We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience!!!!!”
Review of Gran Porto Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Porto Resort
Ranked #30 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
salt lake city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!!!!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Gran Porto Real was everything our family ever wished for. Everything exceeded my expectations!!! I would give the service 150% and the hotel was clean, gorgeous, and peaceful. It was no too modernized. I could still feel a strong presence of the Mexican culture. The activity staff was exceptional! I enjoyed doing all the activities and getting to know the staff. I did not encounter one rude waiter, bartender, or staff member. The pool was warm and the beach captivating. Though there are sandbags directly on the beach directly outside the hotel, I would say the sandbags sease in 50 feet or so. I felt welcomed and I wish I could have stayed longer. It was really nice because you could walk one block and arrive at 5th Avenue, a huge shopping bazaar. There were tons of restaurants there as well. In other words the location was pretty perfect. I enjoyed the trip so much because of the wonderful service. I had so much fun and I can't wait to return. Great for all ages! Daily activites: beach and water volleyball, water aerobics, yoga, bracelet making, spanish classes, cooking demonstrations, ping pong tournaments, nighly entertainment, pool basketball, and soooooo much more.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,266
    2,046
    644
    369
    259
See reviews for
3,205
2,907
137
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,710)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

As a travel agent I have been lucky to experience many different resorts. This was our second year at Gran Porto Real, and we went back for many reasons, but especially the staff. Everyone does an excellent job of offering plenty of things to do while there, but Chicken, Ivan, Rodrigo and the rest of the Entertainment/Sports staff go above and beyond at keeping everyone of all ages entertained! At the spa Karina makes sure you are comfortable and taken care of. And our favorite lifeguard Alex always had a smile for us (need any ice Alex? ;-)
We are definitely going back!
Sue from Michigan

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelloope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Lets just say that if you accept their hard sell at check in to get the upgrade, make certain you get in writing what you are entitled to. When you ask for your amenities, they don't want to give them to you and you have to fight for it. The desk clerk pretty much incinuated that I was a liar when I said I didn't receive my spa sampler card. Can you imagine?..they call their guests liars! I hadn't used the card, I was wearing their stupid upgrade bracelet and yet they didn't want to issue me a card until I made a big deal about it with the Front Office Manager that looked at me with disgust! They later waived my services at the Spa which I certainly appreciated after having to deal with incompetency when it came to having our room ready a couple days later after my son slept on a crappy rollaway only to find out they were going to try and put us in another king....so wait another day...then send us to a dirty room...then call us and ask why we haven't vacated yet?! really? I feel like everyone there wants to lie to Americans because we somehow have made them angry. Why? We are the best tippers over any tourists. That is why you need to get everything in writing. Our airport driver confirmed my same service complaints as being common at that hotel. Nice facility, clean, nice amenities, poor sandbagged beach and all the cabanas are right next to each other and tight close to the buildings...hardly anyone wanted to use theirs, including us. The upgrade price of $700 was NOT worth it, so don't fall for it. The food wasn't that great either. The noise was really bad....we never got a good night sleep because of all the noise that echoes in the hallways there too. Nice location, just too bad about the service and the noise.

Room Tip: Don't book there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our two weeks at this hotel was fantastic. Special thanks to waiters Rigoberto and Diego and chef Edi at the Mexican restaurant for their personalized service!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is beauiful, we had a Junior Suite which was perfect,,,,if you are a beach person you will be totally disappointed the sand bags are piled along the beach and you have to climb over them to get in the water,,,,at the end of the trip we became pool people. We meet so may good people which are now good friends ,,, the waitress(Mari ) & waiters( Jesus & Jose) they are absolutely the best, at the end you don't even order they just bring it to you. The rooms are spotless the fridges stocked daily with what ever you want,
The food is OK,, didn't go hungry !!!!
There is not much for nightly entermainted

Room Tip: We were on the street side Rm 101 it was perfect, Quiet and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bootes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.8 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
0.2 km away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
4.2 km away
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
The Royal Haciendas All Suites R...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Porto Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Resort

Property: Gran Porto Resort
Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): $235 - $640
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Porto Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a beautiful, protected stretch of pristine beach in the heart of Playa del Carmen stands the spectacular Gran Porto Resort, just steps from Fifth Avenue's shops, clubs, and restaurants. Architecturally reminiscent of one of Mexico's finest haciendas, the resort welcomes couples, families, friends, and colleagues to the warm Caribbean breezes and azure seas of the Riviera Maya, where guests can experience the region's cultural heritage, relish all-inclusive luxuries, and enjoy genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Porto Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Resort Playa Del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing