only 5 pillows. We took turns sharing the 5th pillow...lol!
-The room had a very strong musty odor. Take a couple of air fresheners with you.
-Beach/pool chairs get reserved very early. You need to get yours by 6:30-7:00 AM if you want one in the shade. 8:00 AM if you want one at all.
-Lots of smokers! If you don't like smelling cigarette smoke then you are out of luck. Smoking still seems to be pretty popular with the Europeans.
-Constantly being bothered to buy something from wondering vendors. Anything from Cuban cigars, jet ski rentals, excursions, to jewlery. All day at the beach. Just ignore them and they keep walking.
-Another odor complaint was from the jet skis and para-sailing boat exhaust. The breeze comes off the ocean and carries the exhaust right to your nose.
-Yet another odor complaint...the life vests that they give you with the kayaks STINK!! They smell like really bad...I mean really, really bad body odor! They must never wash them. I had to throw away a t-shirt I was wearing under one because it smelled so bad after I took of the vest.

It's a nice place but not a great place. I would probably not go back unless there was some really good deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, regarding your recent vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We can assure you that the opinions of our clients are very important to us as they are the more reliable source of information. Your comments help us in our constant commitment to improve our services and facilities.

We appreciate your good comments about our activities and services but we regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations.

We hope that you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Viva Wyndham Resorts.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Buffet was average, nothing spectacular, breakfast was great with large omelete bar. Grilled food near the pool every afternoon was great. We don't drink alcohol, but bartenders were always offering new varieties of non-alcoholic drinks. Bring earplugs if you are close to the stage.

Service was good with one exception. Waiter in the Italian restaurant spilled an entire glass of Sprite on my head. He apologized profusely and gave me a cloth napkin in an attempt to dry off. But there was no offer of anything else. No manager apology, no offer to clean my shirt, not even an offer of an additonal dessert.

Room Tip: Building 1 is close to the action but loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UglyHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent family vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

We can assure you that all of our clients' opinions are very important to us because it is the more reliable source of information to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate your good comments about our services and facilities and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced due to the incident in the restaurant.

We hope that you afford us the opportunity to serve you again at Viva Wyndham Resorts.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We are a family of 4, 1 boy and a girl in the early teens, from Sweden. We have been staying at similar resorts in Hurghada (Egypt), Phuket (Thailand) and the Canary islands. This is the best so far for our family. We enjoyed all the activities the entertainment team provided. Sailing, kayaking, volleyball, darts, bingo etc..... We loved it. Most of the evening shows were amazing, the dancers did a great job. But why no real singers? All was playback. We explored the whole Yucatan from this place. Swimming in cenotes, bathing at Paradise beach, climbing the Coba pyramid, exploring the Chichen Itza, shopping at avenue 5, etc... Always returning to the friendly hotel every night. The possibility to go to all the restaurantes of both Maya and Azteka were great. We booked it for 6 nights enjoying good food. If you like snorkeling just walk for 10 mins to the south on the beach past the hotel areas and swim 50 meters out to a "constructed" reef. There you will find yourself surrounded by colourful fishes. Better than the 35 dollar trip to the reef (we took this tour too). Nice parasols on the beach. Perfect for reading good books in the shadow. Cleaning of rooms, perfect, Friendly bartenders. Helpful staff. Our friends wanted to switch room and the did the change in no time. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mange72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear customer,

We appreciate your positive review about your vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

It is great to know that we were able to provide you with some great holiday memories. We are glad that you and your family had a great time during your recent visit to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Best regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have vacationed in the Playa Del Carmen area frequently prior to trying this all inclusive Wyndam resort. After my week long stay, it left me wanting a little more. Most resorts in the area are bigger and friendlier. One of my biggest disappoinments was that the resort says it offers three types of rooms, standard, deluxe and a suite. We booked the deluxe room which was suppose to be bigger than the standard room and have an ocean view. We were put in a room that was small and the view was of the theater area and pool. Off in the distance past the pool, you could see the beach and some water. We were able to look at rooms right at the beach. However, these were identical rooms to ours except for the ants all over the beach rooms. The rooms are small and disappointing. The food is very good. Both the buffets and the restaurants had wonderful varieties. The entertainment staff iis the highlight of the resort. They are very pleasent and personable. They all perform at the nightly shows at 9:30 pm. This resort does offer alot more free activities than surrounding resorts. Catamarans, kayaks, archery, tennis and a trapeze area are all free. You just need to sign up to use. Scuba, snorkeling, parasailing and jet skiing are extra. One of the other disappointments is the lack of service compared to the surrounding resorts. Most places in the area will have waiters asking to bring drinks to you while you relax by the pool or on the beach. Not here. You have to stand in line at the bar to get your drinks. Very disappointing. Both the free wifi and pay as you go internet was severely slow. Comparing this resort to nearby places like Riu, Blue Bay Esmarelda, Sandos resorts that we have been to, Viva Wyndam Maya leaves you a little wishing you booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve our services.

We regret to not have been able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you at our resort.

Kind regards,
General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#67 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
4.5 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#99 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,200 reviews
0.4 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#83 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,798 reviews
0.6 km away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Property: Viva Wyndham Maya
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $247 - $672
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing