We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Some things RIGHT - some things WRONG!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Maya
Ranked #79 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Some things RIGHT - some things WRONG!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just returned from Viva. As in years past, Viva does somethings very well. First, a magnificent beach. There were plenty of lounge chairs & this year, something new - lounge security. In past years, people were out at 6 am reserving numerous chairs. Not so this year - the security gave 10 minutes & then took away the towels, hats, bag etc. If you want a chair that eary you better be prepared to stay put. This really proved to be a great improvement. Yu could get up & go to breakfast & return to the beach at 8:30 or so and there would be lounges available. After 9 ish the lounge security was done.
The specialty restaurants were all delicious. A new one - Viva Cafe was excellent, even a bit upscale. We tried two at Azteca & 3 at Maya and they were all very good.
The rooms ared definitely a bit tired. There also is a pervasive musty smell throughout all 3 of hotels. That said however, they are scrupulously CLEAN. Every day the staff works very hard to make sure everything is perfect. The two hotels up front near the beach are older but have LOCATION in their favor. The newer hotel on the back of the property is lovely & quieter. There is also a adult only pool back there. Another positive are the beautiful grounds. Maya is a smaller property making it easy to walk everywhere & the property is fantastically maintained. A BIG plus is the closeness to town - an easy 1/2 hour walk or 10 minute (70 pesos) cab ride. If you don't want to go into town, directly across the street is a great little shopping plaza. There's even a Starbuck's there. The buffet is ok. I have never really found a buffet that was extraordinary. There is always something to eat. People line up for pasta bar & the omlet stations.

Now, the things they do wrong. The wines are beyond horrible. There are tons of fruity drinks & liquor & beer that seem to make people happy, but the wine is simply terrible. Shame on Viva for not upgrading it. Next, there is some spread they try to pass off as butter. I actually saw people bring their own tubs of Land o Lakes from the store. There are no pepper shakers on the tables. So either bring your own pepper or be prepared to summon a waiter to bring a grinder.

Overall, I find it a great little place to stay. Tip the staff - a dollar or two here & there can enhance your stay & their lives.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front hotels are noisy but right at the beach. Back hotel quiet & newer, but a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Norbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family at Viva Wyndham Resorts once again.



Nothing can be more gratifying than our clients' satisfaction and we are really glad to read than we fulfilled your expectations.



Also we appreciate the observations about our service and of course we will consider them to get better.



We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,030
    2,639
    983
    336
    207
See reviews for
2,022
2,365
131
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crambury, nj
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I returned to Viva Wyndham Maya in mid-February after two years. It is still a fun family resort with caring service, good food, and as fine a beach as can be found south of Cancun. We had a wonderful time and recommend it without hesitation.

To those who have previously been there, however, there are recent changes which may influence your return. For one thing, the physical facilities have deteriorated: It took us three changes of rooms before we found one that was not musty and damp. And even there, in the newest building, tiles were missing in the bathroom and a hanging blind that separated the bathroom from the bedroom was broken and would not come down. Everyday for a week we told them about it but it was never fixed. A second problem, which may be related to the first, is that the corporate management has committed itself to expanding the Vacation Club aspect of the resort, which bestows VIP status on returning club members, offering all sort of perks, including an exclusive area of the beach (which packs the rest of us into a smaller space), the buffet dining hall (where their area gets tablecloths instead of place mats), etc. A manager at the hotel told me that their main emphasis is now on expanding this area of their clientel at the expense of the regular non-VIP vacationer. And so the non-VIP-er now has to pay for use of the room safe; bottled water is no longer supplied daily; only three meals are allowed per week in the theme restaurants, etc. New construction will be for VIP people exclusively.

Something else to consider, is that the non-English speaking clientel has greatly expanded. There were always many Italians (not surprising as the company is Italian), which added a sophisticated European air to the place. Today most of the guests are European and French Canadian: French, German, Swiss, Belgian, etc. The result is that you don't meet many people from 'back home'. This definitely changes the social dynamics.

We still like the place, but there are many to choose from in this price range.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the building farthest from the ocean by the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilmagnific0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Maya to spend your recent vacation.



We appreciate your positive review about our services and we are very happy to know that you and your friend loved Viva Wyndham Maya. It encourages us to continue working hard to offer an excellent service.



Also we will consider your valuable observations in order to improve.



Please do not forget that we will be pleased to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau QC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We just arrived from Viva Wyndham Maya, we travelled from February 11 to 18, 2012 and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is surrounded with beautiful gardens, it is extremely clean and the service was excellent.

Food: As for the buffet food, it was very good with a lot of variety, but I have no words to describe the “A la carte” experience that we had at the resort restaurants… Oh WOW! We experienced the “Mediterranean” restaurant Portofino, service and food was excellent. Then we had dinner at the Mexican restaurant “Don Diego” and that was another great experience and our last “A la carte” was at the Viva Café, the International restaurant, and again, they totally impressed us with the food presentation and taste and the quality of the food.

Beach: Simply heavenly… beautiful beach with plenty of loungers for everyone, plus they had plenty of shaded spots. No sunsets on the Riviera Maya, but instead... Amazing Sun Rises... The landscapers and grounds staff do a wonderful job of keeping the grounds meticulous.
Would not hesitate to go back… I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sun_Worship_her
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for choosing Viva Wyndham Maya as a destination for your last vacation.



We are glad to know that your stay at our property was pleasant and that you enjoyed our A la Carte Restaurants.



We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for recommending our Resort.



Best regards,


General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmoral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

First trip to Playa and Viva Maya,Couldn't ask for better weather, beautiful location ,resort very centrally located,found staff to be very helpful and accommodating. Beach area was all sand and from what we were told by others ,some of the resorts more north are more rocky,beach was well maintained by staff ie. raking all the seaweed from the beach.unfortunately the sand was littered in cig butts, and though I'm a smoker, its sad people can't be more respectful of others and the environment.Found the open air plaza area ,outside the lobby a great meeting place. And yes the tile anywhere near the pools is a potential for disaster,I did slip ,despite being very careful, though the staff did their very best to keep the area as safe as possible with their sqeegee mops.The food was good, albeit too much I thought, We found The International cafe to be our favorite for a la carte. Pasta bar lunch and supper in buffet was great. The room was clean, good condition,we were in 3000 block as well, no mould issues, initially given 1 bottle H2O,but supplied us with more when asked . The activity staff were great, with activities readily available for those wishing to participate. The night shows were very professional and well done. Took advantage of the free scuba lesson in the pool for our 2 boys, unfortunately were not able to follow through with a dive, due to harbor master not allowing boats out because of choppy water. The dive company then, did not want to refund our money, even though it states on their policy board in the dive shop,Full Refund, if unable to reschedule due to weather/water conditions.We couldn't in our case as we were leaving the next day. They only wanted to give us 1/2 our money back, until my husband saw the sign, in regards to refunds. They then did some fast backtracking, my husband was going to give them some money for their time but, not after they tried to take advantage of us.It is no reflection on the hotel, as the dive company just rents the space there, we did make the hotel aware of the situation ,they were not happy and believe they were going to deal with it. The grounds were well maintained and I'm sure alot of work, we tipped the groundskeeper, made his day and those working in the buffet who probably don't see alot of tips come their way. A great family vacation in the sun and would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



Thank you for letting us knows that you had a pleasant vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.



We want to express our happiness after reading that you had a great time during your last visit at our Resort. It is a pleasure to know that we exceed your expectations because it is our constant goal.



We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Best regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was here in february 2011 First off the people working there are great, we had no problems with the service. The grounds of the hotel were great very clean and the resort was not too big which I liked.

The worst part are the hallways they are tiled and very echoey You don't get a good sleep cause you are woken up by people arriving or drunk people going back to their room at 3 am. This was the one thing that bothered me the most.

The rooms are bland but I'm not there to stay in my room. The food was ok, noting to call home about. I did like the ice cream bar.

The beach was great!! Best part. The entertainment staff at night I think did a great job. Considering how much money they make a day. They do work very hard and had a bit of cirque du soliel going with a small mat underneath them to protect them.

5th avenue is a 5 min cab ride or a 30 min walk. The resort is located in a gated community which was nice for a evening stroll, never felt unsafe.

We did book telum from a guy on the beach. Lesson learned it was a small van that pick us up early in the morning and picked up 8 other people going to different venues we wasted over 2 hours picking people up and dropping them off.

We took the ferry to Cozumel and rented what they call are cars are drove around the island. Great way to spend the day. Do not rent a scooter if you do so. The rules to the road is not what it is like in north America. We did see a few accidents with scooters so unless you want to end up in the hospital I would rent a car.

Majority of the cliental are Canadians, and Europeans.

Overall we met some great people and enjoyed the trip. The Mayan is my favorite place in Mexico I would go back but to a different place.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CdnShoeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Customer,



We appreciate your feedback on you recent stay at Viva Wyndham Maya. Your opinion is valuable and we will take into account your observations with the purpose to improve our services.



By the other hand we are glad to know that you had a nice stay at our property.



We remain at your disposal.



Best regards,


General Manager

Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 km away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#65 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
4.5 km away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#101 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
0.4 km away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#85 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
Playacar Palace
Playacar Palace
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,943 reviews
20.6 km away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Property: Viva Wyndham Maya
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#76 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $262 - $623
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 604
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing